We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk staff let this hotel down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We just stayed in this hotel, two rooms, two nights. I use this hotel chain often, and around the world.
On balance I'd say the rooms were very nice, wi-fi free and fast, beds comfy, food quite good.
What nearly ruined it was one staff member on the front desk, Janet, who lacked the ability to listen to customers or respond in any way that could be considered customer service.
Thank goodness assistant manager Andrea was there to jump in and sort out a room problem that seemed too much trouble for Janet to handle.
I am not sure how this hotel markets itself locally, but it did seem on a Saturday night to be a bit of a party, stag night hot spot. Don't let them give you a room on the third floor, where I was told they always booked the stag parties.
I was travelling with my children for a sporting competition and really we wanted to get good rest in nice rooms, have a decent breakfast, and be up and out early to compete.
There are lots of places to stay in Bristol on the same price bracket. Next time we attend a competition there, i will look into alternatives.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor at all costs, unless you want to contend with stag party guests. It was made q...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liketOtravel00742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review on line. I was glad to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and thank you for your positive feedback, I was however sad to note that you experienced some poor customer service and would like to apologise personally to you for this. As with any shortfalls within the hotel I look to resolve immediately , therefore I would be most grateful if you could contact me direct to discuss your stay further either via email gm@hibristolcity.co.uk or telephone 0117 924 5000.

The hotel itself caters for many guests and all types of travellers, when we identify either stag or hen parties, we do indeed manage these correctly and allocate them all to one place as well as taking a security deposit, and therefore there is no impact to any other hotel users.

Once again thank you for bringing this to my attention and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

901 - 907 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed on business for two nights, very central location in the heart of the city, great parking attached to hotel. Very modern rooms and clean. Good food choice and nice service. Worth noting though that I was on the executive floor however I doubt the other rooms would be any less modern or clean. Free wifi very handy also.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing an online review. I was delighted to read your positive comment’s regarding the hotel, I was happy to see you enjoyed our free WIFI , executive room offering and our great location. Myself and the team look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Been to other Holiday Inns a couple of times before (Sao Paulo, Brazil & NYC) and both of them were as high quality as this one. This one is centrally located, next to Cabot Circus and very close to the Bus Station, making it a convenient location for arriving from the airport and/or taking public transportation in Bristol.

Spacious, clean and well furnished rooms with good shower, nice bed and extras such as cafe & tea inside the room. Powerful shower and very well-rounded interior design were definitely a plus.

Breakfast in the morning was diverse and high quality - I ended up paying an extra for it, but it was reasonable. 24h bar and room service available.

I'd stay here again without second thoughts.

Room Tip: Some people have complained about noises, but I have no complaint about that whatsoever.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oparadelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and recommendation. It’s always pleasing to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I will ensure your great comments are passed and shared amongst the team.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Recently returned from a stay at the Holiday Inn City Centre and was amazed. All Holiday Inns should be like this one.

We were visiting for a university open day with my son and had a room on the 5th floor. The room was modern spacious and clean and was more than suitable for our 2 day stay.

Breakfast was excellent with fresh omelettes. We only ate on one night as we prebooked at the waterfront for the first night but our evening meal was very tasty.

Big thanks to James, he was so funny, friendly and welcoming and took the time to talk to us about Bristol and gave us lots of useful advice and suggestions.

We will be back soon and can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter-brummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest

What a great review, thank you so much. I was delighted to read that you took advantage of our great breakfast offering and in particular our fresh, made to order omelettes. Thank you for your other positive feedback surrounding the hotel.

I will ensure James is informed of your praise for him. James has been at the hotel since we opened and is a key head of department. As with any hospitality industry good staff members are key to the operation and James certainly falls into this category.

Kind Regard

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Good standard Holiday Inn experience. A bit of a performance getting from the car park to the lobby via a series of lifts (at least when you have luggage to manhandle). Check in friendly and efficient and all interactions with staff members were pretty positive. Good clean rooms, nice bathrooms and a decent bed. Good location for the main shopping districts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your comment’s following your recent stay with us. Its always nice to read that we got all aspect of your stay correct. I do hope if you are in the area again you will continue to use the Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre.

Once again, thank you for your review

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business and couldn't have asked for a nicer hotel. The room was clean with lots of room, a lovely powerful shower and a very comfy bed. Breakfast in the morning was relaxed with a great selection available. Even the cooked breakfast was a higher standard than expected.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJField1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks you for completing such a great review. I was delighted to read you had a great overall stay.
Myself and the team hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed for one night on a weekend so we could go out in Bristol. The shops are half a mile away through the underpass or you can walk a little further down and cross through cabott. Check in was quick and breakfast etc. Was explained to us. We booked the shopping package - a 3 course dinner and glass of bubbly, a £40 shopping voucher, free parking and upgrade to an executive room. We asked if we could have the dinner as lunch the next day as we'd booked somewhere else for dinner and they said this was fine.
The room was excellent - clean and comfy with a very large TV, air con (which worked well). There was a free Mars bar and bottle of water (although only one?).
When we went out for the evening the gentleman on the ground floor desk was happy to call us a taxi, and on our return we had a few drinks in the bar (the staff there were also really friendly).
Breakfast the next day was great, (the cold section was a little lacking), although the lunch we had later was really very average - I wouldn't come here for dinner again.
Overall an excellent experience and I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Executive rooms on the higher floors have no traffic noise
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing an online review. I was delighted to read that you took advantage of one of our many packages we offer. I was pleased to read all your positive comments regarding the hotel and staff, however with that being said I would be grateful if you could contact me via email: gm@hibristolcity.co.uk or telephone 0117 924 5000 so I can establish further feedback in relation to your meal as we are always looking at ways to improve our food offering.

Once again thank you for leaving a review and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,683 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre

Address: Bond Street, Bristol BS1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Business Hotel in Bristol
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $90 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristol's newest hotel located on Bond Street in the city centre. Opposite Cabot and Broadmead shopping centre, an ideal location for all of the city centre activities and attractions. This new hotel has been completed to a very high modern standard with Standard, Superior, Deluxe, Executive and Suite bedrooms. The Spot restaurant provides excellent food at value prices or try the 7evern bar for drinks or bar food. 1/2hr free internet for all hotel guests with reduced price parking in the NCP car park under the hotel. 7 flexible conference and banqueting rooms are also available. This hotel prides itself on ensuring that the guests are the main focus and the hotel team will go out of their way to ensure that a great experience is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing