We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DoubleTree at Hilton Bristol”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DoubleTree at Hilton Bristol”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Excellent reception staff, the best welcome I have experienced in a longtime. Parking right by the hotel at a reasonable cost. We had a very pleasant room with all amenities. Beakfast was very good and fresh orange juice served at teh table was a real bonus!The hotel is very central to Bristol within easy walking distance of all its amenities. We certainly can recommend it to others

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank xias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for letting us know about your fantastic welcome.

We really appreciate your review and thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    656
    168
    61
    25
See reviews for
199
632
69
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Since aquistion from Ramada, the hotel has been refurbished to a high standard. The bedrooms are very comfortable and modern with a big flat screen TV. We didn't use the restaurant, but a companion who ordered room service said her meal was poor quality and poor value. Breakfast looked over-priced so we ate out. Parking in hotel's own car park (you have to pay for). The location is conveneient for Temple Meads Station and harbour, but not particularly close to other city centre attractions, shops, etc.I would stay here again at the right price (not at business rate).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review and was pleased to hear that you found our bedrooms to be of a high standard.

I am pleased to read that you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here recently because I couldn't get a hotel room in Bath at the weekend without paying silly money, whereas this was reasonably priced in comparison and within easy walking distance of Templemeads, so we could catch the train to Bath. Parking at the hotel was convenient, fairly secure and not too expensive. We had a feeling of deja vu as we walked in and it finally dawned on us that we had stayed here before several years ago when it was the Ramada - just shows how much has been spent on the refurb that it took us so long to realise.
The staff were excellent, the warm Doubletree cookies were well up to standard and the breakfasts in the intriguingly shaped Kiln restaurant were good and plentiful (although those are without a doubt the worst sausages I have ever had at a Hilton). It was actually the room that fell short of our expectations, with the exception of the twin beds which were excellent, very comfortable, there were some little niggles with the standard of the finish - a loose handle on the door of the cupboard holding the drinks tray, the toilet roll holder in the bathroom pulling out of its marble surround, none of these is good if the refurb was only a few months ago, and the shower stall was too narrow to use comfortably without banging your elbows - and one major niggle - room service didn't touch our room at all during our stay! We were out all day on the Saturday and when we returned after dinner out in the evening the room was still as we'd left it in the morning, unmade beds and not even a top up of the coffee tray. Lucky we aren't too messy so we made the best of it, but we do expect better standards than this from a Hilton brand. If we'd been staying any longer than two nights this would have been a real issue.
Overall a good stay and I'd certainly consider it again if I want to stay in the Bristol/Bath area. But equally, there are other hotels out there.

Room Tip: The bells of St Mary Redcliffe are charming but quite loud if your room overlooks the main carpark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megtheminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Sorry we were second choice to Bath! But you are right, our proximity to Temple Meads train station does make it an easy journey to that other city.

I am glad you nearly didn't recognise the hotel from your previous visit. We are really delighted with the £5m we have spent refurbishing the hotel.

I apologise that there were some issues in your bedroom and I have spoken to our teams to ensure that our standards stay at a consistently high level.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Beds
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

On arrival the hotel looks very modern and clean. However, it was a bit downhill from there unfortunately.

To start other than to ask my wife's name the receptionist managed to complete the whole booking in procedure without looking at us or saying a word. When completed she handed a paper bag with two warm cookies and proceeded to deal with someone else. The cookie gesture was nice but unfortunately I would have proffered better customer service and some friendly interaction.

We then went to our room which to be fair was very well furnished. Modern contemporary design, clean and with a very large waterfall shower that was more than powerful. We then discovered that there were a few items missing from the tea/ coffee making facilities. Again easily rectified by speaking to the maids in the corridor but just another little thing that let the hotel down.

The real issue with our room is that the sound proofing between rooms is awful. Due to its proximity to the city centre the hotel seems very popular with stag and hen parties. The issue comes when firstly we could hear every person walking down the corridor. We then had an issue with being able to hear the in depth conversations of the people staying either side of us. They weren't being overly loud but by three am it started to be a little annoying. Therefore you should be aware of this if you decide to stay here at the weekend. Unfortunately it ruined our stay and meant both my wife and I got little sleep. Also we have stayed at similar places on numerous cases all over the country and have never had this problem before.

Again on check out the following morning we were met by the same disinterested staff on reception and again managed to hand our room card in with little more than a thank you.

As I said it seems to be a very nice hotel but is let down by not poor customer service but rather lack of any customer service and the extremely poor soundproofing in our room. And beware of staying on weekends if not on a hen and stag weekend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pingufisheater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest

I am sorry that your check in was not as it should have been. This is normally an area we score very highly in, but we have taken your comments on board and shared them with the team.

I can only apologise that your stay was disturbed by noise from other guests in the hotel. We do try and monitor this as best we can. Our CCTV throughout the hotel certainly helps and our night team our trained to deal with any issues, quickly and efficiently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I travel for work most of the year and this is the worst hotel i have stayed in globally. There has never been a stay where the room has not been dirty, noisy, smelly or something wrong with it. I have had the displeasure of staying here for a couple of months and each time you hope it will be better. The last star was tonight when they admitted that two of the rooms they gave me were unacceptable. The staff are on the whole pleasant but by no means go out of there where to help.
My team have also had a very similar experience, with two now deciding to stay in new hotels.

Given that i am a hilton diamond member you think i would stay but i am moving into another hotel this week. Do not be conned by the glossy pictures this place is terrible.

Room Tip: There is no good room here, i have been on every floor and both sides. The best was the room with u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentTraveller_TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest

As you know I have made personal contact with you.

Once again I am sorry that we weren't able to look after you as well as we would both have hoped.

We do however, continue to look after a large number of your colleagues each week and we will do all we can to develop the relationship between the two companies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. Arrived at lunchtime and although room was not ready, staff were very happy about taking my luggage. Hotel is centrally placed for the city centre and within easy reach of the station. The warm chocolate cookie on arrival is a nice touch, but only if you are not allergic to chocolate - I would rather have had biscuits in my room. My room was large and spotless as was the bathroom - shower only but this was not a problem. And lovely toiletries and an excellent hairdryer. The lighting in my room was a little dim with no overhead lights but this is typical of modern hotel decor. The staff were very efficient and courteous. My colleague and I had dinner in the hotel restaurant - the food was fine and the service very good.Coffee in the bar afterwards was also very good. Breakfast was also plentiful with good choice. Go for the fresh orange juice bought by the staff in a jug rather than the self service OJ - much nicer! Overall a very good stay and typical of my experience of Hilton Doubletree to date.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Our cookie is a signature of the DoubleTree brand and is incredibly popular. We do always offer anyone an alternative that has a nut or chocolate allergy.

Thank you for your positive comments on cleanliness of bedrooms and our friendly staff.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and also other DoubleTree by Hilton hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stay here regularly whilst in Bristol with work and have to say the service is always great. Staff are helpful and enthusiastic. I'd highly recommend staying here and the cookie on check in is also great

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartm291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your "perfect" review.

As a regular, we really appreciated you taking the time to let us know how we are doing and I have put your comments on our staff noticeboard.

Hope you continue to enjoy your stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Address: Redcliffe Way, Bristol BS1 6NJ, England (Formerly Ramada Bristol City)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bristol
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Business Hotel in Bristol
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#8 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 4 star quality and service in a relaxing and professional environment at the refurbished DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre. Our modern 206 bedroom hotel is situated in the heart of Bristol and is only a 5 minute walk away from Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and close to the M32/M4/M5. Our car park can accommodate up to 150 vehicles and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bristol City Hotel Bristol
Bristol Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing