We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Executive Rooms, but do not take up the Dinner package” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Executive Rooms, but do not take up the Dinner package”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights stay in Executive Rooms, but it is as good as the Club rooms at 5 star hotels such as Sheraton, Crowne Plaza or Shangri-La. We have 3 adults in one of the rooms and is upgraded into a impressive suite for this room with Playstation, Coffee maker, 3 T.V.s. One in the sitting area, one at bed area and one in the bathroom. The size of the bathroom is at least twice as big as normal hotel bathrooms.

Breakfast is excellent with impecable service. The omelette was excellent.

Do not go for dinner here however. Food was not that good and you have to spend more time waiting than eating the mediocal food. Be prepared to spend 2.5 hours just for the dinner and food is not even nice. WE actually booked the Executive Rooms with breakfast and Dinner package for all 3 noghts. First night, we took the set dinner, Second night we choose from the ala carte menu, come third night, we decided to forgo our meals there instead elsewhere.

Another set-back for this hotel is that there is no conceige to help you with the luggage. There is not even a drop of point at the hotal entrance. We have to tow our luggage all the way from carpark to the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girder22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Girder22 ,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay.

I am delighted that you found the standard of your bedroom exceptional and greatly enjoyed the breakfast.

We appreciate your comments regarding your dinner which has also been passed on to the relevant departments.

Regarding the drop-off point, it is just by the side of the hotel on the ground level, where a lift is also provided to assist customers to one level up where Concierge staff is there to help.


Andrea Eldridge
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    425
    125
    28
    25
See reviews for
182
396
56
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Clean and very central. Ideally located for city centre shopping and restaurants. Would definitely use again.

Parking on site £10 per night. Disabled lift or stairs from car park to ground floor then into another lift to second floor for reception, then back into the lift to reach your room. All a bit difficult with luggage, an 85yr old who can't walk or stand for long and a young child.

Rooms were very clean and had an upgrade on both rooms as being a platinum member (usually only applies to member's own room) so that was nice.

Dinner on first night was not bad for a hotel restaurant and the waiter was helpful and patient. three computers at end of restaurant kept children amused once they had eaten and parents still finishing their meals.
Breakfast was somewhat hectic - i guess its busy at weekends but feel more tables and chairs are needed to eliminate the very long queues at busier times. Staff all very friendly but had a nightmare job trying to replenish food, bread and tea bags with the volumes of people in there - and drinks machines are hidden in the corner making one of them almost inaccessible when the other is being used.

It took nearly half an hour to check out on a Sunday morning - really should have more staff on reception, there were 2 struggling to cope. When we checked in on Friday evening there were four staff available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Katy963

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased that you found our hotel central and the upgraded room clean.
We always try to upgrade Priority Club members to appreciate their loyalty.

We offer several packages, from Shopping to Celebration or Attraction to suit all needs, couples and families alike.

When you return to this area in the future, feel free to take advantage of one of them. You can get even better deals if you book in advance.

We have 5 lifts (2 of them scenic to look out over the city) to accommodate all of our guest .We also offer assistance with luggage either at Concierge or at Reception level.

Due to our popularity and the predominantly leisure clientele at weekends, most customers visit our breakfast in the latter part of the service time, although we adjust our opening times to anticipate that. I understand it was the case during your stay creating a busy breakfast but I am pleased that the staff remained friendly and attentive throughout.

This can also have an effect on our check-out service with most people trying to leave around the same period.

We have taken all your comments on board which have greatly helped us .

Andrea Eldridge
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

+ Found a good deal online
+ Room spacious and clean
+ Excellent location for centre of Bristol
+ parking on site (extra cost)

- Rooms needed to be rearranged as booked as singles, doubles given.
- Credit card assigned to wrong room
- Very early morning wake up call.......not requested!
- Room not refreshed until late afternoon when we were due to be getting ready to go out.

All in all if you get a good price this is for you, I wouldn't bother at full price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandymoPortsmouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear MandymoPortsmouthUK,

Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased that you managed to book one of our many deals on-line and you liked the central location with discounted parking alongside the clean and spacious room.

I would appreciate if you could contact me regarding the other matters so I can get more information to investigate. Whatever the feedback is we always try to improve.

Looking forward to your reply.

Andrea Eldridge
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballywherever
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I enjoyed staying at this hotel so much - it is very centrally located, it was really good value, the beds are so comfortable, the rooms are lovely, and best of all, the staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. I can't stress this enough - the staff are just lovely and treated us so well.

The only tiny fault I can think of was there was a really strong smell of damp in the the bathrooms, especially coming from the shower. And that didn't even matter, because this hotel is great. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWandererReturns7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear TheWandererReturns7 ,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay.

Really pleased that you found our beds comfortable and the staff so helpful.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Andrea Eldridge
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
196 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I did have a few concerns about this hotel due to some of the feedback and reviews on Trip Advisor. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. I got upgraded to a room on the 7th Floor which was in the new Holiday Inn design.

The room was very well apportioned, good quality furniture and the bonus of a balcony. I was only staying one night and did not eat within the hotel, but the reception service was excellent and all the staff, including the security on the ground floor was very socialable and helpful.

A great nights sleep and I confirm that this will be my regular hotel for Bristol. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkwind1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Hawkwind1966,

Thank you for your comments on your stay.

I am so pleased that we were able to exceed yet another guest's expectations not only from the product but also from our services point of view.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Andrea Eldridge
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Recently spent 3 nights here in business. Not the best was in room 511 the bed was like sleeping on the floor and the noise frim the bins outside wake you up. breakfast as standard.
evening meal...ok hotel.food.
checkout...slighty worrying thst the receptionist needed a calculator to subtract £30.00 frim £37.60.....
Car park is via NCP.
Overall OK BUT as a single female i didnt feel safe trecking around multi storey car park at night with a case then up stairs then to level 2 to check in then hunting my room down a long corridor.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear amanda g

Thank you for your feedback .

We appreciate your comments on the firmness of your bed which may be explained being
the newest hotel in Bristol. This is however a very rare feedback we receive.

To ensure our customer's safety and security , the NCP car park is equipped with fully lockable automatic gates and regular patrols are also carried out.

We also have a complimentary drop-off point at the side of the hotel from the car park where our Concierge staff can provide help 24/7. We are more than happy to assist if required.

If I can be of any further help, please do not hesitate to contact us in advance.

Andrea Eldridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I checked in to this wonderful hotel last week and wasn't told that they had upgraded me to a suite - I squealed with delight when I opened the door, it was fabulous!

As a lone female traveller who hadn't been to this hotel before I was a bit wary of the car parking but there was no need for concern, you can access the hotel directly from the car park.

Room service was delicious, the menu at first looked a little limited (not the 'standard' HI room service menu) but the portions were huge - I'd highly recommend the banana waffle!

A fabulous hotel, amazing room, great location - I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Room 622 - wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wemster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Wemster,

Thank you for your comments on your stay.

We are delighted that we could wow you whilst staying with us.

Not only we aim to upgrade our customer who are regulars but also have the safety and security of our guests in mind.

Looking forward to seeing you soon, when you should be able to enjoy our new Room Service menu options with just as big portion sizes .

Andrea Eldridge
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.8 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Bond Street, Bristol BS1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Business Hotel in Bristol
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristol's newest hotel located on Bond Street in the city centre. Opposite Cabot and Broadmead shopping centre, an ideal location for all of the city centre activities and attractions. This new hotel has been completed to a very high modern standard with Standard, Superior, Deluxe, Executive and Suite bedrooms. The Spot restaurant provides excellent food at value prices or try the 7evern bar for drinks or bar food. 1/2hr free internet for all hotel guests with reduced price parking in the NCP car park under the hotel. 7 flexible conference and banqueting rooms are also available. This hotel prides itself on ensuring that the guests are the main focus and the hotel team will go out of their way to ensure that a great experience is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing