We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights beginning of Feb. Enjoyed everything at this hotel except for the food.

Nice spacious room, big flat screen TV and nice bathroom (except for the shower which flooded). Nice gym and plenty of car parking.
The hotel is very central and the walk into Bristol is only about 5 minutes.

The food, however, was very disappointing. The cost of each main meal is about £13.50, and for that you get an small portioned, unfilling and microwaved meal.

Also recieved an unwelcome comment from reception when enquiring about my booking telling me there was 'no way you have ordered breakfast as people pay £135 to stay here and you have only paid £68'.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki_p2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your 4* review you have given the hotel in relation to your recent 4 nights stay with us.

I was sorry to read that you felt the food was disappointing. We regularly receive positive feedback regarding the food quality & quantity, I am very sorry that you did not feel the same. I will ensure that your comments and feedback regarding your stay with us are passed onto the relevant departments.

We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Bristol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,459 - 1,465 of 1,803 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel is great for the business fraternity and close to the mainline railway station and the city center. The beds are great but I found the room quite dark with no ceiling lighting. The breakfast was very ample with good service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agachi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your recent 4* review.

I am pleased you felt that the hotel was good for your needs, you enjoyed the breakfast choice and that the location of the hotel was good as it is very close to Temple Meads Train Station and only a short walk from Bristol City Centre and Bristol Harbourside.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding the bedroom lighting, I will ensure this is passed onto the relevant department.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Bristol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Warm cookie on check-in was a great start to an ideal night away. Check in was smooth and room served our needs perfectly. Breakfast next morning was great - so much choice and it was all fresh. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank emma_k_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your 5* review you recently gave the hotel regarding your stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you felt the 'warm chocolate chip cookie' you were given at check in was a 'great start' for your night away. All our guests on arrival at the hotel are given a warm cookie which represents the 'DoubleTree by Hilton' brand. These have proven to be a great success and are very popular with all our guests.

I was also very pleased to read that your check in was smooth, the room standards perfectly met your needs and you enjoyed the good choice of freshly cooked items at breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Nice clean hotel. Plenty of parking, close to railway station.
Stayed for Business....allocated a twin room when I had booked a double. However, it was changed without much ado.
Didnt have any issues with the staff or breakfast !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your recent 4* review.

My team will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location (very close to Temple Meads Train Station) was convenient for you. I will ensure your comments are put on our Trip Advisor board in the staff canteen.

I was also very pleased to read that you would recommend our hotel to others and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

A regular at this hotel. Caters very much for business travellers. Comfortable modern rooms and lovely walk in showers. Staff very helpful and cusomer focused. However, restaurant staff, at breakfast, are not organised and forget orders. Asked for coffee 3 times! They need some refresher training. But don't let this put you off. Bristol taxis - be warned - always a bad experience when using them in this city. Many have no idea where a location is, speak on their mobile phones,take you the long way round , after difficulty with language and understanding- one even tried to charge me extra for having a suit case. Licensed pirates - beware.

Room Tip: See if you can get a deal by ringing hotel direct
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your recent 4* review.

I was delighted to read that you regularly stay with us and that you find the rooms to be 'comfortable and modern' and that you particularly like the 'walk in rainfall showers' in the bathrooms.

I was very sorry to read that we did not get it right first time with your coffee order, I will ensure your feedback is passed on ensuring this does not happen again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel was suggested to us as being a suitable hotel for a leisure break and having spa facilities. Big mistake! The hotel is totally devoid of any adequate leisure facilities. This is a business hotel and focuses on the corporate client. The food for breakfast was just about warm though the range of items was good and the waiting staff very polite. The evening meals were over described and generally only adequate though again the staff were attentive. Find one of the many good restaurants in the city, they will certainly be cheaper. Oh and if you are arriving by car don't forget the additional daily charge for parking. This is a hotel for the business meeting crowd.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your recent review regarding your leisure stay with us. We normally receive very positive feedback from both leisure and business guests with regards to the hotel and the facilities on offer, I am very sorry that you did not feel the same. I was however very pleased to hear that the staff were attentive to your needs and were 'very polite' during your stay with us.

I can confirm that we do regularly monitor our car parking charges ensuring that we remain one of the cheapest hotels in Bristol for overnight guest parking.

If you do decide to stay with us again, we would very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stay at the Doubletree on average twice a week whilst on business in Bristol and have done so for over nine months. The hotel as ample parking and is within 5 mins walk of Temple Mead train station.
The hotel has a plush reception area and a prompt check-in, the professional and tentative staff are well turned out, helpful and are a credit to the Hilton brand. Rooms are large and well decorated.
Having stayed at most of the Bristol hotels in this range/location, the Doubletree is by far the best.

Room Tip: Certain rooms have stronger Wifi than others. Although I've never had an issue in any of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your recent 5* review and I am delighted to read that you are enjoying your regular stays with us whilst you are in Bristol on business.

I am very pleased to read you liked the hotels 'plush reception area' and that you feel the staff are 'professional', 'well turned out' and a 'credit to the Hilton brand'. I will ensure your comments are put on our Trip Advisor comment board in our staff canteen, so all the team can see them.

We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Address: Redcliffe Way, Bristol BS1 6NJ, England (Formerly Ramada Bristol City)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bristol
#5 Business Hotel in Bristol
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#6 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $81 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 4 star quality and service in a relaxing and professional environment at the refurbished DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre. Our modern 206 bedroom hotel is situated in the heart of Bristol and is only a 5 minute walk away from Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and close to the M32/M4/M5. Our car park can accommodate up to 150 vehicles and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bristol City Hotel Bristol
Bristol Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing