We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Double Tree by Hilton Hotel, Bristol” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Double Tree by Hilton Hotel, Bristol”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very well located hotel for nearby Temple Meads Train Station. Very well presented hotel with an atmospheric restaurant. However some details regarding the breakfast, ie quality and variety of food not quite up to the usual Hilton standard. Otherwise a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 4* review you have given the hotel.

It was pleasing to read that you felt the hotel was very well presented and that you particularly liked the atmospheric Kiln Restaurant. I was sorry to read that you felt the breakfast buffet was not to the usual Hilton standard. As you can see from other reviews, we usually score very highly on the quality and selection of breakfast items on the buffet and pride ourselves on the service we offer. It was disappointing that this was not the case for your stay and I do assure you that our Restaurant team have been made aware of your comments/feedback and any corrective action/training taken.

We do hope you will come and stay with us again soon, you can always find our best guaranteed rates and offers on our website and in addition you can earn points in our world renowned Hilton HHonors loyalty program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    620
    156
    57
    21
See reviews for
188
596
60
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This Hotel has been very nicely designed and furnished. Rooms aren't huge but with customised furniture and fittings it works well. Excellent range of lighting and freeview TV. Bathroom clean and efficient with Bah and shower. Room 528 is perfect for a quiet night. At the end of the corridor on the top floor by a fire exit so no passing guests or disturbances which judging by other reviews has been a problem here in the past. I've stayed at many DT's in the UK and the full range of Hilton group hotels worldwide but this scores highly. Fantastic breakfast and thoughtful staff plus excellent room service in the evening where they said 15 minutes and it was 15 minutes. Well done guys! Downside? Drinks are premium priced so bring your own from stores nearby!

Room Tip: 5th floor is top floor and 528 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 4* review and for taking the time to give us your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to read that you felt the hotel was 'very nicely designed' and that both the furniture and the fittings in the bedrooms worked well together.

I was delighted to read that you had a 'fantastic breakfast' in our Kiln Restaurant, the staff were 'thoughtful' and your room service was 'excellent'. I will ensure your review is displayed on the Trip Advisor board in our staff canteen for all team members to see.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol City Centre hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

A nice welcome, a clean comfortable room with a view of an amazing church, and easy walking distance to central Bristol. Good breakfast also. Being a Gold HHonors program really made a difference unlike many other hotels. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 5* review you have given the hotel in relation to your stay with us.

I was delighted that you had a 'good stay' at the hotel and that you found your room to be 'clean and comfortable' with a lovely view of St Mary Redcliffe Church.

I am also very pleased that you enjoyed the additional benefits the hotel offers our Gold HHonors members and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Good quality Hilton hotel out of the city centre near Temple Meads station. On the Airport Bus route and close to the 8 / 9 local bus service to all points of interest. Also lots of good restaurants within a ten minute walk.

We had a deluxe bedroom (with separate bath and shower) and it was comfortable enough – everything worked OK – though the bed was a bit hard for our liking – certainly not the heavenly bed available in other hotels.

Traffic noise was not too intrusive, though the hotel should have maintenance check the spring limiter devices on the room doors as other guests and the room maids seemed to constantly just let the doors slam shut behind them, which was really annoying.

We only used the restaurant for breakfast and it was well stocked with tasty food and with friendly efficient service.

All in all as Hilton members we found the hotel generally matched the Hilton standards though nothing was particularly outstanding. We would use it again on a future visit.

Room Tip: If you want a bath (as well as a shower) you need to book a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmcc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 4* review you have given the hotel in relation to your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel to be 'good quality' and you found the breakfast buffet to be 'well stocked' with 'tasty food' and 'friendly efficient service'.

I will ensure your feedback regarding the noise disturbances is passed onto the relevant departments and any correct actions/training is put into place immediately. I am very sorry for any inconvenience this caused you. I was however pleased to read that you would stay with us again on future visits to Bristol and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

weekend visit with friends. clean and comfortable. we were on the 2nd floor (Hilton honours) not sure why as we aren't members but it was very nice. we did not eat in the hotel so can't comment in the food. however it was a great place to stay and a great location.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank leeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 5* review you have given the hotel in relation to your recent weekend stay with us. I was pleased to read that the felt the hotel was a 'great place' to stay, it was 'clean' and 'comfortable' and that the location of the hotel was perfect for you.

We do hope you will come and visit us again soon, you can always find our best guaranteed rates and offers on our website and in addition you can earn points in our world renowned Hilton HHonors loyalty program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Comfotable hotel with efficient warm and friendly Staff - value for money. Excellent situation for short walk to city centre. Some traffic noise as near a busy road but not heard in rooms. good quality breakfast served in warm relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 4* review you have given the hotel. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be 'comfortable' with 'efficient', 'warm' and 'friendly; staff and that you enjoyed the 'good quality' breakfast served in our Kiln Restaurant.

We hope you will come and stay with us again soon, you can always find our best guaranteed rates and offers on our website and in addition as you said you can earn points in our world renowned Hilton HHonors loyalty program. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed there for an anniversary break and couldn't have chosen a better location. We parked the car and didn't use it again for two days. The only slight drawback was the map that the hotel website showed us the direction to the back of the hotel and no-where was the hotel signed. We were actually at the back of the car park, by the barrier and wondered if this was the entrance. In the end we decided to go to Temple Meads station and get directions from there, which, of course, was very easy!

The hotel was busy with people checking in but we were warmly welcomed, together with a delicious, warm cookie and had a lovely room on the 5th floor. It was spacious, had a working/dressing table area, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom, with bath and a powerful shower. Not forgetting the animal made out of the towel on the bed!

Breakfast was delicious - no meats or cheeses on view but I gathered after we left that if we had asked for this, we would have got it. No problem though as there was a lot of other superb food out which left us feeling very full!

The bar area was fairly full (guests watching the world cup) but the bar staff were very friendly and helped to advise us on which type of drinks we should choose.

The location as said above was very good. Very easy to get, on foot, to the Harbourside area, the local river edge where all the narrow boats are and in the other direction, Cabot Circus. Each place took about 20 mins to walk to.

Will definitely stay here again. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 5* review you have given the hotel.

I was delighted that you choose our hotel to celebrate your anniversary and that you felt 'welcomed' when you arrived at the hotel with the warm chocolate chip cookie. The cookie is a signature of the DoubleTree by Hilton brand and all guests receive a warm cookie when they check into a DoubleTree by Hilton branded hotel.

It was also very pleasing to read that you felt your bedroom was 'spacious', your breakfast was 'delicious' and that the bar staff were 'very friendly' and helpful. I agree with you that the hotel is well situated in Bristol as it is very easy to get to the Harbour side, Cabot Circus & the City Centre by foot. We do hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Address: Redcliffe Way, Bristol BS1 6NJ, England (Formerly Ramada Bristol City)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bristol
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Business Hotel in Bristol
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#8 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 4 star quality and service in a relaxing and professional environment at the refurbished DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre. Our modern 206 bedroom hotel is situated in the heart of Bristol and is only a 5 minute walk away from Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and close to the M32/M4/M5. Our car park can accommodate up to 150 vehicles and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bristol City Hotel Bristol
Bristol Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing