We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, would recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very nice hotel, would recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed here on business and found the hotel to be of a very good standard. The rooms were well furnished and provided everything I require on business trips, including ethernet connections and comfortable bedding for a relaxing night's sleep. I also tried out the in-house gym, which although a little small was more than adequate and well equipped with treadmill, rowing machine & weights section.

Will definitely stay whenever I'm in Bristol again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Emilio P,

Thank you for leaving us a review,

We are glad you enjoyed your business trip with us and found the facilities, in particular the internet and Gym to your liking.

If you are using us regularly it would be worth taking a look at joining our GHA loyalty programme which offers excellent extras to memebers.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,808
    1,152
    339
    111
    59
See reviews for
340
1,861
126
675
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I've stayed in quite a few hotels in the centre of Bristol, including both the 2 Marriott hotels and 2 Mercure hotels. I used The Bristol Hotel some years ago when it was Drurys and it okay. Now I've used this hotel twice over the last month and have been so impressed with both the quality and value offered for visitors. The refurbishments have been high quality is far better than both Mercure hotels or the Marriott City Centre. The beds and linen are top class - great night's sleep Great location, just around the corner is the stylish footbridge over to a huge selection of bars and restaurants. Car parking is free too - which makes a huge difference in the overall cost of the stay

Room Tip: Just one tip - if you want a quieter night, then ask for a room not facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear JohnPerkins,

Thank you for the great review and five stars.

We certainly believe we are one of the best hotels in the city, I guess there is a reason we are the number one four star city centre hotel on this forum!!

I am glad you availed and enjoyed of the free car parking whilst with us.
We hope to see you again soon,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel is always very clean and the staff are amazingly helpful
It's not cheap but is worth the very central location and the service!
Breakfast was really good and oversees the water
The bar is great and again has a lovely view

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarmersDonandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear DonandStutyn,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your feedback and are please you enjoyed the service and Harbourside element to the hotel.

If booking again remember our best available rates are always found on our direct website,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

new years eve diner and dance,the food,the band,the staff and the superb room,made for a fantastic night.The GM Mark and his staff have made this an annual event not to be missed.As long as we are fit enough to get up and boogie we will be there,great night.Phil and Donna

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Phil and Donna,

Thank you for leaving a review of New years eve.

We appreciate the feedback, we try to ensure it is a great event as we understand it is a night people want to get out celebrate therefore important for us to deliver.

We look forward to welcoming you back on December 31st.

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

From the minute me and my friend checked in the service was fantastic. Really friendly staff on reception.
Room was on the small side but very clean and modern. We ordered room service (pulled pork) which was to die for!
I asked for ice to be brought up to the room and it was sent promptly.

Breakfast in the morning was a treat, a lovely gentleman was playing the piano in the background. Great for soothing my hangover. Again food and staff were fantastic.

Will without a doubt be returning.
Especially when car parking was complimentary (adjacent to the hotel) and the location was a totter away from all the bars!

Loved it so much I even cleaned the hotel room and stripped the beds as my little way to say thankyou :-) x

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manchesterlassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Manchesterlassy,

Thank you for the great review and five stars!

I am personally also a big fan of the pulled pork on the room service menu and appreciate you letting us know.
Bill our Pianist is pretty much a permanent fixture on a Sunday morning and he certainly adds to the relaxed atmosphere at breakfast.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a spectacular wedding reception, planned it remotely with the best events planner I've ever met -->>Karen Mathews, who was super polite, professional, precise, really helpful, went the extra mile, We're so grateful, we all had a fabulous time and felt special too.
Your team, Perrywho did the decor, Annie who did the cake, photo dabek all tied it in with a bow at the top.
Thanks food, drinks and above all the special touches in honour of Uganda my home country were and still are much appreciated!!
You are the best!!
In one sentence, I'd say-- The Bristol Hotel is as good as their word and great staff like Karen Mathews makes the experience long lasting:-).
Many thanks guys!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PearlEmeraldKampala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear PearlEmeraldKampala,

Thank you for your great review.

We are delighted to have helped you organise and spend your special day with family and friends at our Hotel.
I have passed on your comments to Karen whom mentioned "you were a pleasure to deal with".

We look forward to seeing you in 12 months for your anniversary!

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Booked to stay at The Bristol very last minute, without giving it much thought. Really glad we did!

Hotel is immaculate throughout and we received a very friendly welcome on arrival. Room was equally nice, with a view directly over the river and air conditioning, etc. Parking was easy in the multi-storey next door, which was included in our room rate.

Breakfast was excellent, with a really good range of both English and Continental foods. Particularly enjoyed the pianist, which created a lovely atmosphere.

Location couldn't be much better. Just a couple of minutes walk from @Bristol, the Aquarium and the Hippodrome and about 10 minutes walk into the main shopping area. There are plenty restaurants and bars in the immediate area, with virtually every type of food available.

We've stayed in other hotels in Bristol several times, this hotel is definitely our favourite and I'm sure we'll be visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Jonathan N,

Thank you for your excellent review,

We are delighted you had a great stay with us.

As you highlighted our proximity to such great local experiences such as @Bristol, the Aquarium and The Bristol Hippodrome is a great benefit to staying with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing