We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice bedrooms but shame about the breakfast...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
787 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
“Very nice bedrooms but shame about the breakfast...”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel is only five minutes walk from Bristol Temple Meads Station and about a 15 minute walk from the City Centre. So it is well placed. It has a slightly antiseptic feel, almost like a modern hospital, in the reception area - lots of marble and gleaming chrome. Reception was efficient, although not overly friendly. Some people were being given cookies on arrival (I am not sure why I was not…)

The hotel does not have a pool, but it does have a gym which, I am afraid to say I neglected to use (perhaps that is why they did not offer me a cookie!) One excellent feature of reception is the free use of two computer terminals that are attached to a printer. There were also complimentary copies of The I newspaper.

The bedroom was lovely. The hotel was completely refurbished two years ago and to a good standard. The bed was super comfortable. The room was well lit, with a good work station. The wardrobe had an iron and ironing board. The room had its own safe. There was a large, flat screen TV with a wide range of Freeview channels. It would have been nice for the room to have an easy chair. There was an odd window seat, which was comfortable, but not for lounging.

The shower room was lovely, with a large rain shower head. The towels and toiletries were both good quality. There was even the luxury of a heated mirror so you could shower and then shave without having to wait till the steam disappeared.

My only real disappointment about this hotel was the breakfast. It has a good range of items in the buffet and the quality of the food was good, also. But the plates are not warm. There were no "lamps" over the dishes and, as a consequence, my breakfast was quite cold by the time I got back to my table. The coffee was also quite weak.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent 4* review. I am pleased you liked the newly refurbished interior of our hotel which I can confirm was completed last year. I am very sorry you were not offered a warm chocolate chip cookie on arrival, this is a signature of DoubleTree by Hilton and all our guests should receive one on arrival at the hotel.

It was great to read all your positive comments regarding your stay with us and in particular that you felt your bedroom was ‘lovely’ and that you liked the ‘shower room with the large rain shower head’. I was also pleased you felt the range and quality of breakfast items was good, however disappointed that you felt the temperature of the items/plates were too cold.

Please be assured we have taken your feedback on board and have cascaded it onto the relevant departments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel with a ‘warm chocolate chip cookie’.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    639
    160
    59
    22
See reviews for
192
620
64
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here for one night between Christmas and New Year. For some reason check-in took a long time, but we weren't in a hurry so it didn't matter too much. Unfortunately the first room which we were given was next to a room where the couple were clearly having a very good time, so much so that not only could we hear what they were doing, but the headboard of our bed was shaking as well! We didn't fancy being subjected to a repeat performance later so we went down to reception and asked to be moved to another room. However when we went up to our new room, we found that there was already someone in it. We walked in on a man on his way to the shower which was embarrassing all round. I can honestly say that I have never had this happen before at any other hotel that I stayed at! A lesson there to always put the bolt on your door! Reception were very apologetic, but I have to say that's quite disconcerting to think that there could be a 'mix up' and two different guests can be booked into the same room. Our third room was fine, although the air con unit was really loud, although I think we were quite grumpy by this point and finding faults. Anyway, certainly a stay we won't forget in a hurry!

Room Tip: Make sure you get one without someone else in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny88sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay with us over Christmas and New Year.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us, I can confirm that the miscommunication has now been fully rectified ensuring this does not ever happen again. Again I am sorry for any inconvenience you were caused by this and we hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed for one night.

Room had clearly been modernised and was nice enough but the heating/cooling did not work and it was so cold I had to put my coat on in bed.

Shower screen had mould on it and the temperature to the shower didn't really adjust.

I would not stay here again, there are far nicer hotels in Bristol at similar price brackets.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardRD1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, I was pleased you felt the room was 'nice' and 'modern'. I was however very disappointed to read the air conditioning unit was not working effectively in your room and am very sorry for any inconvenience this caused for you.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as we had a night out planned in Bristol. We wanted a hotel that was in the center of the city but also a good rate as well as being a nice hotel and the DoubleTree bu Hilton was all of those things. When ever we stay away we use Hilton and this hotel did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the hotel staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were of an excellent standard, well looked after and with top quality fixtures and fittings. This was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
3 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to give us such positive feedback regarding your stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you had a ‘wonderful stay’ and that you felt the rooms were of an ‘excellent standard’ with ‘top quality fixtures and fittings’. I will ensure your comments about your stay with us are placed on our Trip Advisor board in our staff canteen, so that everyone can see them.

Please do come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I booked this hotel for my wife and I over New Years Eve. We went for a delux suite however it was very disappointing. It was far from the modern room described, especially the bathroom. It also had a very must old smell. On the plus side the service was over all very good as was the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Aqual K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. I was sorry to read you were disappointed by the deluxe room you were allocated for your stay with us on News Year’s Eve, I do hope this did not impede your New Year celebrations.

I was however very pleased to read you felt the service overall was 'very good' and you enjoyed your buffet breakfast in our Kiln Restaurant.

We hope you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just one night stay in a standard double room for £99 which was good value for New Years Eve in the center of a city. Everything you expect from a Hilton, comfortable, clean, modern reasonable sized room with tasteful decor. No breakfast but within easy reach of Cabot Circus or Harbourside so spoilt for choice with regards to places to eat. Will stay again especially with one of their many promotions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us on New Year’s Eve and I very pleased that you liked the ‘tasteful decor’ of the hotel. We are delighted with the £5m we have spent refurbishing all areas of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Booked on spec, primarily for reasonably priced city centre parking. Really suprised by the grandeur of the place and delighted that parking allowed us to come and go on same ticket. offered room with bath and shower, or just shower. Remarkably quiet and great staff. Room was quite small but for a one nighter perfectly adequate. Gorgeous bacon and sausages at breakfast, though they need a new black pudding supplier! Will definitely use again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the review you have recently given the hotel.

All your comments and feedback are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and with the DoubleTree by Hilton brand.

I was delighted to read you felt the sausages and bacon were ‘gorgeous’ at breakfast and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Address: Redcliffe Way, Bristol BS1 6NJ, England (Formerly Ramada Bristol City)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bristol
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Business Hotel in Bristol
#8 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 4 star quality and service in a relaxing and professional environment at the refurbished DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre. Our modern 206 bedroom hotel is situated in the heart of Bristol and is only a 5 minute walk away from Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and close to the M32/M4/M5. Our car park can accommodate up to 150 vehicles and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bristol City Hotel Bristol
Bristol Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing