We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel for a wedding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avon Gorge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avon Gorge Hotel
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel for a wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Avon Gorge Hotel was a lovley place for a wedding reception and vastly helped by the beautiful weather allowing us to use the terrace over looking the gorge.

I stayed in room 135 which is huge and welcoming. The bed was comfortable and the shower powerful. Yes the decor and the TV were a little dated but apparently there is a massive renovation going on at the moment so this should change soon enough. The only down sides were the bathroom didn't have any natural light and that the room got very hot at night. I did mention this at check-out and the receptionist promised to look into it.

Bar service during the wedding was slow but then again there was only 1 person serving whilst another polished glasses....and I'm not sure that either of them were prepared for a guest list that was mainly rugby players.

Finally, the breakfast was lovely. The food was cooked well and my friends assured me that the chocolate muffins were to die for.

Overall, a very nice stay in a tired but comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: If you want space, ask for room 135. Apparently it's one of the largest although it does over lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gymnast_Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    344
    219
    74
    34
See reviews for
177
372
26
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We attended a wedding and stayed at the Avon Gorge recently and were very disappointed with a number of aspects. Firstly the beds in the twin room (there were no double rooms left when we booked several months ago). Although the beds themselves were ok the duvets were tiny and didn't come over the sides of the bed culminating in a fairly chilly night. Luckily yet staff were very accommodating in swapping our room when we returned to find our original room filled with smoke from burnt food in the kitchen below. Unfortunately the new room also smelled strongly of burnt meat meaning we had to sleep with the window wide open adding to the chilliness of the night. Decor was dated and the old tv needs updating to the 21st century! The decor, especially the carpets, need to be renewed in a lot of the building...very tatty!
We found the bar to be very expensive.... Higher then London prices for a pint! Young staff working behind the bar weren't particularly efficient and were in desperate need of some training to pour the most basic of pints and work the till correctly.
Breakfast was good once we got it although poor replenishment of hot food and initial service to bring coffee and toast.
All in all it was a bed to lay our heads but not worth the £95 we paid and that wasn't even with a view of the Gorge!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived mid morning - able to check in immediately room 215 overlooked the street - but was comfortable,clean and fine for an overnight stay.

Pros: Really welcoming reception and bar staff; they were all very helpful and polite. Food - Thursday night is steak night - we had rump steak really chunky home made chips and salad and a decent bottle of red wine -all for £25.00 for two- beautiful food, very good value and very popular - so much so that we couldn't get a window table. The view from the restaurant over the bridge is stunning.

Cons: couple of minor things - don't let the view from the car park put you off - our hearts sank when we arrived, as the back of the building looks to be a state of some disrepair - this is certainly not reflected in the hotel itself. Breakfast - felt like the sausage & bacon had been out for some time, quite hard and brittle. The tables weren't laid out properly - no small plates and knives for toast - had to get our own from the breakfast buffet. We didn't see any evidence of toast & coffee being moved from vacated tables however, our milk jug only had a very small amount of milk in it, which would suggest that this might be the case - again had to get our own milk from the breakfast bar.

Clifton village itself is fantastic, all in all we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smudge382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night. The room was small but clean and the bed comfortable. The view of the Clifton Suspension Bridge and over theGorge lovely to see from the bedroom window. The only thing that gives this hotel a low score is the fact that at breakfast, which in itself was ok, was the fact that as people left the breakfast table the new arrivals were given the toast and the coffee off the tables that were just vacated. I would have thought at the prices charged at this hotel fresh toast and coffee would be a priority. Gripe over but if staying there check your toast is warm and that your coffee pot has more than half a cup of coffee. I saw this happen myself so know it is true.

Room Tip: we were in room 405, small but lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillypulula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvonGorge, General Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on the hotel. You are correct, we are very fortunate to have such a wonderful setting here at the Avon Gorge Hotel.

I must say that was shocked to hear of what you saw at Breakfast time, I was glad to hear that it did not happen to you. Our aim is to deliver outstanding customer service; I can assure you that we serve fresh toast and coffee or tea to all our guests at Breakfast. I would be delighted to hear of your experience personally.

On a positive note, I was glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly decorated rooms; we do proud ourselves in the cleanliness of the hotel.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Guillaume Lesage
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for 44 years.

It's not very often 'Jewels' stay the same, I can report that the hotel may have changed its name since I first stayed there. It was called the 'The Grand Spa' and it was very grand - it was the best hotel in Bristol by far.

It might not be the priciest hotel in Bristol, but for me it's the best, great food, wonderful friendly staff and located in the nicest part of the city.

Clifton is a wonderful area for pubs, restaurants and nice shops.

You could not have a better place for a base, on street parking is tight - but I haver never failed to get in the car park.

Gorge views are my favourite - the hotel is vey homely now, and the staff make you feel at home.

It's very worth staying - most of my trips are just 2 days, I would love a longer stay.

Room Tip: Room 124 was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We revisited the Bridge Cafe last night (Wednesday) and took two friends along What an amazing dining experience.!! One of the best steaks that I have ever eaten and home cooked chunky chips that were divine. I had the prawns to start and they were large, flavoursome and perfect. We finished with puds that would give Heston a run for his money. Dan, our waiter and 2 lady waitresses, Laura and Ildike were attentive but unobtrusive. The food deals like the fish and chips/wine and 2 steaks for £25 also look fab value for money. Thanks Bridge cafe, Chris and Dan especially - we will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshDragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridport
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited this wonderful hotel during the May Bank Holiday, the setting is stunning with amazing views overlooking the Clifton Suspension Bridge, the weather was wonderful and we were able to sit on the terrace and enjoy our Prosecco and take in the superb atmosphere.
Our room had been newly refurbished and was perfect, again with brilliant views. The staff were courteous and very friendly, definitely will be returning. Superb location with the wonders of Clifton just on the doorstep

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharrBrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Square Hotel
Berkeley Square Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Gorge Hotel

Property: Avon Gorge Hotel
Address: Sion Hill | Clifton Avon, Bristol BS8 4LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avon Gorge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settings rarely come like this: nestled in the heart of Clifton Village, Bristol the Avon Gorge Hotel offers a unique location for any trip to Bristol or tour of the West Country.This historic hotel offers unparalleled views of Brunels Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges. Boasting fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance. The views don't stop here, from the popular Bridge Cafe and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all weather terrace area, enjoy the spectacular panorama of Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the countrys finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, its just on your door step. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Avon Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Gorge Bristol
Hotel Avon Gorge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing