We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malago Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very basic accommodation.
Good value for money, single rooms are small but clean with good en suite facilities.
Noisy building especially if you are situated near the breakfast room, you can hear other guests all around you.
Breakfast very basic, no hot food. Towels, sheets, bath mats feel a bit worn.
Accommodation about 30 mins walk from town.

Room Tip: Make sure not to get a room beside the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    97
    39
    22
    13
See reviews for
34
92
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My partner and I go to VegFest each year in Bristol, so we've experienced our share of hotels/hostels nearby! Malago is the best fit, and I'm sure we'll stay there again.

The staff are very welcoming, the room was clean and modern, and the breakfast room downstairs was open pretty much all hours. This was good in the evening when we'd come back and wanted to warm up some food. Tea & Coffee making facilities in the room, hair-dryer, TV, etc. There's a lot of local information (maps, things to do etc.) readily available, and it's a pretty easy walk in to town from the hotel. There is on-site parking, but if your car is much longer or wider than a Fiat Punto you might find it quite tricky. There seemed to always be a a white van around that often made parking a squeeze. That said, the hotel is in a residential area, so it's not too hard to park elsewhere if needed.

Had no disturbances from other guests/noise problems while we were there. I'm sure that if you did have any problems (which we didn't) the staff would be happy to help.

Give them a go if you're ever in the Bristol area!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside,England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Along with four friends, I stayed in the Malago for one night and was thoroughly impressed. We arrived at Bristol too early to check in, but the staff were friendly enough to let us leave our car in the car park whilst we explored the city. We returned for check-in and were given a warm welcome. The lady that helped with checked in was very friendly, giving us (good) recommendations of where to go for a night out in the city and even booked a taxi to take us in to the centre!

The location was also pretty good - just a 5 minute taxi ride from the centre.

The family room was excellent, especially for £80 (£16 each). The room was modern and spacious, with a good en-suite bathroom, plenty of storage space, tea-making facilities and a freeview TV. The beds were also very comfortable.

Breakfast was continental, which isn't all that appealing to me personally, but was plentiful and well set out. I enjoyed the tea and toast.

All in all, I was delighted with my stay as were the rest of the party. A hotel at this price is almost impossible to find in a city, and this one is far better than some I have paid five times the price for. If I ever visit Bristol again (which is a great city by the way), I would not hesitate to stay at the Malago Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

On arrival, I had to negociate with white van man for a parking space at the rear. It is very, very tight and van man tends to block everyone in or out as the case may be.

The whole place had recently been refurbished to a very high standard and my room was very toasty, but plenty of space. The only down side of my room was the bed head was against the window and if you are a light sleeper you get traffic/street noise. plenty of tea and coffe and a nice falt screen TV at the bottom of the single bed.

A lovely hot powerful shower and again a spacious bathroom. Down for the continental brealfast and I was pleasantly suprised. A really well laid out breakfast room, with a really good choice of cerials, cold meat, cheese, pastries, toast, bilded eggs and friut to set you on your way.

Nice friendly staff help as well. Will definatley stay again.

Room Tip: The only real downside is the parking. If you are in a big car (Mine is a Volvo C70) you struggle to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dino246GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Two nights at this B&B which is very clean and modern. Lots of tea and coffee provided in the room. Breakfast was a good experience with two toasters and three different breads next to them. Croissants and other pastries are readily available. Ham and cheese as well as boiled eggs are provided. Two fruit juices and a range of teas and coffees can be consumed. Lastly fruit, yogurt and a full range of cereals are available. So as you can see a full Continental breakfast is provided. Staff were very welcoming and gave us a local map on arrival as well as answering our questions. A very easy walk to the pubs and restaurants on North Street. Only twenty minutes to Harbourside. Was able to leave the car on the car park and walk to the sites of Bristol. This B&B gave a warm, clean and secure base for our visit. If we visit Bristol again we will stay at the Malago.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kby121148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Budget gems are rare in Bristol but this one is a find! Everything was truly clean, free wifi in room worked fine, generous tea/coffee etc, good range/quantity of food at breakfast. Room was a decent size, well appointed with a decent size bath as well as a shower. Staff were efficient and helpful. Security good. At only £39 for a late deal, what's not to like.
The area- yes it's a bit run down but not 'risky' and it's only a short walk to the bars and cafes of trendy North Street plus takeaways, convenience store, and airport bus stop all within a few hundred metres.
Noise- it's a busy road but it doesn't run all night and our room at the back was quiet enough. Door noise was a bit irritating but otherwise we had a quiet stay.
Parking- car park is a bit 'tight' and was full when we returned late but there is plenty of safe parking close by in the side streets.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiri59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

As other reviewers have said already, the accomadation is modern and clean. Breakfast was basic but adequate (sef serve tea/coffee, juice, cereals, toast, cheese, cold meat).

Wifi is included (no extra charge).

Downside when I stayed was a big group of lads (stag do perhaps) who came back at 5am, woke everyone in the building up, then had a door slamming competition whilst breakfast was being served. I guess this wasn't the management's fault.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
1.0 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ibis Bristol Centre
#20 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malago Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malago Bed & Breakfast

Property: Malago Bed & Breakfast
Address: 113 West Street, Bristol BS3 3PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malago Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Malago Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malago Hotel Bristol
Malago Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing