We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent the weekend at the Fitness Fiesta event last weekend and had a wonderful time.

Having read previous reviews, I contacted the hotel in advance to request a quiet room. When I arrived, I was pleased to see that this had been done and I had been allocated a room on the 8th floor at the end of the corridor.

We were booked in on a half board basis and I have to say that the quality of food and serivce was excellent. Given that there were over 400 delegates, the evening meal was of good quality and was promptly served by well organised, courteous staff and the plates were hot (one of my pet hates is hot food served on cold plates!). The breakfast selection was second to none. There was everything you could possibly wish for and the poached eggs were cooked to perfection. The only negative comment was the cost of wine. The cheapest bottle of wine was £20.50!!

The bathrooms are looking a little tired but, most importantly of all, they were clean. The matress and pillows were comfy and the rooms spacious.

The hotel was ideally situated in the centre of town and is right next to Cabots Circus. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and I will be attending the next Fitness Fiesta event at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crown27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    670
    263
    91
    45
See reviews for
305
473
55
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

we went here for a weekend away for my husbands birthday. we booked the zoo package from the Bristol zoo website, and when we arrived they had our booking down as the bath spa package. everything was sorted very quickly.

we got given access to the executive lounge for our entire stay which was a lunge with free mini bar, which we enjoyed hte first night then on the 2nd night it had a sign on the door that there was a private party and no access till Sunday at 3pm (we checked out on Sunday) i thought we could of had prior warning to this.

the hotel car park is right next door and costs £12 a day which is a good price, the concierge are really helpful and also the staff at the desk.

the room was a nice big size with everything we needed, our towels did smell a bit damp on the first night but then room cleaning service arrived for the next day clean and replaced this.

we had dinner and breakfast included in our stay, the breakfast was nice had all the usual breakfast foods and dinner was also really nice considering some hotels have small plates with dishes you don't understand!

the zoo is a 10min drive and the shopping centre/restaurants are right on your door step

really nice place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJP15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 2 nights at the city centre Marriott. It's a great location right next to Cabot circus. Lots of shops bars and restaurants. The room was lovely on the 10th floor so amazing views over Bristol. The staff we excellent so helpful and friendly. Lucia booked us in and very kindly arranged an anniversary card and a bottle of bubbly to be sent to our room - very unexpected but so kind. We were also very impressed with Joel at the front desk who was also very helpful and friendly representing the Marriott in the best possible way. Will stay there again Thank you Marrott xx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a Land Data Training and Development Event. The room I had was on the front of the hotel on the 2nd floor. I had two double beds! The size of the room was great but it needed some updating. The wardrobe sliding doors would not open so it was extremely difficult to access the safe. The bathroom was very small and the fixtures were really quite dated with a huge problem with limescale.

The meals weren't served in the restaurant with other guests. The food generally was of a good standard and I couldn't really complain.

Overall all I would rate this hotel as average but it needs a revamp.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loucoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is an old hotel but quite clean and convenient to stay. I enjoyed the neighborhood quite well including shopping mall, restaurant, and sightseeing.The location is quite excellent. Room is quite comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnsonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very nice Marriott hotel well located near the city center and main train station, both of which are a comfortable walk away. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I was staying with four colleagues and we met in the hotel's Terrace Bar most evenings before walking into town for dinner. Staff recommended some good restaurants. It was very cold while we were there but the rooms were warm and comfortable. British hotels finally seem to be providing comfortable beds and pillows! Breakfast was great. In my room the shower had low pressure but my colleagues said their's were OK and I did not complain about it to the hotel so I cannot mark them down for that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timt1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we came to Marriott for a spa day which was a birthday present we had a great time the only let down was the pool its oddly shaped and i tripped up in there with some time of ramps being in there .... when we first arrived we was went to reception and the lady there pointed us in the right direction to the leisure club when we arrived noone was at reception and we noticed a man in the marriott uniform ... though he didn't understand a word we said so we waited this must of been a good 15 minutes before anyone noticed us but we had a great time i cant comment on the hotel but the spa is great had great time other then the pool being weirdly shaped it a nice place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 2 Lower Castle Street | Old Market, Bristol BS1 3AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Business Hotel in Bristol
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, Cabot Circus Shopping Centre stands proud. With over 120 stores, including Harvey Nichols, House of Fraser to name a few. This fantastic destination places Bristol firmly in the spotlight. Experience a wonderful mix of traditional and modern Bristol at the exquisite Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. Our luxury hotel in southern England pampers the most discerning travelers. Located in the city centre close to businesses, shopping centres and area attractions, Marriott offers spacious rooms with air conditioning, high-speed Internet access, and 24-hour room service. Our Terrace Grill restaurant features a wonderful selection of international cuisine and fine wines and our Coffee Shop offers breakfast and lunch in a relaxed setting. Renowned as one of the largest conference centres in southwest England, the Marriott hotel - along with our superb catering and experienced staff - creates wedding ceremonies and conferences in great style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing