We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My daughter chose an excellent place for her wedding party to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Royal Marriott has a reputation in Bristol as 'the' place to stay for a special occasion and it didn't let us down. As I walked proudly with my daughter to the waiting car we didn't feel out of place in our wedding outfits and the bridal suite was comfortable and luxurious. Thanks Marriott you helped make our day but I'm glad we didn't have the reception there. It would have been a little like having it in a busy railway station!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,412 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have been coming to the Swallow Royal (as we still call it) for many years now. Overall since the Marriott takeover we haven't noticed much change, except on this latest trip. The restaurant has been redecorated and we read other comments about the loss of old world charm but we held off judgement until our next stay. The decor is rather corporate now but the wonderful morning buffet has also changed. Gone are the excellent smoked salmon and the decadent black pudding but interestingly they are still available on request. The facilities and location remain its strengths.

Room Tip: Go for superior floor rooms and family rooms seem to be the only ones with twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel du vin fully booked so tried the Marriott. Room tatty and dark. The bath was ridiculous. It was half the depth and length of a normal bath and the shower over it no good if you are over 5'10". It was also dirty with stains and grime. Ordered two drinks for 6.15 and a taxi at 6.45. Taxi came at 6.15 and then drinks at 6.45! Receptions staff were pleasant but you can't help thinking that silly errors wouldn't happen if English was a first language. A guest is unlikely to order drinks for after their taxi has picked them up. Breakfast was pleasant and in a. nice room. Parking was easy. Wifi ridiculously priced at £6 an hour. In 2013 that is crazy. I haven't paid for wifi for a long time. We wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grockledevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at the Bristol Marriott @ College Green on a recent business trip. The staff were friendly and the welcome warm with a complimentary glass of Chenin Blanc. My room was on the first floor and was huge and the bed was really first class. It had all the things one could want for a business stay – powerful shower, good size TV, tea and coffee, ironing board, safe and very good size desk. The room was bright and warm, and the chair and footstool comfy. The breakfast had everything I needed, and again the staff very welcoming.

The stay could only have been bettered had the wifi been free. Groups like Marriott and Hilton really need to join their cheaper competitors and offer wifi free throughout – it does make them look a bit mean charging ludicrous fees. But, the Bristol team are not responsible for that!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redsandyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Bowl of fruit and card were waiting in our room, very nice room overlooking the inner garden, Hotel was perfectly placed to enjoy Bristol, 2 mins walk to the river front and next door to the Cathedral, and this was not a problem as the hotel was very quiet. Also very close for theatres and shopping, we only ate breakfast in the hotel but could not fault that, they served everything you could wish for and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Swimming pool was of an acceptable size for a hotel and sauna and steam room you could use together (sometimes the sauna is in the changing rooms so you cannot go in with your partner) we loved Bristol and would not hesitate to go back to this hotel for another long weekend. It had everything to make a short city break very nice.
My only fault (if any) would be that the lighting in the room was not that good, the bedside lamps were too bright so no good for reading but the other lights were not bright enough, so if you like to read when you go to bed I suggest you take a small lamp, but other than that it was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardworker80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

great hospitality ! amazing food! awesome decor and cozy environment. Elegant and comfortable interiors. The prices are very high! the room are charming. the rooms, almost all of them are equipped with excellent views.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avik666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel is situated next to the cathedral and college green, well placed for the floating harbour and other attractions, but some little way from the main shopping centre. This hotel was fully up to Marriott standards during our stay, and looking for a superior room we ended up with a junior suite. It was enormous with all facilities, and we felt reasonably priced at about £200 per night. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but the bar and lounge are comfortable rooms with an imaginative menu which we enjoyed. There is handy parking next door at £12.50 per night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $92 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing