We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Hotel perfect for business or pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Lovely hotel in great location. Rooms are an excellent size and the hotel offers a great breakfast.

Parking very limited and price of drinks are a tad expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonwalk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,170)
There are newer reviews for Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,840 - 1,846 of 2,170 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

My wife and I had our reception in palm court and followed in the large room next door. Palm court is a beautiful romanesque room which looked amazing. Food was great and the whole experience, including the really professional wedding planner, sue who was excellent. The rooms were lovely and service outstanding. The lounge areas are lovely for afternoon tea. Fully recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel (and this is my second stay). It has an imposing facade and equally imposing interior; I have never had breakfast in anything so astonishing. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable with all the luxuries you would expect. Breakfast is expensive but it is possible to get a deal with it included and it is well worthwhile as it is sumptuous. The location is at the bottom of Park Street which has a selection of bars, slightly offbeat shopping and restaurants. It is also close to art galleries, the waterfront area and theatres, comedy clubs and the like. The normal town centre (i.e. chain shops like Debenhams) is a short walk across the parade at the bottom and then up through the quirky and very interesting area of St Nicks with stalls and alternative shopping. There are plenty of bars here too.
It would be impossible to be disappointed with this hotel for location, quality, friendly staff and food. Drinks are pricey in the bar though, so be warned!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiritus26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My friend and I stayed here overnight during the Harbourside festival. The hotel is lovely, rooms are stylish, tasteful and clean. This hotel has every facility you could ask for including a health spa, beauty salon and great breakfast. If there are any downsides, it's the limited choice in the cocktail bar and the excessive prices for food and drink. However, there's a huge variety of bars and restaurants in the local area which makes up for it. There's on-site parking, if you can find the entrance which is immediately to the left of the hotel. The hotel is very close to the riverfront attractions therefore making it a great choice for families, couples and mature people alike.

Room Tip: Book early!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slinky0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

A friend of ours booked a room over 3 months ago as part of a wedding party booking. But when we arrived to the hotel after the wedding reception, we were told that although they had the booking they were now fully booked and that they would have to find another hotel. After some discussion and almost 2 hours later by this time it was 2am they were booked into another hotel. Very disappointed to hear that the Marriott overbook despite the fact that we even checked that the room was available earlier on in the day.

It appeared our friends were not the only ones in the same position as there were some newly weds at the reception desk also having the same discussion.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tsiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights My sisters wedding in July.
The check in process was good but a 4 clock check i time is crazy! We stayed the night before the wedding but those travelling on the day could not check in and had nowhere to change. The hotel eventually put a room on but they couldn't leave their bags/clothes in there! poor show!
We requested a high room but got a ground floor room.
The room was pretty big with plenty of facilities and storage. the aircon worked fine. The cleaniness was generally ok but we used the small towels on the floor of the bathroom as it looked a bit grubby. The general upkeep was good, only let down by the bathroom.
The staff were helful and professional, the fod was excellent but the drinks a tad overpriced.
Checkout was nice and easy, along with the parking facilities.
We only paid £90 including breakfast which was a bargain.

Overall, well worth a stay but make sure you get breakfast included as its a rip off otherwise and not worth £17.50

Oh... Beware rooms at the front as it gets VERY noisy on a Sat night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bencymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were in Bristol to attend our daughters graduation in the Cathedral. The hotel is perfectly placed for this occasion as it is next door. When we arrived early we were given two adjoining rooms that allowed early occupancy, which was fantastic as we had to change for the event.
The rooms were huge, very well presented, clean and on the ground floor. the staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
We tried out the leisure facilities which I have to say were great, though the pool was a little too warm for me - just like taking a warm bath!!!!
The breakfast was really good value and again the staff tried very hard to make sure that everything was perfect. I liked the fact that you had your eggs cooked to order, not usual for a buffet breakfast.
I would certainly return to this hotel as it is well placed for the waterfront and would recommend this to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creep029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $97 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing