We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,211)
Filter reviews
1,211 results
Traveler rating
260
433
294
125
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
433
294
125
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clifton suspension bridge white lion great view of the bridge large terrace terrace bar balloon fiesta street parking lovely hotel third floor family room full english lovely room stayed for one night ss great britain wedding permit
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 1,211 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2018

2 night stay on a fabulous deal. Having stayed in other hotels in the chain this didn't disappoint. Gorgeous room with all the luxury required. Bathroom very nice with a lovely strong shower complete with my favourite toiletries and magnifying mirror . We had 2nd floor room and both nights it was lovely and quiet. Only one lift which wasn't an issue for us as we could take the stairs but better signage required in the corridors for room numbers. Appreciate the hotel hasn't been open long hence the great deal we got which included breakfast and dinner. Child free dinner in a restaurant that can be compared with a New York view was lovely. We were happy not to be rushed and enjoy our dinner although understand others around us were complaining about slow service. Waiting staff very attentive and especially Lois who was excellent and looked after us very well. Breakfast very nice as expected. All very relaxing and woke up the 2nd morning which was my birthday not wanting to leave. Would definitely recommend at the right price.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Prowsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

The view is great and we had a lovely table with uninterrupted view of the Suspension Bridge. Sadly it went downhill from there. The menu is quite dull (politely this might be called traditional). I actually had some difficulty deciding what to have because unusually there wasn’t that much I really wanted to eat. In the end I had ham hock followed by monkfish. Both were just about ok but nothing special. The main problem appears to stem from the kitchen. We waited a very long time for the starters to arrive. We then had to ask for the plates to be cleared away. Eventually our main courses arrived, or at least five out of six did. No explanation at all that one did not. So we had to find someone to ask where it was. Eventually that arrived. A rare steak was nearer to well done than medium. We asked for a second bottle of wine in between courses. After we had eaten our mains, the waiter arrived with a different wine as they had run out of the first one. Again our plates were not clearer away. One member of our party went to complain to the manager. At no time did anyone come to our table and apologise. The manager seems inept and totally unwilling to engage. Probably one of the worst restaurant experiences I have had for a long time. And it isn’t cheap. Two courses without wine or service cast on average £33.50.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank KateREBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Having enjoyed the Du Vin chain across the country we arrived to celebrate our anniversary. We booked a Garden Suite. Upon arriving (once we had negotiated the parking lottery fiasco) we checked in to our room and from here it went wrong:

- Garden Suite - at £330 we anticipated a delightful room which would encorprate easy access to enjoy the gardens. Instead we were taken out of the hotel and down the street into a basement room separate from the main hotel. The room was dark and felt like a dungeon. The access to the garden was through a side corridor and out of a fire escape. It certainly did not live up to our expectations. We then discovered that the room was full of dust and cobwebs. Given no option but to complain the Reception Manager and Housekeeping Manager were very efficient and sorted this out very quickly. As our stay progressed we began to notice the noise from the flooring of the room above, it disturbed our sleep during the night. Again not good for the cost of our room.

- Evening Meal - Our experience during our evening meal (despite being told what time we had to take our meal and not being given a time option) was actually very enjoyable. The food was good and the service was friendly.

- Bar (not the pub) - The young lady behind the bar was very attentive and made every effort.

- Breakfast - WHAT BREAKFAST? A complete shambles. Guests left the restaurant without even getting tea and toast. We waited half an hour and then left. Not at all acceptable.

As we approached reception (why only two desks?) it became clear that we were not the only dissatisfied guests. It is a shame that reception is forced to bear the brunt of all of the complaints.

We will not be going back to this hotel. They are clearly not ready for the volume of guests that visit.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

OMG what a REALLY bad experience my friends had this afternoon, where do I start !!!
We booked a table for 3-15pm
Did not get seated until 4.10pm after being told we just had to wait a few minutes!!
We waited 30 minutes for a drink
My friend was drinking water with a straw and found lipstick on her glass plus when we did sit down the napkins were dirty!
So had to complain again, waited a long time for clean ones, it was like they just could not cope ...
Then eventually someone came to ask us what tea we would like, when it did come no milk came ??!!
The afternoon tea came on a stand OR one of them did the other one came on plates?!
Then they ran out of Prosecco ( how can you run out of prosecco ) so offered us champagne at the same price as a glass of prosecco ....
They had already given us a free drink each because of the wait and now because we complained about the waiting time they are now giving us a glass of champagne on the house ...
Afternoon tea arrives 4.45 pm remember we were booked in for 3.15 pm
One afternoon tea stand rest on plates no jam to go with scones when asked for jam a young waiter bring small pots of marmalade and apricot jam plus no small spoons for cream so asked again for those
Took for ever to bring them out by that time scones were cold !!!!
Ohhhhhh I could go on and on
I have been for afternoon teas from around the world and have never in my life ever had a experience like this ...
Omg what has happened to the Avon Gorge hotel I have been going to this hotel for as long as I can remember the hotel de vin have completely ruined it its dark to the point you can’t put lipstick on in the ladies loo s it’s to dark to see
Lobby is dark
It is completely ruined
Sooooooo many people complaining about waiting time for food
Such a shame

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank parllands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

Great hotel in general - we had a lovely room (123) unparalleled gorgeous views from the balcony of the gorge and bridge as described by the check in staff .

Few house keeping tips; lots of dust in visible areas - the cleaner had cleaned up to that point but it was obvious that they couldn’t be bothered with going that extra bit. It was filthy on the picture frames - round the mini bar and shelf behind the bed . Plus no price list for the mini bar items so we didn’t touch anything.
We had to call reception for new toiletries on day two as the cleaning staff had made some executive decision on why we shouldn’t get another batch.

Breakfast - water is flavoured with fresh strawberries and cucumber. When I asked for some plain water to 3 different waiting staff it never came. I went into the kitchen and got my own water - twice .

Swedish restaurant staff - very very nice and profession.

Shame they did such a grande upgrade but didn’t consider a gym, pool or even a spa (using the existing historic pump room )

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews