We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekends out with friend for comfortable and joyous time...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I visited it a year ago with friends, to see bristol city. what a day for us, we have to stay there with no options as bus service were not in work. decided to choose this one, but it comes to our memories when we enjoyed a lot with new year days there. 1st jan 13 though it was Tuesday. Helpful and friendly staffs and manager. It is having SPA but we have not used that one -seems to be very good. we have good enjoyable 1st night there with many facilities like wi-fi and good menu of foods. enjoyable, comfortable clean, with good quality in all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prem26bit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,412 - 1,418 of 2,253 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Checked in mid-evening, hotel was very busy. Staff welcoming and efficient, three others checking in but all dealt with v quickly.

Given a room upgrade on arrival, a nice touch wherever you stay. Large, quite comfortable room. Free wifi and parking in room rate, likewise breakfast.

Care clearly paid to room cleanliness, relatively new tv and other equipment.
Breakfast very good choice, good restaurant atmosphere.

I would recommend the hotel highly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I loved this hotel and was very pleasantly surprised My partner and I got a great deal for B & B for the two of us and our 13 month old daughter. When I first made the reservation on the phone the staff were very helpful - a good sign. My partner had business in the region so I dropped him off and headed to the hotel. I arrived early and the concierge was extremely helpful assisting me with luggage. The room was ready early and they let me check in. The room was a pleasant surprise. Quite large with a king sized bed. The travel cot also came with a nappy sanitiser and they supplied travel sized baby products which I found to be a lovely touch as I've stayed in hotels that cost a lot more and didn't receive these extras. Also great sized bathroom. The staff were exceptional, a credit to the hotel. Delicious breakfast the following morning. We will definitely be back. Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubitooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The impressive Royal Bristol Marriott is in an ideal location for going out and about in Bristol, just a stone's throw away from the new quayside bars and restaurants. Check in was great, with a complimentary glass of wine whilst still signing in - probably one of the most civilised check-in experiences of my life!

The rooms are clean and well sized. I was up on the top / fourth floor so "suffered" with a few sloping angles of the roof intruding, particularly in to the bathroom but it didn't detract from my stay. The bed, like all Marriotts I've stayed in, was amazingly comfortable. Plenty of hangers and space in the wardrobe and nice complimentary shortbread and flapjacks with the in-room tea tray.

It's worth noting that it looks like they've removed all of the mini-bars (given the huge void in the TV cabinet, so if you're hoping to keep your own drinks refrigerated, think again.

My only gripe was that other than an ottoman at the foot of the bed, there was no table and chairs in the room I had, other than the writing desk, which meant when I had room service I had little choice of where to sit and eat, with my back against the room and TV.

Made use of the Spa after a good 15 mile long walk on the Saturday, the changing rooms are a bit run down but it was nice to unwind in the steam room and sauna. I don't know if I went at the wrong time but there were quite a lot of children running around which I wouldn't usually have expected from a hotel on a Saturday evening.

There can be a bit of noise floating up from the varied Bristol night-life, although it's possible that was due to the strong winds during the stay, possibly making it louder than normal. It didn't detract from a good night's sleep though.

The staff were on the whole friendly and welcoming and helped make this a really enjoyable stay - I'll definitely be going back!

Top tip: they offer breakfast vouchers for the hotel restaurant when you check-in for £10, saving you roughly £8 off their standard price, making it good value and the food is nice too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a superb hotel, one of the best I've stayed in. Staff couldn't have been more friendly, attentive and professional - little touches helped like giving our son a free kiddie's pack on arrival and a voucher for room service milk and cookies. breakfast was brilliant, lots of choice and again great service and staff were really knowledgeable about the area. Pool and spa were immaculate and really well done, room was good size, well furnished, everything worked. It was a super hotel.

There are 2 reasons I didn't give it 5 stars: One was that they charged for wifi in the rooms - it's so archaic in this day and age, and smacks of Ryan Air money grabbing - really didn't suit the rest of the hotel and I hope they rethink this. Two, they charged £12.50 a day to stay in the huge underground car park. Again, I don't really expect to have to pay to park at a hotel as a resident.

The funny thing is, I wouldn't mind if they built both these things into the price, because it was pretty good value (£100 for good room and great breakfast for two).

But look, if you're going to Bristol, stay at this hotel, the two little irks should not put you off, it really is great and the staff are wonderful.

Room Tip: The rooms on the outside have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had a 2 night stay with dinner, bed and breakfast. Checkin took a while as reception was busy on the Friday. Room was large and pleasant. Dinner that night was good, very nice food and pleasant staff. Breakfast was ok but there were messages around to warn that breakfast would be busy after 9am so felt rushed to get there before 9. Went out at approx. 10am and arrived back about 4.15pm to find our room had not been touched! Never had this before anywhere else. Spoke to reception then a junior manager. His excuse was that they were busy! We had to vacate room while it was cleaned etc.Were left a half bottle of red wine and a plate of cut friut in our room, presumably by way of an apology. Dinner that night was good, but with exactly the same menu as the night before I had to have the same starter and dessert. Same messages about breakfast on Sunday being busy after 9am. Fast checkout of leaving key in box was very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beardyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night in October. Good car park under the hotel with easy access. Good start however this paid as an extra. Reception is efficient and welcoming although I really object to having my card debited on arrival with a £50 extra charge in case I bill anything to my room!! The "superior" room was OK not large but quite comfy and clean. The bedroom windows were filthy however. Bar prices are very high....even for a hotel! There was always a lift immediately available to take you to your floor. The corridors would probably benefit from new carpets in the near future.
Great location for central Bristol but my feeling are its probably £30 a night more than its worth.
Nice breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,781 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $91 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing