We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cold bedroom”
Review of Avon Gorge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avon Gorge Hotel
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very cold bedroom”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

While the views are great it is very cold inside the bedrooms, I have stayed in more than one and I have yet to find a warm one. The rooms I stayed in are tired, in need of a re decoration.
I have given up on the resturant in the evenings as the waiting staff have proved rude. Luckily there are some wonderful places to eat just a few minutes away.
Breakfast is always good.

Room Tip: Aviod the room with a double aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    356
    228
    80
    49
See reviews for
192
391
26
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stay at this hotel quite a lot for business purposes and really can't fault it in terms of comfort of the rooms and the friendliness of the staff. they put out a decent spread for breakfasts and the food in the cafe is also quite good if you don't feel up to venturing out to explore Clifton's many wonderful restaurants. in summer its worth it just to be able to sit out on the terrace and admire the view. I also tend to find that if you have a problem they tend to be addressed quickly and professionally (although this could have something to do with how often my colleagues and I stay at the hotel).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncsboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was worried about staying here after reading some of the reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised. We were upgraded into newly refurbished room which was very nice. It had an opening window which was a treat for me! The reception staff were really helpful even getting me fresh milk from the restaurant. The downside of the room was the bedside tables were so small that I had to put my phone and book on the floor. The shower looked good with a large shower head unfortunately it did not perform up to its size and was quite a disappointment. We at in the bar in the evening and would say the food was very good and not too expensive for a hotel. The outside terrace is just amazing and well worth a visit just for the view of the bridge. Breakfast was as expected with lots of coffee refills, not 5 star service but we did not pay 5 star prices and you could eat as much as you liked. I was a little disappointed with the lounge size which should have been larger for the size of the hotel. There is a car park which is free of charge so that was a bonus, it was first come first served though it is a little narrow! Would certainly go back again as we visit Bristol on a regular basis and at £80 a night is was good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and don't bother with a bridge view as you will get the view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creep029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed for business reasons in January for one night. Room was recently refurbished with a nicely furnished room and bathroom. Bed was comfortable but pillows and quilt were not of good quality and room was incredibly hot. TV had great range of channels. Great views of the bridge from my room. Could not get shower to work properly and access to liquid toiletries was a challenge to say the least!
Food was ok- ate in the restaurant in the evening but not all advertised dishes were available. Service was ok but not great.
Breakfast was buffet style but some dishes had been standing for too long and eggs were overcooked as a result. Breakfast service was poor. Not enough coffee and no refill offered.
Entrance foyer needs updating but front of house staff were pleasant.
Price was on the high side £95 per night.
Would stay again for the view.

Room Tip: Ask for a bridge facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21Mozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Receptionist told us that unless you ask for "nice" room, you get a bad room which is what we were given. Jaded and aged. Worn and smelly. Tired and unkempt. etc. Good breakfast and polite staff. Shame because it is in a nice area and could potentially be a very nice 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: high and re-furbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKvisitor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Sadly very disappointing room, refurbishment desperately needed,wall paper hanging off, tiles in the bathroom cracked and dirty ! the television was so old ! and a very eighties look.
we have stayed in better bed and breakfast.
we were looking forward to a lovely room and our hearts sank, not what you want on Valentines
Night !
A hotel I had always fancied A nights stay !

Room Tip: make sure you request a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanbeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have stayed twice at this hotel now in the past year, and I really like it. It's true that the decor and some of the maintenance is a little tired (although nowhere near as bad as some of the reviews here have it unless I have just been extra-fortunate with the rooms I have had) but it is great value for money unless flowery curtains and dated tiling patterns are a complete deal breaker for you. It's all clean and comfortable. Some other reviews suggest certain touches lacking, but I can confirm flat screen TV, good toiletries, bath mat, comfy bed and warm room have been supplied on both occasions. Very lovely, friendly staff everywhere, loads of space, nice bar area and good breakfasts. The view, location and atmosphere are great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curiouspurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 38 in Bristol
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 38 in Bristol
424 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#5 of 38 in Bristol
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,546 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#33 of 38 in Bristol
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Gorge Hotel

Property: Avon Gorge Hotel
Address: Sion Hill | Clifton Avon, Bristol BS8 4LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avon Gorge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settings rarely come like this: nestled in the heart of Clifton Village, Bristol the Avon Gorge Hotel offers a unique location for any trip to Bristol or tour of the West Country.This historic hotel offers unparalleled views of Brunels Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges. Boasting fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance. The views don't stop here, from the popular Bridge Cafe and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all weather terrace area, enjoy the spectacular panorama of Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the countrys finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, its just on your door step. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Avon Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Gorge Bristol
Hotel Avon Gorge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing