We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar staff let down the Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bar staff let down the Marriott”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have stayed here quite a few times on business and generally it's pretty good, above average for a mainly business hotel. On most recent visit the reception staff were good and room was a good standard but I booked a table of 10 in the restaurant, food was ok but service in the restaurant was below par, they seemed short staffed. But the real disappointment was the bar service which was appalling. Maybe they just had an off night but I wished we had gone elsewhere for dinner and drinks

Room Tip: Traffic can be noisy so get a room towards the top if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goddardvlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    661
    259
    89
    45
See reviews for
292
470
54
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The service was good but we had a bar meal at night and no one actaully finished it! The rooms were OK but many were being ferurbished. However, it did have parking facilities which are very helpful in Bristol!
Internet available for a short time in the bar area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wonderful hotel in the heart of Bristol, close to really good shops and restaurants. We had an amazing weekend there with over 300 ladies on the NGM Oasis Of Delight conference. The rooms are spacious and the beds are incredibly comfortable. They have a fantastic choice for breakfast. Would recommend the hotel.... and the weekend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stockspinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights whilst on a course. The hotel is conveniently located next to Cabot Circus shopping centre which has plenty of shops and restaurants. The outside of the building looks terrible, but inside is what you'd expect from a Marriott hotel. The rooms are large, warm and comfortable. The buffet breakfast has plenty of choice with cold and hot choices. There is a Starbucks inside which can be handy especially if you prefer a latte in the morning as the coffee with breakfast is very strong. Next door is a NCP car park. If you're staying here for a few nights up to a week, then you can purchase a weekly ticket from the car park machine for £35 as a pre pay option. Otherwise it will charge you a fortune!
All in all, a perfect location to stay on business.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rupert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

A very drab exterior greets you… time for an external clean to shift what looks like years of grime. Inside though you’ll find this hotel pleasant enough.

Amy, on reception was obviously new as she needed assistance with the computer, she was very helpful and did her job with a smile on her face. So many in the hospitality industry either forget to smile or cannot seem to look genuine when they do remember. She was being helped by Phil, who looked like a reception supervisor or FOH manager perhaps. He took a complaint call while I was waiting to be checked in, which he handled well. Amy asked which floor I’d like to stay on… I asked if that mattered - Phil asked if I was afraid of heights?! I said I’m happy wherever, how about giving me the best room you have! As I got out of the lift at the 8th floor, I walked past the “executive rooms” to a bog standard double. That’s what I’d paid for, but I did ask for “the best” while a smile (genuine) on my face.

Public rooms looked okay, nothing out of the ordinary.

You park (at a slightly discounted rate) in the almost adjoining NCP car park… the stairs and lifts were not pleasant at all, you can be spared the details, but this is not a great companion to a 4 star hotel.

The staff at breakfast were helpful and polite. The breakfast food was very good for a mid-priced hotel.

Yet another hotel that wants your arm and leg for daring to use the WiFi - another hotel chain who have not quite caught on to the fact customers don’t like being ripped off when you’re already paying for a hotel room. WiFi is no longer a “nice to have” it’s as important as the bed you sleep on and should be included.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConsumerJournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I recently stayed at the back end of 2012. I was pleseantly suprised with the standard of this hotel having recently had a poor stay at The Marriott In Marble Arch. The staff were by far the most welcoming I have come accross, with a helpful conceirge on hand every step of the way.

The only negative I found was the food; our breakfast was cold and in the evenings alot off the menu had run out of stock! Not a biggie though as you are walking distance to bars and resturants from here.

We stayed in a King room which was bright and clean, although a little on the small side!

Leisure facilities again were by far the best I have come accross with my previous stays with this chain. Jucuzzi was well heated and the indoor pool was warm enough to swim in!

I would highly recommend this hotel for a great relaxing weekend away!

Room Tip: We have a room on the third floor which was lovely and peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 373Kimberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

it would be hard to ctiticise this hotel. the staff was welcoming, friendly and efficient. we had booked in a hurry for an unexpected weekend stay before xmas, and there was an extra welcome with xmas trees, decor and even music/mince pies/a drink.

as ever with the marriott chain the room was extremely solidly comfortable, well equipped and clean, and tho the city was buzzing with xmas shoppers, we felt our room was a real haven from the cold and crowds.

as we were in a hurry when booking, we had just booked the room, but were immediately advised we could upgrade to a rate for internet access and breakfast which would save us a fair bit. we did this and the breakfast buffet was very good in relation to the choice and quality of hot and cold buffets. indeed the scrambled eggs were really good, which was an unexpected treat as in most hotels they are dry and tasteless.

the sunday morning tho' was a bit nightmarish at breakfast time, as the hotel was completely full: i would warn at busy times to choose your time of breakfasting or where you sit carefully. at one time, sitting on the edge of the bar area as we found it was cooler than the restaurant, we found we were literally surrounded by crowds of hungry people queuing while we were trying to eat!

the one citicism we did have is we wanted to catch up with a few faves on i-player as we'd been away for a while: we then discovered we could not as the marriott chain uses a german provider (????) which means you get a message saying you cannot get i-player from outside the Uk even though you are of course in the UK. this seems utterly insane to me and please marriott try to find a provider in GB - we do have some quite decent ones here - they may not be as super eficient as i-bahn but it would mean people would have full access to i-player and not be told they are outside the UK when they are demonstrably not. confused? annoyed? we were.

apart from that, we had an excellent stay and this didn't spoil it - but it did leave a strange impression with us when in all other way the customers do seem to come 1st.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hfulton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 2 Lower Castle Street | Old Market, Bristol BS1 3AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Business Hotel in Bristol
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, Cabot Circus Shopping Centre stands proud. With over 120 stores, including Harvey Nichols, House of Fraser to name a few. This fantastic destination places Bristol firmly in the spotlight. Experience a wonderful mix of traditional and modern Bristol at the exquisite Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. Our luxury hotel in southern England pampers the most discerning travelers. Located in the city centre close to businesses, shopping centres and area attractions, Marriott offers spacious rooms with air conditioning, high-speed Internet access, and 24-hour room service. Our Terrace Grill restaurant features a wonderful selection of international cuisine and fine wines and our Coffee Shop offers breakfast and lunch in a relaxed setting. Renowned as one of the largest conference centres in southwest England, the Marriott hotel - along with our superb catering and experienced staff - creates wedding ceremonies and conferences in great style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing