We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, dark public rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good location, dark public rooms”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel is in a very good location, close to Temple meads railway station (the cities busiest) and close to the canals where lots of the city entertainment venues are, in fact it is approx. halfway between both. Pleasant reception, easy access to the rooms, but very dark bar/lounge area which is situated just off the main reception area. This may be inherited from the former
hotel occupants. Ramada I believe, so a revamp / refurbishment may be not too far around the corner. I usually stay at the Radisson in Bristol and whilst that is a more modern building overlooking the canals, this hotel was probably a better location for ease of getting to / from
main areas including the station, Cabot Circus for the shops and of course not far to the nightlife

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kind comments.

We do have a very good location in the centre of Bristol and I am glad that this was of a benefit to you for your stay with us.

We have taken recent comments on board concerning the lighting levels in the bar and we have changed these.

Do hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    658
    170
    62
    25
See reviews for
200
635
69
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
santa fe, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. We picked it because it was only a 5 minute walk from the train station and the bus stop for the airport right in front. Our room was clean and the staff was extremely helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Only stayed for one night but staff were friendly and welcoming. Liked the warm cookie on arrival at reception and the clean appearance of the Hotel. Room was quiet, comfortable and clean but no biscuits on the beverages tray. No pool but nice fitness centre. Disliked having to pay £5 to park in Hotel`s own and very large car park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My friends and I booked 3 rooms at this hotel on a Friday night. I was pleasantly surprised to find a high quality hotel at a budget price. There are plenty of parking spaces. The rooms were spacious, well presented and superbly equipped with kettle, iron and ironing board. The chocolate chip cookies received at reception were AMAZING!!! I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gina-Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHREWSBURY, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent accommodation, excellent quality of meals and staff were particularly welcoming and helpful. Reception could be be better signposted as it is not on the floor where you enter the hotel. Good location for the centre of Bristol.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here for three nights with my beautiful wife during May half term. The hotel is newly converted to the Hilton Doubletree Brand and has recently been extensively refurbished. The Executive room that we had was nicely appointed very clean, new, comfortable and there was a 40" class good quality LCD TV. I did however think the interior design of the room in places was a little dated. The mosaic wallpaper was very mod and stylish though. The bathroom was large and had a separate shower and bath, but really the design is a missed opportunity. The bath was only a small 1700 x 700 type, and the separate shower was small. With more thought and a better layout plan this bathroom could have easily incorporated a large double-end bath and larger shower, add under floor heating, his 'n hers basins and a towel radiator and this room would have been propelled into another class.

Breakfast was pretty good, served in the old glass kiln, helpful staff served freshly squeezed Orange juice which was tasty, but the coffee was not very nice. Everything was cooked beautifully and there was a good choice, nothing else really to criticise, but the lack of take-away coffee cups was surprising in a more upmarket Doubletree Hilton. Oh and on the coffee - guys you need to get a Nespresso machine!

All in all the Hotel is a nice place to stay, convenient for town, though not quite as well situated as the Hilton Garden Inn and lacks some of the more modern features of the Garden Inn. In summary the Hotel represents good value for money. but lacks some of the more modern features of other newly refurbished Hiltons such as iMac's in the bedroom. However the price we paid was very reasonable £64 during half term, so certainly deserves 5 stars at this price

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radio_Vampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed feedback from your recent stay.

Whilst the whole hotel is being refurbished, the only part of the project that hasn't yet been completed is the refurbishment of our 8 executive rooms and I am delighted to say that these start today. So your comments are completley justified and hopefully in two weeks, we will all notice the difference.

Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and I am sorry that the coffee wasn't as good as it should have been.

Thank you for your 5 stars and I do hope that you will visit us again.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This used to be the Ramada, adjacent to St Mary Redcliffe. It has been almost completely refurbished by Hilton, and re-opened only at the beginning of May 2013. One can only conclude that the designer of the refit was a chromophobe, i.e. someone afraid of using colour, because wherever you look everything is dark grey, with the occasional hint of brown. In the bedrooms there are grainy black-and-white photos above the beds and black shades on the reading lamps! Generally the standard is now better than when it was run by Ramada, but there are still teething problems, especially with the cleaning regime (maids not yet quite sure what they are doing). Also some areas still need to be refitted: the bar (dingy and depressing), the lifts (floor indicators not working) and the car park (barriers unpredictable). But the staff are friendly and helpful, and in time it may become a good hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure it has been cleaned before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colour-Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that the colour is not to your liking.

We have had a few comments concerning the lighting in the bar and we have taken these on board and have removed our lighting policy in the evenings. Before we used to dim the lights at 6pm. I hope this helps.

Lift indicators have been ordered and should be with us very shortly.

Pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Address: Redcliffe Way, Bristol BS1 6NJ, England (Formerly Ramada Bristol City)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bristol
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Business Hotel in Bristol
#8 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 4 star quality and service in a relaxing and professional environment at the refurbished DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre. Our modern 206 bedroom hotel is situated in the heart of Bristol and is only a 5 minute walk away from Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and close to the M32/M4/M5. Our car park can accommodate up to 150 vehicles and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bristol City Hotel Bristol
Bristol Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing