We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel right in the centre”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great hotel right in the centre”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had a lovely time here last weekend with my wife whilst attending a family wedding. We picked the hotel because it is only 8 minutes walk to the Bristol Register Office in Corn Street.
The room was rather on the small side but suited us fine. It was very clean, well equipped and comfortable. Best of all it comes with free parking in adjacent NCP multi story car park but think this only applies at weekends or off peak.
We didn't use the restaurant as we had arrangements elsewhere but menus and ambience looked great. We did enjoy complimentary coffee and pastries in the lounge on Sunday morning though which was an unexpected bonus. Staff were extremely helpful and courteous and even advised us about Sunday road closures in the City and gave us the best route to take on a map as we checked out.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is beyond the double doors leading away from the lift lobby on each floor as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Andy H,

Thank you for your review and five stars.

We are glad that the hotel met your requirements during your stay with us, as you mentioned it is only a short walk from the registry office and all central amenities,

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,888
    1,201
    355
    112
    63
See reviews for
366
1,931
131
702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (908)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed in a Doyle Collection hotel in Washington DC and was delighted with it, hence our choice of the Bristol Hotel. We were not disappointed with the Hotel, but oh dear this must have been the smallest bedroom we have ever stayed in. Admittedly it was only a Superior Room and obviously in hindsight we should have booked a deluxe room, but it really was no bigger than a single room plus there was no a/c and no wifi and no satellite TV, so be warned. That said, the hotel itself was really nice, in a great location, with free parking, excellent staff service and a good quality breakfast.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear EddieM,

Thank you for leaving us a review!

Overall I am glad you enjoyed your stay and certainly would agree that our deluxe rooms are our largest.

I am disappointed to see there was no WIFI or Satellite TV working in the room, these two components are very much standard in all our rooms, I wonder did you report the issue to our team?

I would be happy to discuss further with you if you want to get in touch with me direct, my E-mail address is below,

Thank you for your feedback,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Mark_payne@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Okay, so I have never written a review on anything before, but I couldn`t let this one pass, my hubbie and I have just spent two nights at this hotel, and couldn`t fault anything, the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were cosy warm and very pretty, with everything you could possibly need, a proper hairdryer, which is always a bonus for us girls, a full ironing board and iron the usual shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and soaps, but of a very good quality, and even a expresso coffee maker to join the tea coffee and full kettle, beds and linen were extremely comfy and soft, and the room was very quiet even though the hotel was obviously busy, breakfast was gorgeous , the breakfast room overlooks the water, which is lovelly and theres even a man, who plays piano while you eat. The bar in the evening staffed by the very helpful Tom, is a comfortable chilled out place to sit and look out over the harbour, and lastly I think, is the location you are close to everything, bars, restaurants, shops and the harbour, oh and a brilliant Tapas place right across the road, called El Puerto, we ate in here both nights, the food is that good, oh and you dont have to pay for parking either, this saves a fortune as the hotel provide it to guests as complimentary overall quite possibly, the best stay we have had in a hotel for a very long while. Thanks a highly recommended Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lousanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Lousanne

I am delighted that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and indeed my sincerest thanks for you taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review.

Feedback such as yours is a great boost to everyone as we make ever greater strides to look after our guests. Memorable luxury experiences are what the team continue to strive for and I am thrilled that in this instance they looked after you the way they did.

Remember if returning to make sure and book on our direct website for our best available rates,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for one night with my friend. The location of the hotel is perfect. On the river next to several bars and restaurants. There is free parking in the multi story car park next door to the hotel. We booked direct with the hotel (as it was cheaper that comparison websites!)
The hotel itself is beautiful, the staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was on the small side, but adequate. The bed was very comfortable!
There was even a little coffee pod machine which was well needed after a few drinks!
I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sianypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sinaypops,

Thank you for your review and five stars,

It is really pleasing to see you booked direct on our website, as you pointed out it has our cheapest rate and we guarantee this to all our customers.

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lovely location, comfortable room, courteous & friendly staff - couldn't ask for more. Perfect base for exploring the city. Free parking is certainly a bonus, and extends beyond check-out time for the rest of that day. We will certainly be returning in the future. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear KKSheffield,

I am delighted that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and indeed my sincerest thanks for you taking the time to leave a review.

Feedback such as yours is a great boost to everyone as we make ever greater strides to look after our guests. Memorable luxury experiences are what the team continue to strive for and I am thrilled that in this instance they looked after you the way they did.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had never visited Bristol before and were not sure which area to stay. However, The Bristol was in a really good location. Another fact that influenced our choice was that free parking was included at the adjacent NCP. The room was nicely decorated, small but comfortable with a very comfy bed. The included breakfast was excellent, with plenty of varied foods from which to choose. Check out was not until noon, which gave us chance to explore a bit more of Bristol before we left. We will certainly stay there again when visiting Bristol.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brixham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Brixham1,

Thank you for the review and five stars,

it is great to read your feedback and extra pleasing to see you enjoyed our Breakfast, decor throughout the hotel ad free car parking which we now offer all our overnight guests,

we hope to welcome you back soon,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel right in the centre of the action both on the harbour and for the city markets with a plesant walk to the main shoping areas. First class accomodation well appointed and very very clean. Excellent staff. No cost parking a real bonus. Rooms beautiful and breakfast delightful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 236RobertH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear 236RobertH,

I am delighted that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and indeed my sincerest thanks for you taking the time to leave a review.

Feedback such as yours is a great boost to everyone as we make ever greater strides to look after our guests. Memorable luxury experiences are what the team continue to strive for and I am thrilled that in this instance they looked after you the way they did.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing