We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate Hotel in perfect location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Avon Gorge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avon Gorge Hotel
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adequate Hotel in perfect location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

The location of this hotel, adjacent to the Clifton Suspension bridge and overlooking the Avon Gorge and with very easy walking distance of the centre of Clifton are without doubt it's outstanding features. The building is an old building and obviously very expensive to maintain. Although some major improvements have been made, the hotel still lacks some basic amenities, such as heating in the bathrooms and no extractor fans in the bathrooms. The primitive double glazing in the bedroom was totally inadequate and the lift that was next to our bedroom made a lot of noise and was disturbing. However the staff that we met were charming and went out of their way to be helpful. The food that we enjoyed in the hotel was more than adequate and the breakfasts were particularly good. The price of the hotel reflected the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the Clifton Suspension Bridge. The views are outstanding. Make sure you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger1fe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    348
    221
    76
    44
See reviews for
186
381
26
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed for a weekend this month. Very mixed feelings. Bedroom was lovely. Good size and not cluttered with too much furniture. Bed was very comfortable and linen was good. Bathroom was a good size with an excellent shower. However, a recurring complaint of mine is that there is NEVER enough shelf space in bathrooms and nowhere to hang a dressing gown. Not huge problems, but could so easily be rectified and would make such a difference. The corridors were rather long and winding with several sets of steps to negotiate - I found this quite difficult as my husband is registered blind. The car park is also particularly difficult being very steep and narrow. Quite difficult to turn round. Ended up by parking on double yellow lines outside the front entrance. However, if you pick a lovely location on the side of a gorge, don't expect everything to be on the level. We only had breakfast in the hotel and this was very good. Lots of staff, and everything served very quickly. Good selection of fruit, cold meats, cereals, juices and hot dishes. We would like to congratulate all the staff. Without exception they were very friendly and efficient. All in all, we enjoyed our visit and will probably visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Beautiful building, and well appointed, clean rooms. Great service. Good location right next to the Clifton Suspension Bridge. Carpark is long, thin and located on a steep hill; I had to rescue a damsel in distress who had apparently been sat at the bottom for half an hour, unable to get out. You've been warned!

Only criticism - don't bother paying the extra for a "gorge view room" - it may just have been ours, but it was a postage stamp, dirty window that JUST gave a view of the bridge if you craned your neck... Not worth the cash.

Would stay again.

Room Tip: Only criticism - don't bother paying the extra for a "gorge view room" - it may just h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I am not normally a person who would complain on a site like this but I wish to share my experience, I booked afternoon tea for my mother for which it was her 80th birthday I went down in person to the hotel to book this and asked if they would supply a candle or plate with happy birthday on which I was told would be no problem and to mention it when I arrived on the day which I did, the table was booked for 2.30pm we arrived at 2.10 I explained that we were a bit early but was told that was ok and was taken to our table I was told that due to a large party our food would not be available until 2.30 which I said was fine the afternoon tea platter did not arrive until 2.55pm I then noticed that no jam had was with the scones which I had to go the to bar and obtain some I was given 3 small jars to take back to my table I also had to go to the bar to obtain some more milk, as no staff came to our table to see if everything was ok and when the afternoon tea was complete I paid the bill but as you can guess no birthday candle or plate arrived I mentioned this and was told "oh sorry we forgot"
I will not go to this hotel for afternoon tea again and will pass this onto my friends I wish I had now booked the Hotel du Vin
I have used this hotel before buto

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

My Daughter and I popped in for breakfast mid week. We both decided on "full english" as the buffet had already closed at 830am. How is it possible to get a classic English breakfast so wrong? Everything was cold and stuck to the plate. The sausage were like rubber slugs. the eggs were hard and cold. The coffee like dish water. What should have been a simple pleasure turned out to be a disappointment. The price of the breakfast clearly reflected the quality, only £13.00 for two.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmb9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly greeting on arrival. Staff were very welcoming and sorted out our check in very quickly. Also very helpful when we wanted a taxi to Bristol later in the evening. We went straight up to our room and found we had been upgraded to a gorge view room!
We were on the second floor with a fantastic view of the Clifton suspension bridge. Lovely big room, very clean and modern with a lovely big bathroom. The bed was very comfortable although I found the pillows were either too high or too low! The highlight was definitely lying in bed looking at the bridge first thing in the morning.
We went down for breakfast around 930 which is quite late as it finished at 10 and had a lovely table by the window. Only criticism was that staff seemed to concerned with playing with the till than coming to take our orders. The breakfast itself was lovely however with selections of fruit, meats, cereals, and pastries.

I would just add that although the room was lovely, the door didn't fit the frame properly meaning that light came into the room all night through a gap of about an inch at the bottom. Also we could hear people constantly walking up and down the hallways while we were trying to have a lie in. Our room was 222

Other than that we had a lovely stay at the hotel and would definitely return and recommend this lovely hotel in such a fantastic setting!
Thanks!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lozzage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a paradox. The decor inside is tired. Finding your room is like walking through the set of Fawlty Towers; up some stairs down a few stairs then up again. Narrow corridors then wide ones. Eclectic! Restaurant view is great. Breakfast is great. Staff is great. It just needs a thorough renovation inside.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,469 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Gorge Hotel

Property: Avon Gorge Hotel
Address: Sion Hill | Clifton Avon, Bristol BS8 4LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avon Gorge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settings rarely come like this: nestled in the heart of Clifton Village, Bristol the Avon Gorge Hotel offers a unique location for any trip to Bristol or tour of the West Country.This historic hotel offers unparalleled views of Brunels Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges. Boasting fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance. The views don't stop here, from the popular Bridge Cafe and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all weather terrace area, enjoy the spectacular panorama of Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the countrys finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, its just on your door step. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avon Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Gorge Bristol
Hotel Avon Gorge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing