We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fab weekend at The Bristol Doyle”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Another fab weekend at The Bristol Doyle”
Reviewed July 15, 2010

My husband and i stayed at the Doyle for yet another fab weekend. The hotel is in a prime location on the waterfront. We checked in and had a beautifuly decorated room on the top floor overlooking the water. Decor is contemporary modern, very swish! Large bed and fab espresso coffee maker. The rooms are v clean as is the lounge /bar areas. I must give a special mention to Olga and Arta who have looked after us on several occasions, Arta makes wonderful cocktails!! and Loga has always got time for a chat doesnt matter how busy they may be. If you are visiting Bristol this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blodynallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,869
    1,186
    352
    112
    63
See reviews for
362
1,911
129
698
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (903)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I live in Bristol but stayed here with my partner for a business dinner. The hotel was refurbished about 2 years ago and they have done a fantastic job. Lovely rooms, lovely bathrooms, great staff, great breakfast. I have stayed in many hotels all over the country over the past year and this is one of the very best. I would be more than happy for our family and friends to stay here when visiting us - and that is high praise indeed from me.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgnichols910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This is the third time we have stayed in this hotel, but the first time since it switched from Jury's to the Doyle collection. Our experience under the old company was always a good one, hence our willingness to use the hotel again, but in this occasion we found the hotel had been improved considerably by the Doyle Collection. Staff were warm and friendly, the bedroom was superbly comfortable and equipped with an array of extras that we have rarely seen offered elsewhere (and we use 4* & 5* hotels several times a year in the UK, USA & europe). Of particular note was the service and food in the restaurant which gave us a dining experience to remember. It was very obvious during our stay that attention to detail and customer service were of paramount importance. To crown it all, the price was extremely attractive when the quality of the package was considered and we will most definitely be back. Highly recommended - probably one of the best hotel experiences we have had in years!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijallen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

This modern hotel is in a great location for cafes, bars, restaurants, museums and shops. The deluxe rooms are spacious with comfortable king beds and have espresso machines. the bathrooms are great with a fabulous large walk in shower and rain shower heads. There are amply power sockets including a USB socket for recharging phones and iPods. The hotel staff are helpful, efficient and friendly. The breakfast buffet is good and is served in a room with a great view of the harbour. Great for a weekend break.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Stayed at the Bristol Hotel this weekend and wasn't disappointed in any way. The hotel was busy as there was various functions on but the atmosphere was serene at all times. The staff were all very welcoming & friendly . Had a free upgrade which was a nice surprise- room was plush,modern and very clean. I have stayed at a lot of hotels & have to say this has been my favorite so far! I really enjoyed Bristol as there was a lot going on & staying at The Bristol Hotel made our weekend- 10/10! Well done

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shubbs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Stayed in this hotel two years ago, when it was Jurys and it was absolutely awful..worst night I had ever had in a hotel. Decided to try it again now that it is The Bristol Hotel and I was very impressed. The decor is hugely improved and very stylish. I looked around on the internet and managed to get a standard double room, with breakfast for £70. The room was small, but nicely decorated and as it was only for one night this was not a problem. The bathroom was small as well, but the shower was fab. Bed was very comfy, if a bit on the small side! Breakfast was amazing...a great selection of hot, cold buffet, cereals, fruit etc and the seating area was right on the waterfront.
A definite improvement to my last experience and would definitely stay again, but maybe upgrade to the bigger room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJDBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenhell@aol.com
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Stayed for two nights. Very good location for the train station and amenities in central Bristol and the new dock developments. Our room faced inwards so wasn't noisy apart from occasional door slamming in the early hours. The room was spacious but strangely, the bathroom was a little on the small side.

Breakfast was excellent with the staff efficient and very polite. The only drawback is it's external appearance. it looks like a multistory car park as is attached to one!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 38 in Bristol
1,200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing