We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, nice staff, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very nice Marriott hotel well located near the city center and main train station, both of which are a comfortable walk away. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I was staying with four colleagues and we met in the hotel's Terrace Bar most evenings before walking into town for dinner. Staff recommended some good restaurants. It was very cold while we were there but the rooms were warm and comfortable. British hotels finally seem to be providing comfortable beds and pillows! Breakfast was great. In my room the shower had low pressure but my colleagues said their's were OK and I did not complain about it to the hotel so I cannot mark them down for that.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timt1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,433 - 1,439 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

we came to Marriott for a spa day which was a birthday present we had a great time the only let down was the pool its oddly shaped and i tripped up in there with some time of ramps being in there .... when we first arrived we was went to reception and the lady there pointed us in the right direction to the leisure club when we arrived noone was at reception and we noticed a man in the marriott uniform ... though he didn't understand a word we said so we waited this must of been a good 15 minutes before anyone noticed us but we had a great time i cant comment on the hotel but the spa is great had great time other then the pool being weirdly shaped it a nice place

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Feedback from an extended business stay - staff very helpful & friendly. However the management need to think twice before allowing a wedding party and a large exhibition to have so much impact on the hotel residents. Top tip - check to see if they have anything going on before you book!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank hawkeye651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived it was clear there was a wedding being held at the hotel. We had to push our way through a large group of people who smoking and drinking infront of the entrance. Once we got into the hotel the check in was nice and fast and the staff were really helpful and friendly.

How ever when we went to use the lift we had to wait about 5 minutes for one of the three lifts to arrive that wasn't already full of wedding guests. When we finally did get into a lift it took us about 10 minutes to reach our floor (9) as there were people stopping on every floor and holding the lift to have conversations.

Our room was perfect. Lots of space and a nice big bed. We had a view of the city which was beautiful at night!

We had planned to go for a few drinks and get some dinner from the bar and restaurant in the hotel, before going down to use the spa facilities. Unfortunately it became very clear this was not going to happen as everytime we stopped at the terrace level it was extremely busy and loud. We let this go and decided to go out for dinner as we could understand it was a celebration.

However later that night, around half 1 in the morning, my fiance and I couldn't sleep as we could hear the music even on the 9th floor. We decided to go downstairs for a ciggerate out side. On our way down we came across a group of small boys (about 10-12) throwing ice at eachother from the ice machine. Whilst we were down stairs it was clear the party was still going stong. We heard a lot of vulgar language and people seemed drunk and aggressive.

We got in the lift to go back to our room and were joined by two lads from the wedding party. (about 17-18 years old) They asked us if we were having a good time and where we were from. We replied and said we were from Wales. They laughed and said they were going to Cardiff the following day. They then went onto say that it was full of f***ing c***s and we were Welsh c***s. They were very aggressive and I was very relieved when they got off the lift on the second floor.
My fiance immediately called down to the reception and spoke to the night manager. She was very understanding and made a note of our complaint to discuss with the manager in the morning. The music finally went off at around half 2.

In the morning we waited for the wedding party to leave. We were told there were about 200 rooms for the wedding guests. The manager was very helpful and understanding and said he would find out how he could rectify what happened. We went out for the day. The location of the hotel is really central and right by the Cabot Circus which has loads of shops and restaurants.

Returning to the hotel we spoke to Phil who was the FOH manager. He informed us that he had reviewed our complaint and offered us 4 free drinks at the bar and a meal for two in the restaurant. We accepted this and it was really nice. We enjoyed our meal, the food was great and the service was outstanding. Later that night we used the spa which was very relaxing. My only complaint are that the pool was a bit shallow and the lights were off in the steam room.

Although we had an unfortunate experiance at the begining. This wasn't directly the hotels fault. I didn't post this to give a bad review of the hotel but to show what good service they provide. They coped really well under the pressure!

We would definalty stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rmblazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have stayed here quite a few times on business and generally it's pretty good, above average for a mainly business hotel. On most recent visit the reception staff were good and room was a good standard but I booked a table of 10 in the restaurant, food was ok but service in the restaurant was below par, they seemed short staffed. But the real disappointment was the bar service which was appalling. Maybe they just had an off night but I wished we had gone elsewhere for dinner and drinks

Room Tip: Traffic can be noisy so get a room towards the top if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goddardvlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The service was good but we had a bar meal at night and no one actaully finished it! The rooms were OK but many were being ferurbished. However, it did have parking facilities which are very helpful in Bristol!
Internet available for a short time in the bar area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wonderful hotel in the heart of Bristol, close to really good shops and restaurants. We had an amazing weekend there with over 300 ladies on the NGM Oasis Of Delight conference. The rooms are spacious and the beds are incredibly comfortable. They have a fantastic choice for breakfast. Would recommend the hotel.... and the weekend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stockspinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre

Address: 2 Lower Castle Street | Old Market, Bristol BS1 3AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Business Hotel in Bristol
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $97 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, Cabot Circus Shopping Centre stands proud. With over 120 stores, including Harvey Nichols, House of Fraser to name a few. This fantastic destination places Bristol firmly in the spotlight. Experience a wonderful mix of traditional and modern Bristol at exquisite Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. Our hotel in southern England pampers the most discerning travelers to the UK. Located in the city centre close to businesses, shopping centres and area attractions, we offer spacious rooms with air conditioning, high-speed Internet access, and 24-hour room service. Our Terrace Grill restaurant features a wonderful selection of international cuisine and fine wines and our Coffee Shop offers breakfast and lunch in a relaxed setting. Renowned as one of the largest conference centres in southwest England, our hotel along with our superb catering and experienced staff - creates wedding ceremonies and conferences in great style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing