We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good first impression of the Bristol Marriott Royal. Lovely decadent Victorian lobby and lots of staff behind the front desk eager to check in guests on a busy Saturday night. Allocated room on the 3rd (superior) floor, however as it was overlooking the busy Canons/Anchor Road, I was concerned about the traffic noise as it was audible so I popped back down to reception and asked for a different room. Unfortunately none were available so I was given a time of 30 minutes to return so that a room can be made ready. I waited in the bar and on my return a room was still not ready and it would be another 20/30 minutes. I was advised the new room would be 1328 so I inspected it's position myself and found out it was still facing the road on the section of College Green & Canons Road so it was no better than what I had already so I decided to stay in my existing room without informing the front desk.

I did not get a call from reception asking if I still wanted to change or not. Bad marks # 1 for not calling and checking if I wanted to change & Bad marks # 2 for not listening to the guest and finding a suitable room to my needs. Had a swim in the hotel pool which is located on the lower ground floor which was quite large and a busy Jacuzzi and lots of loungers and chairs to relax around the pool area.

The bedroom itself was nicely decorated and luxurious, all mod cons that you would find in a hotel. Bathroom was spacious, large tub and clean. However the bed was very soft and not at all comfortable. It was obliviously old and needed to be replaced as it sagged so much to the middle and you kept rolling into the dip in the bed. I did complain the next morning when I checked out but pretty sure nothing will be done about it. Not really a good nights sleep on an uncomfortable bed coupled with the noise form revelers coming out from the nearby clubs & pubs throughout the night plus the traffic noise. The windows are just not sound proofed/double glazed enough to muffle the noise.

Breakfast was served in the new "Walter's" restaurant and thankfully was delicious, everything you could want from a fry up to cold fish/meats and the usual pastries/fruits and cheeses - all good. The staff in the breakfast room were all nice, attentive and happy to help with extra tea bags & clearing the plates etc.

Considering the price the Marriott charges for it's rooms I did expect better service and certainly a better bed than what I received. Did not park in the hotel car park as there was sufficient street parking by College Green which was £2.50 till midnight (after 6) on the Saturday and free all day on Sunday. If returning I would definitely ask for an inward facing room or one away from the road and with a better bed. Some that is superior rather than being billed as.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,571 - 1,577 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a very pleasant week end staying in the Bristol Marriott Royal. The Hotel is convenient close to lots of Bristol's attractions such as the Aquarium, the Science Museum and the cathedral. Although it is on a busy intersection, and I was a bit concerned when I saw we had outward facing rooms, the double glazing prevented any noise from outside and we enjoyed a good night sleep. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the food - children could eat from the main menu for half price! Our children went swimming in the pool and a point worth noting is that it is very hot in the viewing area if you are watching kids fully clothed - worth changing into your costume first!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had 3 nights at the Marriott Royal just before Christmas A great offer through travelrepublic which included breakfast. For the money we paid we expected a cold, exceptionally tired basement room. The room we were allocated was indeed on the 'lower ground floor' but extremely well appointed and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is served till late and is a genuinely leisurely experience. The hotel is central of course, but no worries about the car as the car park is enormous. I didn't feel they were ripping guests off to use it. I also wouldn't worry about not getting a space if you arrive late. As I've mentioned the car park is huge. Made for a great 3 day break. Shops and eating places are pretty close by. Great room and extremely grand public areas made this feel like a special break

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim&AlanCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Arrived to be offered a room in the basement which I declined and was swiftly offered a room on the second floor. Nice décor, lovely bathroom, usual tv/kettle for tea/coffee and the bed and bedding was lovely, loved the little squishy pillows - maybe would like a heavier duvet though. I am gluten free and they noted this at check in and I was offered brown or white gluten free toast at breakfast where the staff were super attentive and the buffet selection simply lovely (I love fresh pineapple). Then the spa area, fab. What lovely friendly staff they have on reception. Nice pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, cold water tap with little paper cups, showers outside sauna amounted to a very nice area with lounger beds or table and chairs. All very clean and well cared for. Back upstairs and lovely areas to sit in to read, have coffee or have a drink. Loved the roaring fire too. Will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelsrus4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I would just like to thank the duty manager, Jordan for sorting out the problems on our arrival on 17th February. The subsequent room provided was excellent, the food in the hotel was good and the staff were very friendly. It was very central for exploring Bristol. Thanks to Jordan we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GL5963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have stayed here every time we have an important anniversay or birthday. The hotel staff never let us down. It is everything a hotel should be undertated and elegent, and the staff are attentive without being obtrusive. Nothing is too much trouble. We will contine to stay here when in bristol

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymad47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Overall this hotel looks good. Lovely lobby with chandeliers and roaring fires, the pool area is great. The room we stayed in was an executive king size double - nice and clean, non offensive decor, nice marble bathroom etc.

But there are a few negatives....

Firstly the beds! Lumpy, uncomfortable, the mattress curved upwards somehow so you felt you would roll out of the bed. The pillows were an odd collection of only 2 normal shape pillows but smaller than average size and 3 large square ones...??? Thin duvet....this all made for an uncomfortable night to say the least.

I really wish all hoteliers would get to grips with the quality of their beds! Surely a comfortable, good nights sleep is one of the most important things! ?? Sort it out!

Some minor grumbles were that there was no mini bar or chocolate snacks/crisps. So when we rang down for room service for some wine and snacks they said they could provide the drinks but didn't have anything snack like, not even nuts...

On checking in the room there were dirty wine glasses and bottles right outside our door - not a great 1st impression.

The place overall could be better. The main bar was closed and dark at 10.30pm on a Thursday night, the smaller bar with the fires was open but limited comfy seats so we didn't bother. The place just lacked warmth and didn't make you feel like you wanted to relax.

And those beds....! I write this yawning in the hotel room wearing a complimentary bath robe which only has one belt loop so the towelling belt drags around the floor.

Would I recommend coming here again? No.

On a final note, the continental breakfast we ordered for room service was massive, shame I was too tired to eat it. Can't wait to get home......

Room Tip: Take your own comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsDbrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $92 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing