We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart hotel, pleasant staff”
Review of Avon Gorge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avon Gorge Hotel
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed in the hotel on business for 3 nights and found it very comfortable and ate once in the restaurant which was very good. Breakfast again was good with plenty of selection and full English available, however unlike many other hotels haddock was not available for breakfast. Staff generally were very helpful and pleasant. Wi-fi connection was reliable albeit you had to login again every time after you were away from the hotel. New carpeting pretty much throughout from what I could see and my room on the ground floor front road side (village side they call it) would have benefited from having net curtains but was nonetheless fairly quiet. The downside for me were the cost of the wine and drinks £4.50 for a large bottle of mineral water (75cl), £4.40 for a pint of lager is excessive and in the connected pub (The White Lion) students got half-price drinks during certain hours, but the poor old residents got nothing - poor show if you ask me.

Room Tip: An upper floor may prove a quieter (not that noise was an issue) and afford a little more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gyles76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here because we needed to visit an elderly relative close by. Chose room 34 which is obviously one of the refurbished rooms and has a very large balcony with views over a peaceful garden and, to the left, the Avon Gorge. A couple of little niggles with the room but nothing of consequence. To put this in context I have stayed in quite a lot of upmarket hotels in Europe, the US and Australasia, and didn't, at the price point, feel disappointed with the room, though I think it may be one of the better ones in the hotel.
As to dining, our experience was rather better than 'MrMonkey65'. We had a couple of starters each. The dressed crab was excellent - set on sourdough toast as described in the menu and including rather more white meat than usually found in a dressed crab in the shell. The seared scallops were the best we have ever had. Our choice of an asparagus dish was not as successful but not unpalatable. And the staff were first rate; at reception, in the restaurant and at breakfast.
Finally, a comment about the White Lion bar. Whilst part of the structure of the hotel it is actually segregated from the bar and Bridge café of the hotel itself. We were there on Bank Holiday Monday and the huge terrace was full of people drinking and enjoying the stunning views. It looks as if it is somewhat youth oriented and we can't speak for the food, but so what - an amazing location to have a drink in good weather.

Room Tip: see above - choose a room with a balcony overlooking the Gorge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaguarx150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had a two day break and choose this hotel having had a family lunch there at Christmas. The room we were given, 418, would have been ok if we had both been over 6ft. A third of the window was covered by the concrete parapet, so we had no view of village. The staff readily agreed change and we were given room 319, which was fine. The.room was pleasantly decorated, clean and with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was very enjoyable with a wide choice and good coffee. We would use this hotel again and recommend it to friends and relatives. It is in a great position to explore Bristol using the excellent local bus system. Also Clifton has some great restaurants.

Room Tip: If you are under 6ft check out offer of rooms on fourth floor as you may not have a view out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Enjoyed a two night stay here. The room was lovely, freshly decorated and very stylish. Superb bathroom except the soap dispenser didn't work. Breakfast was good - everything you'd expect.

The only slight downer is the bar. The hotel also owns The White Lion pub next door which is extremely busy. It has a great outdoor area but is a victim of its own success and there's no separate bar for residents. We struggled to get a table and queud too long for drinks.

The restaurant is fine, has lovely views, good service and varied menu.

All in all a good place for a weekend break.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SherbutFizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here as part of a family celebration. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. We had a non gorge view room. This overlooked the buildings opposite - a good view into Clifton. The hotel ( and road outside) was surprisingly quiet. My parents had a gorge view room which was large and did have excellent views.
We used the pub area, bar area and restaurant. All food was excellent. The service was very good and the staff in the restaurant were really lovely.
Clifton is a great place to wander around and for building and people watching! There are plenty of places to eat and drink so the location is great. Although parking could be an issue we experienced no problems.

Room Tip: All our rooms were excellent - we had doubles, twins and on both sides of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinks47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We
Stayed at this hotel 25-27th April. We saw they had had a recent make over in the bedrooms.
This is where the nice part ends.

After driving from London, we were hungry so we went into the White lion bar which is part of the hotel for some food. We ordered a steak sandwich and a burger one pint of larger and a soft drink £30. The burger was like a piece of old cardboard, really cheap and nasty. My steak sandwich was like a lump of tough grizzle, the only redeeming thing was the bread.

Day 2 we went to the Bridge Café for lunch. Set up to look the part with proper linen etc.. We ordered from the menu, which was described as dressed crab £8.50, what came out was some crab spread on a very small piece of toast with leaves.

Then our mains one Chicken Caesar salad, which was very brown lettuce, very dry chicken and a dressing of very vinegary mayo trying to pass as Caesar dressing it was so thick you had to spread it on you could not dress anything with that. My fish and chips was two pieces of fish fillet tails stuck together and battered. So a lot of skin and very grey fish inside, when I asked the waitress what the fish was she said Haddock. I am a chef in London this grey sloppy skin in batter was not Haddock. We just left the food and the Café.

The hotel is charging Premium prices £300 for 2 nights and a Buffett Breakfast dating back to the 70s and old nasty crockery and metal tea pot that get hot and burn you.

Then They hold £300 on my bank card after I paid in full on departure. They said they would release the money as I paid in full. A week later still no access to this money. spoke to the bank they said the hotel still had the money held,

We travel to a lot of hotels for leisure and would never return here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrMonkey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed one night on the way to Cornwall & Tresco . We were blessed with warm sunshine &
the setting overlooking the gorge & the suspension bridge was outstanding . We enjoyed a very
pleasant lunch on the lovely terrace . The hotel is well situated to allow easy visits to SS Great
Britain & historic Bristol; we loved strolling Clifton & her famous Downs . Clifton is vibrant with
many fine restaurants ; in the end we chose The Emperor's Court ( Chinese) which was excellent.
Our room(34) was well appointed & very comfortable with balcony & private garden . The service
was efficient & friendly & the ease of parking was a most surprise !! All in all a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room 34 or associated rooms offering private balconies & gardens with beautiful views of the Av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordonh363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#30 of 39 in Bristol
455 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 39 in Bristol
570 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,273 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#33 of 39 in Bristol
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Gorge Hotel

Address: Sion Hill | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $111 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avon Gorge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settings rarely come like this: nestled in the heart of Clifton Village, Bristol the Avon Gorge Hotel offers a unique location for any trip to Bristol or tour of the West Country. This historic hotel offers unparalleled views of Brunel's Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the world's greatest bridges. Boasting fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance. The views don't stop here, from the popular Bridge Cafe and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all weather terrace area, enjoy the spectacular panorama of Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country's finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton; it's just on your door step. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avon Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Gorge Bristol
Hotel Avon Gorge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing