We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very good standard.”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Restaurant is very good but pricey. Great location, good views but terrible shame about the really loud deep thumping bass from the clubs over the water that keeps you up all night.
Don't ask for a waterfront room!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiger_Tim_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear tiger_tim_london,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Bristol Hotel.

It is pleasing to see you had an overall enjoyable stay and found the hotel to be of a very good standard.

We hope to see you back again in the near future,

Sincerely
Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,683)
There are newer reviews for The Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,459 - 2,465 of 3,683 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed one night recently on business, booked an executive room, found the room to be a bit small for an executive. However the room was clean and well laid out, as was the bathroom.
The corridors to the rooms are dated and very dark, had a beer at the bar, well priced and friendly bar staff. Breakfast in the morning was well laid out and well cooked with lots of options, would stay again next time in Bristol.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikec-edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear mikec-edinburgh,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

it is pleasing to see you had an overall enjoyable business stay with us.

Should you be returning to Bristol on a more regular basis I would suggest you look at our GHA loyalty programme which offers great enhancements once signed up from additional in room amenities to room upgrades.

We look froward to welcoming you back to the Bristol Hotel in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
general manager
The Bristol hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Have stayed in a lot of 5 star hotels with my family but first I had without them and had paid for myself.
It was great room which they allowed us to check in early without any fuss.
Only issue we had is we came back into the hotel quite late and we were asked by security for our room key.
There was a sign saying that the hotel doors are manned after 11pm (which for an inner city hotel seems like a good idea) but we hadn't been told and it dressed quite scruffily I did feel we were being a bit judged!
However lovely room, very comfy bed and it being one of the hottest days of July the air conditioning was a god send.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear jazz S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

we are pleased you had a great stay with us and find us on par with other 5 star hotels you have stayed in.

As you correctly pointed out, door security is paramount for a city centre hotel after 11pm during the weekend, more so for us being on the waterfront with so much going on, however this is no excuse to having been made feel "judged" and I will pass on your comments to our security company.

We hope to see you again in Bristol in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at the Bristol for 2 nights for the Hot Air Balloon Festival. It was a very busy weekend with every room occupied but despite a full house nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
I received a very warm welcome and was checked in very quickly, my room (623) was just as I had requested a harbour view and with air con. it was a good size, very clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was on the small side but adequate and spotless, toiletries were from the lovely Temple Spa.
Although on the opposite side of the harbour there are numerous bars but I found that the double glazing keep out the noise.
The parking arrangements are a wonderful bonus, free parking for the whole of the stay is a huge added value feature. The location is perfect for exploring Bristol, the cafes and eateries on the Harbourside, the Cathedral is less than 10 minutes walk away and the small ferry to the S.S. Great Britain is about the same distance.
Thank you to all the staff at the Bristol, you really do know the meaning of hospitality and customer service. I'm looking forward to my next visit.
For eating I would recommend Bordeaux Quay and the Cherry Duck, both very close by

Room Tip: My room was 623, it was light, airy, clean and comfortable. I would ask for the same room again
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneyQ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Shropshirestroller,

Thank you for your wonderful review after your weekend here during the balloon fiesta.

It is fantastic to see you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms, and also our temple spa products.

I would also concur with your two restaurant recommendations, two excellent restaurants within a three minute walk from the hotel.

On your next visit I would also recommend trying our river Grille restaurant within the hotel, our locally sourced menu is in my opinion one of the best the Harbourside has on offer.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights in August in a quiet room at the back (our choice) as opposed to one of the rooms overlooking the water front.
The room was spotless, incredibly tidy and very, very well presented. The air con unit gently humming away was the only noise and in no way was it obtrusive.
The hotel reception is large, well lit and a pleasant place to be. Check-in was fuss-free and simple and we were offered a choice of rooms.
The NCP car park next door was complimentary for the duration of the stay, and the hotel can be accessed from the car park with the room key.
Located right at the heart of the bustling newly rejuvenated water front area, the hotel is perfectly located for both daytime and night time entertainment.
Breakfast is a delight. The immaculate and very polite staff take you to your choice of table and the whole experience is a great way to start the day. The choice is almost overwhelming, but again is very well laid out, and very tasty.
Check-out is as simple as check-in.
Asked if I would stay again, I would resoundingly say YES. Would I recommend it to a friend or family member ~ again YES, without reservation. In fact I would urge anyone visiting Bristol to very seriously consider this hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a room overlooking the street for a quieter stay, or one overlooking the waterfront for a more...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Nick K,

Thank you for leaving us that "absolutely perfect" review.
it is very pleasing to see you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, from room cleanliness, breakfast, right through to our complimentary car parking.

We also really appreciate the recommendation,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
general manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel was well located, neat and clean. Our room was quite peaceful, but we had a major problem with having only one double duvet. We are used to sleep with our own single blankets and asked for an extra blanket from the reception. English is not our mother tongue but we thought "blanket" would be a suitable and perfectly understandable word in this connection. (The word "duvet" was not at all familiar to us back then.) When we returned to our room after a great night out, we were really amazed to find an extra bedspread on our bed. What on earth would anybody with any common sense imagine we would do with that?! When we went back downstairs to complain, they promised to take care of the matter. After quite a long time a member of the staff knocked on our door, red and sweaty, carrying another huge double duvet, which was the thickest we've ever seen. He said he couldn't find any single duvets/blankets anywhere. So there we were, trying to sleep in quite a small double bed with one normal double duvet and one extra thick double duvet. Needless to say, we didn't have much room to move and didn't sleep very well. Otherwise the hotel was OK. We enjoyed the breakfast with some live piano playing and beautiful view to the canal area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helpyourselfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear helpyourselfish,

Thank you for taking time out to review our hotel.

It is pleasing to see you had an overall enjoyable stay and i will run through your "misunderstandings" with our front office team. As you quite rightly mentioned, getting a single duvet should not have been so difficult to ascertain during your stay and we will ensure future guests do not encounter the same issue.

we hope to see you again in the future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous stay from start to finish. Everything you could want and need from a hotel and right in the centre of everything going on in Bristol. The only criticism I would offer is the walls are probably to thin if you have a noisy neighbour and the bathroom was ridiculously small but certainly usable

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Mattfog,

We are delighted to see you had a great stay from "start to finish" as that is what we aspire too.

It is also pleasing to see you found our city centre location suitable to your needs,

Thank you for taking the time to out to leave us a review,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
general manager
The Bristol hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $114 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing