We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Young and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Avon Gorge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avon Gorge Hotel
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
suffolk
Level Contributor
131 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Young and fun”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

If the evening is fine and sunny you will be joined on the terrace of this hotel by a crowd of young university students, it seems it is the place to meet on a warm evening. Very cheerful and lively but it can be crowded. Restaurant is good but menu is limited. rooms are ok but could benefit from refurbishment. Clean and comfortable and lovely comfy beds with good bed linen. A safe choice but not a posh one. It could be wonderful if it was brought up to date. The location is perfect, Clifton is a lovely part of Bristol and lovely pubs and restaurants in locality. The view of the bridge is the big attraction. Staff were very well trained and friendly, very welcoming.

Room Tip: room with a view of the bridge is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkMobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    348
    221
    75
    44
See reviews for
185
381
26
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We visited Avon Gorge fleetingly for one night during March 2013, on a trip from Birmingham to Cornwall as a bit of a halfway house. The hotel had been recommended by a work colleague, and upon arrival we were impressed with the decor and the staff were friendly and professional. Car parking was included which was another plus.

Our room was again well decorated, and we visited the bar which was priced as can be expected in hotels. We had a room on the 4th floor, and the view from the room was of a brick wall rather than the Gorge itself - you can pay more for a Gorge view, but I would expect a 'Clifton View' to be of Clifton rather than a wall.

The main problem we had during our stay was that we could really hear the rooms around us, including TVs and doors slamming all night, along with creaky floorboards in the corridor. There were a group of businessmen stopping at the same time who I can only assume had been drinking all night. This culminated in someone rattling the handle on our door and trying to get into our room at 5.30am. I didn't get up quickly enough to see who this was but I wasn't impressed and couldn't get back to sleep. This was meant to be a relaxing night and turned out anything but. I would add the caveat that this is not necessarily the hotel's fault and more a problem with the clientele during our stay.

Breakfast in the morning was great with plenty of choice, although we had to ask for toast as it wasn't offered when we were seated.

Overall not a bad hotel by any stretch, but there are some issues around noise from other rooms on the 4th floor that may need to be addressed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I used to stay in the Avon Gorge quite often before my company agreed national corporate rates with one of the main brand city centre chains however the chain in question was fully booked last week so I took the opportunity to return to one of my old favourites.

It is ideally situated in the lovely Clifton village, with it's plentiful bars and restaurants, and, of course, the Clifton Gorge and bridge, the views of which from the hotel terrace are stunning.

I was very fortunate to receive an upgrade to the Queen Suite and, although it was a bit wasted on me as a single traveller, I would thoroughly recommend this suite for a weekend, or longer, stay. The room had everything you could hope for, flat screen tv with Freeview package, beautiful comforable king sized bed, a separate seating / lounge area and a lovely bathroom with walk in spa type bath and overhead drench shower, all nicely furnished, spotlessly clean and full of charm and character.

Some people may highlight the fact that some of the corridor carpets are a bit threadbare in places, there are also numerous alarming squeaks and creaks on various floor boards, steps and doors and the single lift is probably as old as the hotel but, to me, it just makes the hotel and adds to the character and history of the place, the sort of character you only get in places like the Avon Gorge Hotel.

I couldn't fault the stay, food was good, service was good, accomodation was excellent and I only wish I could have stayed longer to get full benefit of a long overdue return to one of my favourite hotels. I will definitely return during the summer for a longer leisure stay and, hopefully, the Queen Suite will be available when I do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leedsls27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saffron walden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed for one night having booked at the last minute. Great value, simple twin room, plenty of space, bathroom a little tired looking but very clean. Helpful, friendly staff. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant after drinks in the bar area first. Served by a delightful man, who couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saffron1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in a family room which was a good size and fitted three beds easily. Bathroom spacious, too. The room was newly decorated (the hotel is being refurbished for those who wrote of tired decor) and had a great view of the Suspension Bridge & Gorge. I love the terrace, but it was a bit too rainy to enjoy this time! Service was very friendly and helpful with planning days out. The room rate also includes a family ticket to the Zoo or @Bristol science centre, so excellent value all in all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
178 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night to get away from building works at home (which is just round the corner).

We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast deal which was very good value, plus an upgrade for a gorge-view room with balcony. The food at dinner was very good, although it would have been useful to know in advance that the kitchen closed at 9pm, when we'd booked a table at 8.30pm. The dining room has large windows overlooking the gorge and suspension bridge, but is low on atmosphere, being quite contemporary in furnishings and not especially full on our Saturday evening visit. The residents' bar is similarly soul-less, but we didn't want to go into the White Lion (public) bar as it can get noisy (although has a terrace with great views over the gorge for sunny days).

Our room was a good size, the bed comfortable. The large wooden balcony would be great on a sunny day (but we only nipped outside once as it was one of the coldest weekends in 2013). The doors were very difficult to open, with secondary glazing and external original doors both having ill-fitting handles and mechanisms. The bathroom was a good size, but the decor was very tired, with stained tiles/floor.

Breakfast service was poor, with one over-worked waiter trying to clear tables and take peoples' orders for hot food, while a very slow waitress cleared tables one item at a time, and a manager who was trying to be cheerful filling in the gaps. It was very busy, with a lot of families with small children (it was half-term) and clearly not enough staff, although they were doing their best. There is not much available on the buffet - some yoghurt pots, one or two bowls of fruit, some charcuterie and some pastries/muffins. It took two requests to get coffee, and when the hot breakfasts were delivered, my partners' veggie one wasn't, and my poached eggs on toast didn't taste of anything. Breakfast was the most disappointing part of our stay.

The hotel has a great location, the shops, bars and restaurants of Clifton village are within 5-10 minutes' walk, buses into other parts of Bristol and to/from Temple Meads station 10 mins away. It is an old hotel, and some parts of it are tired and need refurbishing. When it isn't busy, the common areas are a bit soul-less, and the service at breakfast could be much better both in terms of food and waiting. That said, if they did a similar low-price deal, and we had builders in, we'd probably stay again.

Room Tip: Village view rooms overlook what can be a busy road and may experience noise from local bars. Gorge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesly_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel to see a gig nearby. We were moving on but would have liked to have tried another night there. The hotel is a grand old building, a bit worn in places, but clean. We had booked a room with a view, the hotel overlooks the Clifton Bridge. We were not disappointed with the room. It was large, had a balcony and overlooked a garden. The receptionists were friendly and helpful. We had booked room only but were offered breakfast at £6.50 each the next morning so took the offer. Breakfast was self service. It was very busy and staff were struggling to keep up, some guests had to wait for a table. The food was good and we enjoyed it.
Parking needs a permit from reception and is on the road or side road.
On settling up we found a bar bill added to our bill. When querried it was taken off without any fuss.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomis_eroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 37 in Bristol
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
410 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,465 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Gorge Hotel

Property: Avon Gorge Hotel
Address: Sion Hill | Clifton Avon, Bristol BS8 4LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avon Gorge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settings rarely come like this: nestled in the heart of Clifton Village, Bristol the Avon Gorge Hotel offers a unique location for any trip to Bristol or tour of the West Country.This historic hotel offers unparalleled views of Brunels Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges. Boasting fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance. The views don't stop here, from the popular Bridge Cafe and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all weather terrace area, enjoy the spectacular panorama of Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the countrys finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, its just on your door step. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avon Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Gorge Bristol
Hotel Avon Gorge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing