We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good.......But Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good.......But Expensive”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was at the hotel for a conference last week and on arrival received a room upgrade. I have to say the room was of a excellent standard with great views (Floor 3). Very roomy, very comfortable and every need provided for, most importantly, very clean! The shortbread supplied with the tea and coffee went down a treat.

I eat in the restaurant on the first night, I have to admit, I didn't the menu was incredibly varied. I went for the "beefburger and chips" Simply put. It was very nice and the meat was excellent! It was a good portion and had been cooked to order. At £17 I thought this was pricey, especially when you are on an over night accomodation allowance. Just out of curiosity I asked for a wine list, Aprox £25 for a bottle of house Rose. I opted for a pint of Becks Veir, £4.35. Lets say I made it last.

I understand there are other restaurants very close by which are much more competetive. The breakfast is buffet style with lots of variety. Excellent sausages!!

On balance this is a good hotel, I would stay again, but would probably eat out. Maybe a meal deal for business travellers would be a good idea to fit within overnight allowances would draw more to eat in.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzz1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    786
    264
    116
    61
See reviews for
395
841
68
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just stayed at the marriot royal for 3 nights, in room 1409. Managed to check in at 12pm (thank you daniel) and got a room on a high floor as requested, so that was great. The room itself was roomy, elegant and very well equipped, and the bed was amazingly comfortable.
I really liked all the lounges, except that a cup of tea costs a ridiculous 4.75!!!
The leisure centre was really good (once all the screaming kids/ useless parents had vacated it!) and the gym was fab.
As to meals, On the first night we had a meal in the hotel restaurant - was a bit disappointed that some vacuous designer had been allowed to remove all the charm and replace it with nauseating blandness (why do hotels think guests want generic bland charmless featureless rooms which look like airport lounges - it loses all appeal and AMBIENCE!!!!!!!!!) the meal itself was quite good though 2 of the vegetarian. Options contained beetroot as the main ingredient -why?- what if you don't like beetroot?? The soup and the pudding (creme brulee) were lovely but the main was just weird (beetroot. Ravioli.yuk). Also, I object to the menus - looked like something out of a wetherspoons. That god-awful designer again.....

I have to say that the breakfast was fantastic - great choice, fresh, tasty, abundant. Fab! Well done. Omelette too mmm

As to the staff - the young waitresses in the restaurant on the evening of Friday. 13th were amazing. Genuine, smiley, helpful, polite - they were utterly charming. Great job.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recomend this hotel (just please put back the traditional restaurant - if I wanted a corporate, generic, boring, clean lines type hotel I would have picked one! Listen to your guests, don't. ASSUME they want modern).
Thank you.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms are on the 3rd floor, suites are on the 1st. Some rooms have designated cathedral vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kipperdoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants UK
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a very comfortable hotel with all the advantages of staying in a renowned establishment.The staff were friendly and welcoming.A big advantage is the underground parking- available at a discounted rate for 24 hours, this represents great value and convenience- Bristol is notoriously expensive to park in! However, we did not realise that the bedroom windows did not open- maybe we missed this on the website? We usually check in advance as this matters to us but it did not occur to us that it woud be necessary here. Also, breakfast service was marred by having a queue for the egg preparation- more than 10 minutes for an omelette and still not ready!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms offer the best chance of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stay in Bristol reasonably regular with work and of all the hotels I've tried the Marriott Royal is my overall fave if available at a reasonable rate. Usually a bit pricier than its competitors, but used to be well worth it on 2 counts. Firstly, the general old worldy and classy feel of the place from its public spaces, wonderful dining room and airy clean rooms and decent size pool for a hotel. Secondly, the friendly and helpful staff. Well the staff are still as friendly as ever, but what have they done to the wonderful dining room where you take breakfast. The table cloths and lovely old worldy relaxed feel have been replaced by corporate nice clean lines and modern design which is not at all in keeping with the hotel. A nice bottle neck area where you get your self service has also been created behind hangings of chinese like birds! What was a part of the USP of the hotel has been ripped out. A new carpet and a lick of paint was all that was required. They could have maybe then have afforded to keep the choice and quality of the breakfast at the level it used to be. So whilst still nice, the hotel has dragged itself back into the corporate pack of hotels. A real shame. I now think twice about paying that bit extra to stay there. The other Marriott the other side of town is now often better value as are a number of other chain hotels. Please, please, please reconsider the dining room. I understand from the staff that I am not the first to make these comments and I'm sure for those of you who've stayed there before the re-design I will not be the last. Real shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNA149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Although clean, comfortable & central - it is a little tired in parts. We had a lovely weekend here & no one can dispute it's centrality for enjoying all that Bristol has to offer. However, the airport bus has changed its route (wef 1st Sep) leaving this hotel without a convenient drop off/pick up point!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtyardcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was a very grand feeling hotel in the heart of Bristol.. We stayed here in April this year and could not fault anything. Service friendly, breakfast fine, room was nice and quiet..
Great location close to everything with a quick walk. The car parking set up excellent. I also stayed at the marriott city centre earlier in the year which was also good, right next to shops! however i think the royal just has the edge. If you are looking to book this traditional british feeling, city centre hotel I m sure you will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We went here for afternoon tea, as a treat with family. Very nice and relaxing, excellent service, and exceptionally clean. Also quiet. Scones were fantastic, but very expensive for a few cups of tea. Great if you want to treat yourself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 38 in Bristol
1,200 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Property: Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing