We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Great Staff”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

First impressions as you enter the hotel are fantastic. This is not a modern bland characterless hotel. It is a hotel with real character. Walk up to the reception desk and you receive a warm friendly greeting. This feature runs throughout the hotel. Never will a member of staff walk past you without greeting you with a warm, friendly smile.

Rooms are large and well appointed. They and the bathrooms are spotlessly clean.

Breakfast is buffet style, with great choice of items and extremely good quality. They even have a machine for fresh made pancakes,

I will without doubt be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    754
    247
    109
    57
See reviews for
383
801
68
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Probably the nicest family hotel room we have stayed in. My daughter was extremely impressed as were we. Service was excellent, staff friendly and helpful. Parking easy and swimming pool great. Stayed 2 nights- Fri & Sat.
Due to the great city centre location we were surprised that the windows do not appear to be double glazed, so despite the extremely comfortable bed the external noise from people out on the town made it impossible to sleep. (We had requested a quiet room!)
Breakfast was included in our room rate (otherwise £17.50) minor issues as the tea and coffee were both luke warm. The cooked breakfast was not great quality, tinned? mushrooms tasteless and watery, cheapy sausages/ bacon and cold eggs. Good selection of other breakfast options though! Such a shame as it didn't reflect the high standards of this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: City centre location makes it noisy, take your ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canjedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Royal Marriott has a reputation in Bristol as 'the' place to stay for a special occasion and it didn't let us down. As I walked proudly with my daughter to the waiting car we didn't feel out of place in our wedding outfits and the bridal suite was comfortable and luxurious. Thanks Marriott you helped make our day but I'm glad we didn't have the reception there. It would have been a little like having it in a busy railway station!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have been coming to the Swallow Royal (as we still call it) for many years now. Overall since the Marriott takeover we haven't noticed much change, except on this latest trip. The restaurant has been redecorated and we read other comments about the loss of old world charm but we held off judgement until our next stay. The decor is rather corporate now but the wonderful morning buffet has also changed. Gone are the excellent smoked salmon and the decadent black pudding but interestingly they are still available on request. The facilities and location remain its strengths.

Room Tip: Go for superior floor rooms and family rooms seem to be the only ones with twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel du vin fully booked so tried the Marriott. Room tatty and dark. The bath was ridiculous. It was half the depth and length of a normal bath and the shower over it no good if you are over 5'10". It was also dirty with stains and grime. Ordered two drinks for 6.15 and a taxi at 6.45. Taxi came at 6.15 and then drinks at 6.45! Receptions staff were pleasant but you can't help thinking that silly errors wouldn't happen if English was a first language. A guest is unlikely to order drinks for after their taxi has picked them up. Breakfast was pleasant and in a. nice room. Parking was easy. Wifi ridiculously priced at £6 an hour. In 2013 that is crazy. I haven't paid for wifi for a long time. We wouldn't return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grockledevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Devon, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at the Bristol Marriott @ College Green on a recent business trip. The staff were friendly and the welcome warm with a complimentary glass of Chenin Blanc. My room was on the first floor and was huge and the bed was really first class. It had all the things one could want for a business stay – powerful shower, good size TV, tea and coffee, ironing board, safe and very good size desk. The room was bright and warm, and the chair and footstool comfy. The breakfast had everything I needed, and again the staff very welcoming.

The stay could only have been bettered had the wifi been free. Groups like Marriott and Hilton really need to join their cheaper competitors and offer wifi free throughout – it does make them look a bit mean charging ludicrous fees. But, the Bristol team are not responsible for that!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsandyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Bowl of fruit and card were waiting in our room, very nice room overlooking the inner garden, Hotel was perfectly placed to enjoy Bristol, 2 mins walk to the river front and next door to the Cathedral, and this was not a problem as the hotel was very quiet. Also very close for theatres and shopping, we only ate breakfast in the hotel but could not fault that, they served everything you could wish for and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Swimming pool was of an acceptable size for a hotel and sauna and steam room you could use together (sometimes the sauna is in the changing rooms so you cannot go in with your partner) we loved Bristol and would not hesitate to go back to this hotel for another long weekend. It had everything to make a short city break very nice.
My only fault (if any) would be that the lighting in the room was not that good, the bedside lamps were too bright so no good for reading but the other lights were not bright enough, so if you like to read when you go to bed I suggest you take a small lamp, but other than that it was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardworker80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
1,149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Property: Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing