We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night wonder”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 26, 2013

only stayed the one night but what a fab experience ,the room was spotless,the staff was very helpful,would def go back,it took prob 15 mins to walk to cabot circus shopping center.
The breakfast was excellent and to hav a gentleman playing a piano while you eat is something else. Highley recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirley g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear ShirleyG,

We love the title "one night wonder" and thank you for the five stars.

It is pleasing to see you had a great stay and enjoyed Bill's piano playing.

Hopefully next time you will get to stay with us for longer,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,581 - 2,587 of 3,825 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Bristol Hotel oozes quality with trendy interior throughout. The restaurant serves great food (albeit a little slow to arrive), and has beautiful views at night of the river.

Rooms are spacious and have a great selection of tea/coffee.

Free parking is a huge bonus in the City Centre with other hotels charging upto £15 per night. Free wifi is also a nice touch and reaches decent speeds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenifaHaych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Jenifahaych,

Thank you for the review and five stars, we appreciate it.

It is very pleasing to see you had a great stay and enjoyed our free car parking and wifi.

We hope to see you back again in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Position of hotel is brilliant with plenty of 'life' around it. Breadfasts excellent with plenty of choice. We upgraded to a water side room, which was worth the extra. Brilliant parking (free for hotel guests) next door to the hotel and it's possible to park your car within a few feet of your room. Position of the hotel is ideal near the town centre and only a short walk away.
All in all a trouble free, stress free stay and would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the waterfront are better with more 'goodies' but there is a small surchar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Steve G,

thank you for the review and five stars.

We are glad you enjoyed our deluxe rooms overlooking the Bristol harbour, they are a big favourite with our return guests.

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Only a one night stay but we had no complaints with this hotel. Very central and with a multi-storey car park next door that you can use for free and gain access straight to the hotel . The room was very good indeed and nothing to find fault with. Staff were always very courteous and offering to help.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear PBVH,

Thank you for the review and five stars.

It is pleasing to see although your stay was short, lived up to your expectations.

Hopefully next time you can stay for longer.

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for my birthday last Friday night. From arrival onwards, everyone was very friendly & helpful. The hotel is nice & smart but not pretentious so one feels comfortable there. We had a coffee on arrival, & a cocktail before going out in the evening, both of which were served by lovely pleasant staff. We had an early breakfast as we were travelling on to Devon, & this was fresh, & very well presented with lots of choice, & very tasty.
Our room was lovely, clean, & very well equipped with a gorgeous comfy bed & thick feather pillows. Bliss.
If I had one complaint it would only be that the room was too warm. We had the air con on in the evening, but it was too noisy to leave on overnight.
Otherwise, a great stay in a great location, with lovely views of the riverside from certain rooms, including the bars & restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndaki01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Lyndak01,

Thank you for the review,

we are delighted you had a great stay and enjoyed your birthday whist with us,

We hope to see you again same time next year!!

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, yet although it is in the heart of the city centre we slept well, with little noise from outside. Our bed was very comfy and our room although not large contained everything we needed from a real coffee machine to lovely Temple Spa toiletries. The breakfast was delicious with a huge choice of dishes and great views onto the river. Very good value for money, will stay here again. Bristol is a great City and this is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gladlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Gladlass,

We love the title "book now"!!

It is pleasing to see you found our location very good and enjoyed our in room amenities comprising of temple spa bathroom products and our nespresso coffee machines.

Thank you for the review,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel. Lovely soft bed, with 2 pillows each.
I stayed Friday to Sunday and could park for FREE all day fri sat and Sunday. Not many hotels in bristol have parking let alone FREE.

All staff friendly and helpfull.

Perfect location, only a bridge between the hotel and wetherspoons and pitcher and piano.

Only a couple very minor faults. The carpet had a lump, and the Sink was slow to drain. That's all. Honestly BEST hotel Ive stayed in the U.K.

Ill be coming back over Christmas and in June 2014 for the mrs birthday.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Graham C,

Thank you for the glowing review of the hotel.

we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the Free parking especially helpful.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $105 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing