We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic and lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in spring with the family for a weekend away in Bristol. We booked a 1-bedroom suite which was very lovely. The suite was very big, it has a small reception. The bedroom was lovely with a high wooden four poster super-king bed, medium flatscreen tv, a working desk+chair and a small coffee table with 2 chairs. Our small boys slept on the extra bed in the lounge.

The lounge has another medium flatscreen tv with DVD player, 3 seaters sofa, a single sofa with footrest, a dining table with 2 chairs and a little terrace. The bathroom was big: a jacuzzi bath with on the wall small tv and a separate power shower cubicle. The dressing room was also separate. It was a nice classic English style, and felt very comfortable like in your own home.

The service was thoroughly friendly, polite and helpful. The pool was small but nice too. Location is great. Almost next to the cathedral and city center by the canal. Breakfast was also quite nice and plenty of choice. Although the breakfast restaurant was a bit dated.

Will definitely stay here again if coming back to Bristol and can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ki2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,559 - 1,565 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

When you want to experience the best of English hospitality then there is no better place than the Royal. We were there for the Burns Night charity dinner and could not fault the experience. Having an underground car park helped to make the check in swift and efficient, Our room, a suite with walk in shower and jacuzzi oozed class. The dinner and dance was perhaps the best banquet meal that I have ever tasted - the baby Haggis was moist and succulent with the right amount of peppery heat. The auction conducted by the general manage was hilarious and raised more money than could have been expected. Breakfast was buffet style ( a la carte available too) and catered for every taste. There was nothing to fault and this was our 4th stay. Whenever we are in Bristol the Marriott is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluenose1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We often stay in Bristol and this hotel is our favourite, the staff are without exception fantastic, the location is great and the building itself superb.
The breakfast is a splendid buffet style feast with fresh fruit, cheeses and smoked meat as well as the traditional English.
Facilities are good, the pool is in the basement but a good effort has been made to make it a pleasant place to be in.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Went there for my wife's birthday and everything was fantastic the staff were polite rooms excellent and the food was superb an excellent hotel and well worth going in the executive lounge where u get all included drinks

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukeJack20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Having enjoyed afternoon tea here previously made a further booking. On arrival someone else was sat at the table which had been reserved for ourselves so had to go into the bar area and share a table. Consulted the booklet of teas and when waitress came to take our order she immediately said 'English Breakfast?' and appeared unsure when we selected teas from the booklet. The tea arrived a long time before the cakes but minus milk. By the time the cakes arrived teapots were empty so had to ask for more hot water. Incorrect wine was served but this was corrected without any fuss.

Our bill was added to the people already seated at the table. There were a lot of staff but most came across as lacking experience and more content to chat to each other at the bar than to serve or clear table. Will not be rushing back.

Room Tip: Only had afternoon tea so cannot comment on rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have stayed here 4 times in 8 years and never been disappointed. In that time I would guess, and know after this stay, the hotel has seen managers come and go and refurbishment of certain areas. It has a very central location and easy access to surrounding restaurants as well as the quay areas as well as conference venues and college. The rooms are clean well furnished and beds good. Bathrooms vary however never disappoint. The main areas are what you would expect of upper end regional town hotel. All staff were extremely helpful at all times. Breakfast is buffet and as ever tempts you to be over indulgent. Very good egg bar and usual mix of continental. Pool, gym ad jacuzzi very comfortable. It has become my favourite for when in Bristol.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

this hotel is very lovely, clean and offers a good selection of areas to enjoy a drink/snack. flame fires in the evening and secondary glazed areas so not affected by the noise of saturday nights. the hospitality and service experienced by all staff was excellent. very helpful, friendly and polite. the room was extremely comfortable and clean. underground carpark, easy to use and cheap, cost added to bill (£12 for 24 hours). the breakfast time was in high demand and i do not think the seating capacity is adequate, but this was managed very effectively and politely whilst we waited (only for a few minutes), so therefore was not an issue. my only two areas of concern, kitchen staff carrying a see through waste bag of kitchen rubbish through reception, which did not do anything to enhance the pianist and welcome drinks at the time! also, the water in our room was only lukewarm, however, if we had reported it more effectively i am sure that this matter would have attended to. no bathrobes in rooms, so i would ask for them or take your own. location great.

Room Tip: for a quieter room, ask, and this will be considered, we did and it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giraffesandpirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,722 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $92 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing