We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed with my mum and sister for a birthday weekend away.
Location was excellent, within walking distance of Cabot circus/city centre.
Room was excellent. Two double beds in a family room. Room view over the city, very nice.
Room a little dated but very clean.
No small side lights which is good if others in the party would like to read at night.
Only two mugs/glasses supplied in the room.
Breakfast served in several rooms. We went around 10 am on a Saturday and it was very busy. Good selection of fruit and hot breakfast, pastries etc. small amount of cheese and hams if you prefer this option.
Car park is £12.50 for 24 hours and you can come and go as often as needed. Located next door.
An excellent value stay.
Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyCatSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    649
    256
    88
    45
See reviews for
286
464
54
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a girls weekend away here in October for 3 nights. Our flight arrived extremely early at 8am so when we arrived to the hotel the room was not ready however the lovely receptionists kept our luggage for us and then provided a map of the area and highlighted exactly where everything was and what we could do.
We returned just after 12 noon not expecting our room to be ready but it was.
The staff again were lovely, reception staff were always available to help.
We had breakfast included each morning which was nice fairly basic.
The pool is small but nice for a midday day dip to relax.

We had a lovely stay at this hotel, it was in walking distance to everything, shopping, local restaurants, local night life and the staff were very helpful. A small balcony in our room which faced into city, was a lovely view especially in the evenings.

We didn't dine here during the day so I cannot comment on the food.

Room Tip: High level facing to city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Last December we stayed at the Bristol Marriott with a large group of friends for an old school reunion costing £75 per person for bed, breakfast and evening meal. The room was comfortable, so no problem there, but we were most disappointed with the food and poor unhelpful service from the staff. We had advised the hotel several weeks ahead that we were vegan, but on the night they seemed totally unaware of this, or even of what vegan means. We were presented with an overcooked vegetable dish topped with cheddar cheese, which on complaining, they then whipped away and topped instead with a totally raw slice of onion! The dessert they produced also contained dairy, and had to be replaced with fruit salad as well. We noted that our meals contained NO protein, although we had paid the same price as others who were eating large slabs of meat! As a result, after the meal, we both went to the nearby ground-floor bar to ask for some peanuts, to be told by a surly waitress that they didn't have any anywhere in the hotel! We then went upstairs to have a drink, only to find that there were plenty of peanuts upstairs at the bar, though rather small and expensive. On returning home after this disappointing weekend, my partner wrote a long complaint via the hotel website, but we have never even received the courtesy of a reply from the Marriott.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Peacelover_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. With a fresh popcorn machine in reception the smell of hot popcorn hits you the second you walk in - lovely. Starbucks is upstairs and is open 24/7 (well as long as the bar is). With an outdoor terrace it is great for the smokers in the group to be able to grab a coffee and a seat outside. Our room has a small balcony, but had stains on the lamp and a cracked ceiling, however my friends room a few floors down was immaculate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argentina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is a good option if you are travelling south London.
Rooms are well appointed, beds very confortable. Tidy bathroom. All works . Breakfast is fantastic with many choices of pastries.
Personal really helpfull.
Location is perfect to know this small nice city or to have a rest.

Room Tip: Higher floors offers great view of the land.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monisame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

On my previous visit to the Marriott I was impressed by the obvious positives – the location, size of rooms and the value the overall package represented, but there were a number of aspects to the hotel that required greater attention to detail. However, after this most recent visit I am happy to record a notable improvement, particularly in the cleanliness of the rooms and public areas. Even the restaurant functioned more smoothly although there is a predictable queue to be seated at 0630 most mornings as a result of the somewhat arcane procedure of escorting each individual to a table in order to ascertain if they wanted tea or coffee. It may be worth the Head of F&B seeing how it is done more better elsewhere.

The décor is tired and stuck in the 1970s but I was very pleased with my room overlooking Castle Park. The staff remain a cheery, outgoing bunch and so the overall impression was much more favourable. My gripes, and there will always be a few, centre on my bemusement that the restaurant closes for 2 nights a week (Sunday and Thursday) leaving everyone to have similar meals in the bar. I am at a loss to see what this achieves but it certainly does not engender a comfortable dining environment. Lastly, is my continued astonishment that the Marriott feels it can still charge a hefty £15 daily fee for wi-fi connection. Even some of the cheapest eateries in Bristol offer such a service gratis as does just about every other non-American owned hotel I have ever stayed in. Why not bring the hotel into the 21st Century?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night on an advance booking that proved to be excellent value for money.
Had asked for a room on high floor and that is exactly what I got with excellent views of Bristol to be had. The room was very clean and tidy as was bathroom with good water power in the shower.
Breakfast was lovely, a really good selection and very tasty.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have already booked to return for another night in January

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jingler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 2 Lower Castle Street | Old Market, Bristol BS1 3AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Business Hotel in Bristol
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, Cabot Circus Shopping Centre stands proud. With over 120 stores, including Harvey Nichols, House of Fraser to name a few. This fantastic destination places Bristol firmly in the spotlight. Experience a wonderful mix of traditional and modern Bristol at the exquisite Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. Our luxury hotel in southern England pampers the most discerning travelers. Located in the city centre close to businesses, shopping centres and area attractions, Marriott offers spacious rooms with air conditioning, high-speed Internet access, and 24-hour room service. Our Terrace Grill restaurant features a wonderful selection of international cuisine and fine wines and our Coffee Shop offers breakfast and lunch in a relaxed setting. Renowned as one of the largest conference centres in southwest England, the Marriott hotel - along with our superb catering and experienced staff - creates wedding ceremonies and conferences in great style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing