We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, but rooms starting to look tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, but rooms starting to look tired”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stay in both Marriott's in Bristol regularly. The Bristol central is a great central location albeit the rooms are starting to look a bit tired.

One major negative is the WIFI - £6 for an hour via Ibahn service provider is nothing short of a rip-off. Most modern hotels now provide free WIFI, so come on Marriott, get it sorted please! This is enough for me to look elsewhere

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamf904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    627
    253
    85
    44
See reviews for
276
458
54
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott Bristol for two nights.

The hotel was busy with a few large groups staying, this made no difference to the excellent customer service offered by all departments of the hotel.

Check in was very easy and efficient, the Receptionist was very helpful arranging for us to park in the staff car park due to the size of our vehicle. She offered advice on local attractions and places to visit.

Our room was lovely, very clean and well furnished. Internet access was free in public areas, but sadly not in rooms (were you must pay for it.)

We had breakfast in the Terrace (indoor restaurant), breakfast was great, buffet style with an excellent choice from cereals to full cooked (no mushrooms).

There is a Starbucks on the Terrace floor (1st floor above ground), however this is staffed by the bar staff from adjacent bar, so maybe quicker to order at bar.

My only criticism is the TV's in bar, which due to the suggestion of some of the customers were showing Fight Night boxing, something which caused several customers to leave the bar.

Checking out was as easy as checking in, bill was slid under our door over night.

Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up the building are quieter due to road, that said double glazing is very good and road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadamPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
225 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Check in took some time - only one staff at the front desk. But friendly and efficient. Rooms are nice in typical Marriott design. Breakfast was good. They have a Starbucks coffee shop on the Terrace floor but there is no terrace where you can sit outside... Only for executive floor guests...
Parking in the garage next door is convenient and cost 12.50 Pounds/24 hours. Location is great. Next to the park and shopping complex. Walk to downtown and old town in a few minutes. Can recommend this hotel and the price was good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Looking a little tired now, both inside and outside, and not cheap but it did give us a good nights sleep in a clean and comfy room. The Hotel is nicely located for Cabot circus and the city centre. but acceptable. Parking is in the adjacent NCP and along with in room wifi, is very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulBB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Enjoyed a weekend stay at this hotel. Very good in relation to cleanliness, comfort , food and public areas. Also on the door step for the City centre shops etc. However Sunday morning breakfast arrangements could be best described as disorganised chaos. The queue at 9.40am was approximately 30 persons deep. Guests seemed to be placed all over the place to eat with some being perched on bar stools in the main bar and others eating from low tables again in the bar area. Some were even located adjacent to the persons queuing affording them no privacy or space to relax. After approximately 25 minutes we were eventually seated in the main restaurant. Due to the number of guests there were insufficient supplies in relation to bread rolls. pastries, orange juice etc. Unfortunately this is probably the worst breakfast experience of any hotel we have stayed in and was not consistent with a 4 star rating. Apart from this we had no other complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABJJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

1 night stay early may so no opportunity to check out pool etc. However room (1011) fine with nice toiletories. Shower pressure a bit low, but everything else working as expected. Good buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms on high floor have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS&BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was everything you expect from a Marriott. Fast, efficient check in. I would say the room is beginning to show its age - bathroom basin had a crack in it but everything worked and worked very well. Not a fan of showers over tubs but this one had sufficient pressure and worked well enough. Bed was enormous and very comfortable. We had a bed and breakfast deal and we were particularly impressed with the staff. First and foremost there was sufficient cover for a busy Bank Holiday weekend. They obviously worked extremely well as a team - food and drink stocks were never allowed to drop, tables cleared and renewed promptly. Service with a smile - all in all a good solid Marriott.

Room Tip: We prefer a quiet room on a higher floor - the lift is a little noisy in operation so if this bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PompeyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 2 Lower Castle Street | Old Market, Bristol BS1 3AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Business Hotel in Bristol
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, Cabot Circus Shopping Centre stands proud. With over 120 stores, including Harvey Nichols, House of Fraser to name a few. This fantastic destination places Bristol firmly in the spotlight. Experience a wonderful mix of traditional and modern Bristol at the exquisite Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. Our luxury hotel in southern England pampers the most discerning travelers. Located in the city centre close to businesses, shopping centres and area attractions, Marriott offers spacious rooms with air conditioning, high-speed Internet access, and 24-hour room service. Our Terrace Grill restaurant features a wonderful selection of international cuisine and fine wines and our Coffee Shop offers breakfast and lunch in a relaxed setting. Renowned as one of the largest conference centres in southwest England, the Marriott hotel - along with our superb catering and experienced staff - creates wedding ceremonies and conferences in great style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing