We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Was visiting Bristol with friends to watch a show. The location was good, and the room was extremely good value. There was no mirror in the bedroom, which was a bit interesting with three girls sharing, however the hotel assured me that they were in the process of remedying this problem. Also did not feel that customers should have to pay £7.50 to park their car.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
93John, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that the location of our hotel suited you and your friends. We are just a very short walk from Temple Meads train station and only a 10 minute walk into the centre of Bristol, Cabot Circus and Bristol Harbour side.

Please be assured that we do regularly monitor our car parking charges ensuring that we remain one of the cheapest hotels in Bristol for guest parking.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    620
    156
    57
    21
See reviews for
188
596
60
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

i have had great stay in the hotel, it is a lovely hotel. the food is brill. it isnt a normal hotel i would choose as i would feel its too posh for me but i was here with work.

the only bad feedback i have is the unhelpfulness of one of the reception team, i was told by my company that i was able to charge to my room. but was told by reception staff this wasnt added to my room. the lady was unwilling to check to see if this was an option. there for i had to hand over my card for what i can only say was an overpriced meal.

but all in all i would recommend the hotel...but just advise people to make sure the receptionist do everything in there power to check all options before admitting defeat and handing over your own debit card

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rag23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
93John, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your recent review. It was very pleasing to read that you felt our hotel was 'lovely' and that the food was 'brill'. I am very sorry for any inconvenience that was caused to you due to an administration error with your booking. I am aware that this has now been rectified for you.

We hope you will come and stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 6pm on Friday evening and checked in fine. The welcome cookie was a lovely touch and the reception staff swiped our credit card so drinks etc could be added to the room.

The room was nice with a very comfy bed but very soft pillows ... I needed 3 to get comfy, there was only 2 each on the bed, with no spares. The bathroom was lovely, albeit no shower mat for inside the cubicle.... Which although looked lovely when in use got quite a slippy floor.

The following day we headed out to Bath Christmas market. The train station is approx 10 min walk from hotel.

That evening we returned to the hotel and decided to book breakfast for the morning. In asking the reception desk to put us down for breakfast I was asked to make payment. I confirmed that we had given a card over for using and asked for it to be taken from that. I was informed no card had been given. I argued that it had and the gentlemen went off to look for it .... Eventually he confirmed the system hadn't been updated and apologised.

We decided to have a nightcap before bed.... The bar tender looked less then happy to be there, however we all have 'off days'.... We ordered a glass of port to be told they had none.... It is nearly Christmas and this surprised me somewhat... So I asked for an Ameretto and ice.... They had none of that either... Nor any prosecco... It was frustrating as there was nothing really I wanted to drink and so we ended with my partner having a glass of red wine and brandy and I had a kahulla. These were charged to the room perfectly fine.

A lovely night sleep was had (more pillows brought to the room). We went to breakfast and were seated. The choice of food was fabulous, the waiting staff very attentive. The only criticism was that staff topping up the hot food were rather curt and a little rude! The hot food is on an island which has access all the way around. Being veggie it seemed most of the items I wanted were at the back and to ensure I didn't burn myself, I went the closest side.... Only to be told by the staff that this was 'there side' and that I shouldn't be there. I apologised and explained I didn't want to burn myself, to be pulled a face at and told to go to the other side! Not what you expect.

Check out was busy but the staff helpful. Overall a bit disappointed but I may just have caught people on their 'off' days .

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased to read you felt the welcome cookie was a 'lovely touch'. The ‘cookie’ is a signature of the DoubleTree brand and is incredibly popular with all our guests.

I was delighted to read you liked your bedroom and bathroom and additional pillows were brought to your bedroom for your comfort as requested. We do provide bathmats on guest’s requests, when you stay with us again please just ask for one at reception and this can be provided in your room for you.

I am sorry you were not able to enjoy your choice of drinks at the bar, I have already passed on your comments onto the Bars Manager whom will take on board your feedback and ensure we are able to cater for all our guests requests at all times. I apologies that we were unable to do this for you on this occasion.

We hope that should you be visiting Bristol again you'll come back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire1
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Lets face it the building is hideous from the outside. i'm sure it would have been cheaper to knock it down and start again. They have tried hard to mask its origins but the fabric of the building is always going to be old. The lifts are very slow and cramped and the walls paper thin. we could hear too much of our neighbours. I wont say what....

Reception is not where you expect- up a flight of stairs

The rooms themselves were fine (if a bit small for a king room) and the air-con wasn't up to much. Far too hot even in December (but they did open a window for us)

Staff were good and helpful and our evening meal was OK

We may try the Hilton Garden - next time

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshire159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest.

I was sorry to read your comments about disliking the exterior of our hotel. We have recently spent £5m refurbishing the whole hotel. This included a significant amount spent on our front entrance and outside landscaping. The feedback we have received so far from our guests has been very positive and I am very sorry you did not feel the same.

I will pass your comments regarding the bedroom air-conditioning units to our Maintenenance team, so they can ensure we are providing the correct temperature in the bedrooms meeting all of our guests needs.

I was pleased to read that you felt the 'staff were good and helpful'. If you do decide to stay with us again we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed 4 nights on business. Very pleasant. Hotel recently refurbished and room was very comfortable, being a reasonable size. Reception / dining area also good.

Service was very friendly & helpful throughout the stay. Breakfast is good.

I was particularly impressed with the willing & proactive service provided by a smiling chef called Becky at breakfast who was always willing to offer specially cooked items to customers individual tastes. Very much appreciated. Thank you.

Liked the gym which is very reasonable size and the free WiFi is an advantage plus good on-site parking at very reasonable rate for city centre.

Very happy to recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Cliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 5* review you recently gave us after your 4 nights stay at our hotel on business. Great to read you had a 'very pleasant' stay with us.

I am pleased you liked the new decor of the hotel, we are delighted with the £5m we have spent refurbishing all areas of the hotel.

I was delighted to read your kind words regarding our 'smiling breakfast chef - Becky', I will ensure your review is shown to her and also displayed on the staff notice board.

I am very pleased that you would be 'very happy to recommend our hotel to others' and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

The room and services were excellent. We didn't make use of the swimming pool or fitness center but the room was lovely and the breakfast was amazing. The hotel is close to the center of town - 5 mins walk from the hippodrome and the train station. However it was quiet and relaxing. It was a very romantic and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted that you had a 'lovely, 'romantic and enjoyable stay' with us.

Unfortunately we no longer have a swimming pool in the hotel however we do have a newly refurbished fitness centre which is open 24 hours a day for all our guests to use.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on the 18th November for 2 nights with my mother. We came to Bristol as we had tickets for deal or no deal and wanted to come to Bristol shopping. We picked this hotel due to the proximity of the Temple Meads train station and walking distance to the harbourside and Cabot Circus shopping area.
There is no need for a taxi to the hotel as is so close(depending on weather), easy to find and takes less than 5 minutes on foot. There is a car park but glad I didn't drive due to traffic, one way roads, etc. Cabot Circus is approx 15 mins walk away.
We arrived at the hotel mid afternoon and was greeted by a lovely gentleman. We had our warm cookies, and was checked in quickly and efficiently.
Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the church. The room decor, cleanliness and facilties were just amazing. You definitely pay for what you get! We had a twin room, very comfy beds. There was a tv, iron and ironing board and all the mod cons. The bathroom was very clean.
The staff at this hotel were all brilliant. The gentleman( who I forget his name) at the front desk was very effiecient and seemed to know his job very well. He was so helpful in giving us in depth detail about directions and booking taxis for us.
The bar is very cosy and has a good range of food and drink.
We did eat in the restaurant one night. There is not a huge range of choice, but for a hotel this was good enough for us. The food was very tasty and we did not have to wait long.
Breakfast is great. Lots of choice, all good quality.
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, especially couples and business trips.
Thank you for an enjoyable stay!!

Room Tip: Room 417 is a twin room and has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahHollandWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to give us such positive feedback regarding your stay with us last week.

I was delighted to read that you would ‘recommend’ our hotel to anyone and that you and your mother had an ‘enjoyable stay’ with us. It is always great to read that our guests feel our staff are ‘brilliant and that our front desk staff were very ‘efficient and knowledgably’.

I agree with you that our hotel is ‘conveniently positioned’ in Bristol, just a short walk from Temple Meads Train Station and that the City Centre (including Cabot Circus Shopping Centre and Bristol Harbourside) is only a short walk away. I was also delighted to read that you liked your room with the view of St Mary Redcliffe Church.

I have ensured that your comments about your stay with us are placed on our Trip Advisor board in our staff canteen, so that everyone can see them.

Please do come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Address: Redcliffe Way, Bristol BS1 6NJ, England (Formerly Ramada Bristol City)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bristol
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Business Hotel in Bristol
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#8 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 4 star quality and service in a relaxing and professional environment at the refurbished DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre. Our modern 206 bedroom hotel is situated in the heart of Bristol and is only a 5 minute walk away from Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and close to the M32/M4/M5. Our car park can accommodate up to 150 vehicles and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bristol City Hotel Bristol
Bristol Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing