We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant weekend stay”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Just returned from a brilliant stay at this hotel. Travelled with 7 others and everyone was really pleased with the accommodation and facilities.
Breakfast was plentiful, bedrooms very cosy - except we had to get a heater for one of them as had other guests we noticed. But that wouldnt put me off returning. No complaints of noise. We had no problems with check-in. Staff were all very friendly.
Location is very good - right on river and very central. Plenty of bars to choose from.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StokesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,683)
There are newer reviews for The Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,533 - 3,539 of 3,683 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2010

Stayed here with a group over for a match at Ashton Gate and had a great time. Hotel overlooks the harbour and you can get the water-taxi to the ground - also stopping at a few pubs (Novia Scotia is the best!!) Huge choice of bars and restuarants around and the city centre is on the door-step. Friendly staff and breakfast excellent! My number one choice when staying in Brizzle!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Footy_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in February. Good room, lovely and warm, great view overlooking the footbridge over the harbour. No noise penetrated from the night club opposite. Excellent facilities, flat screen TV, lovely bathroom (though not heated unless we left the door open!)
Breakfasts were great. They had the best selection of fresh fruit that I have seen for a long time - it was all delicious - pineapple, damsons, grapefruit segments and more - really good. The cooked stuff was excellent too. Really enjoyed breakfast. Lots of bars and chain restaurants available just across the bridge, though we preferred to dine and drink in Clifton Village, a short bus or taxi ride away. Overall we would strongly rtecommend the place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snickerbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

I've stayed in this hotel over 30 times since it converted from a Jurys hotel near the start of 2009. The hotel had already been fully refurbished, and over that time the rest of the service has steadily improved. It's located in the busy harbourside area, with lots to do an see around the area.

The food in the restaurant is excellent, and the set menu very good value. Proud to serve local produce, it changes on a regular basis. There is a connected bar, but you have to access it from outside, and it also has a good food menu, produced in the same kitchens.

The rooms either face the harbour, the road in front, or an internal courtyard. Each has it's advantages and disadvantages. Those facing the harbour have a great view, but the noise from the pubs and clubs on the other side can be disturbing. Not all rooms have air conditioning, and in the summer these west facing rooms can get very hot in the afternoon sun. Facing the internal courtyard is quitet and cool, and I think most of the rooms are quite a bit bigger, but no view. Rooms to the front can be noisy from deliveries.

The beds are excellent, and the pillows good (you get both feather and synthetic).

Fantastic LCD TVs showing Freeview digital channels and a couple of satellite channels. Many rooms have a Nespresso coffee maker.

There's a very small gym.

Free wired (and in some areas wireless) internet connection.

I'd have no hesitation recommending it, and have stayed at my own expense with my wife last Easter.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fruitmachine2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

This ex-Jury's Inn has been transformed into a very comfortable, contemporary hotel. In a good position but in a nasty '70s type concrete building next to an NCP car park . The interior is a very pleasant surprise. The public areas are spacious and modern with good lighting and furnishings. Our room was on the 6th floor and we had a dinner, bed & breakfast deal which was excellent value.

The room was tastefully furnished, comfortable bed, large flat screen tv, good heating and well-equipped bathroom. Minor issues with a light not working and no hairdryer but housekeeping dealt fairly quickly with both.

There is a small gym on the 4th floor with all you could need and downstairs there is a lively bar and restaurant overlooking the waterfront.
The breakfast buffet was a little under pressure on the Sunday we were there - tables not being cleared and a long queue for fried eggs but overall good. Would certainly return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SignoraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Positives - Very modern, trendy & clean with great service. Location fab.
Negatives - Rooms VERY small, drinks are expensive & no pool /spa

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmoss89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

The nightlife across the water can be quite loud at times -especially on Friday and Saturday nights, but with the windows closed and the FAN UNIT ON, I did not hear anything - and I was on the second floor (really 3 floors up counting the lobby) facing the footbridge. I would recommend bringing earplugs just in case. The views and the fresh air of the waterfront are well worth any noise that the nightlife contributes to. This hotel also has rooms facing a courtyard that will probably be much quieter but you would have to put up with views of other rooms.

The Bristol Hotel has complimentary internet access throughout. I used an ipod touch with wifi successfully in my room, lift, The River Grille (hotel restaurant) and lounge areas. The only place I had trouble with wifi was in the hallway, but as soon as I opened my door, I had access. Other hotels nearby (such as the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel in college green) charge 15 pounds for one day of internet access. I also used the business center to print my boarding pass.

I stayed in a Deluxe room, an upgrade to the 'superior room,' which has Temple Spa toiletries (a very nice collection of lotion, shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel), an espresso coffee machine, and media hub. I did not use the media hub. My rate included breakfast and a 3-course Table D’Hote dinner. The breakfast was fantastic! Once seated you are asked if you would like toast and provided with several yummy jams. There were poached eggs, thick sliced bacon, hash browns, grilled tomatoes, bangers, cereal, fruit, and juices. For the 3-course Table D’Hote dinner, which varied each night, there were four choices for main course, four appetizers, and four desserts. Everything that I tried was great! I would advise making a reservation for breakfast and dinner if they are busy.

The location of this hotel is amazing! You are about a one minute walk to the Queen Square, about five minutes to the Cathedral and shops along Park Street. Only a minute to the Shakespeare Tavern and minutes from several other pubs along King Street. The St. Nicholas markets are also nearby. Just about anything you could want to see is within minutes of this hotel. I hiked to the Clifton Suspension Bridge in only 30 minutes from the hotel.

The staff were all great. I was even offered to look at the room I was to stay in by the front desk staff. I was escorted to the room, loved it and went back down the lift and checked in. The restaurant managers were very nice and the restaurant staff and servers were all very helpful and courteous. I would highly recommend this hotel despite all of the warnings of not getting a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_WarEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $114 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing