We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than it looks from the outside”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Better than it looks from the outside”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks terrible from the outside. It is attached to one of the ugliest multi-storey car parks I have ever seen.

The lobby is a bit cramped and gloomy but my room, which was an executive room, was good. The conference facilities are modern and well-equipped, and the food is OK. The hotel is located in the Old City, which is a bit run down in parts, but it is just a five minute walk across the footbridge to the quayside area where there are lots of bars and restaurants. I saw two cockroaches while I was there, one at the entrance to the hotel, and one at the entrance to the conference centre, but I have to be fair and say that they were both on the threshold, rather than in the hotel. The hotel itself appeared to be clean.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Pt5

Thank you for your review.
I'm glad to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the room and all the internal hotel facilities.
In regards to the cockroaches you saw outside, please rest assure that being close to the water we do have a PEST control company monitoring this to ensure they stay outside.
We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
Raphael Herzog
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,844
    1,172
    348
    112
    63
See reviews for
355
1,889
128
689
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel May 11, 2013 while visiting Grillstock Festival at Lloyds Amphitheatre.
The convenience is fantastic. As you arrive you drive into the NCP car park attached to the hotel, which is complimentary from the hotel. Location is excellent for city centre & waterside. We had a warm friendly welcome and they were even able to accommodate us with any early checkin. The hotel and room were clean and pleasant.
I would give the room #637 stars if it were not for a few tiny stains on the carpets, otherwise it was spotless. Decoration was nice, room was comfortable. Bathroom very nice, roomy and spotless.
The desk included a krupps espresso maker (I've never seen that in a hotel room) as well as tea & coffee making kettle and accompaniments under the desk. More variety of tea than I've ever seen.
There were plenty of electrical sockets, including usb connections, and adaptors.
A mini bar would have been nice but I wasn't expecting it for the room.
We ate dinner at the River Grille and the food was fabulous.
The Ruby & Whites beef was certainly fantastic quality.
We had the Ruby & Whites beef carpaccio for a starter and it simply melted in the mouth.
The steaks were cooked to perfection and were delicious along with the chips. We had a side of green beans which were flavoured to perfection though just a bit too aldente for our taste.
For desert we had the dark chocolate mouse with pistachio custard, roasted hazelnut ice cream and it was so yummy I could have licked the dish clean.
The only drawback with the River Grille was the very slow service, they certainly could have used a few more hands serving.
Were a bit concerned with the city center location that we might experience room noise at night, however this proved not to be a problem at all.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at The Bristol and we would certainly book again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: If city noise is a concern ask for an upper floor. we stayed on 6th floor room 637 and there was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poohbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Poohbos

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I'm delighted to read your comments on the hotel and the restaurant.

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Raphael Herzog
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great location on the harbourside, friendly staff, we had a room overlooking the harbour which is lovely and although the windows soundproofing is good I could still hear revellers at 3am when I woke so you may opt for a room at the back - you won't get the view but it will be quieter. Great deal included berries and a bottle of fizz delivered to the room - nice touch. Breakfast lovely, self serve good choice full English etc. Free parking and you can arrive as early as you like and stay after checkout time as you the hotel just validate your ticket. We have stayed twice here the first time they said they were upgrading us and we had a much bigger room, this time we got the same size room without an upgrade although friends had a much smaller room. All very comfortable though - dressing gown, slippers, nespresso machine and kettle etc. just a stones throw from the great St Nicholas Market - stalls crafty etc and then an inside market and food area where you buy from little huts from around the world, cheap atmospheric great food.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear VancouverSeagull

Thank you for your review

We are pleased you had an enjoyable weekend while staying on a bubble and berries package

It is great that you enjoyed our rooms, central location, free car parking whilst with us.

We hope to see you back soon

Best regards,

Raphael Herzog
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Although in a brilliant harbour side location, this hotel is not in the easiest of places to get to by car. When you do arrive, there is no drop-off zone. The hotel is built alongside a busy multi-storey car park, so you have to find somewhere to park, then drag your luggage down flights of concrete stairs to reception. There is direct access from certain floors to the hotel – but, not unreasonably, you have to have your room key. This might help on check out, but you have to get your car park ticket verified at reception anyway, to avoid parking charges.

As my photos show, the top (6th) floor of this hotel is made from pre-fabricated corrugated steel units, bolted on top of the concrete structure. Perfectly nice from the inside, but a bit of shock when you look out of the window. I was expecting a better view than this for £120 a night 'superior' room.

Breakfast is the ubiquitous help yourself buffet. Time was when a hotel of this class would serve nothing but freshly cooked food of your choice, but no longer. The buffet does contain smoked salmon etc. which cheaper hotels would not provide, even so, there is no excuse at all for running out of basics such as cereal bowls, bacon and croissants.

The staff, as one should expect, are all friendly, helpful and welcoming. The same cannot be said of the hotel itself, which was disappointing (and I suspect is not very wheelchair friendly).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear PaulH

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It seems that in overall you had an enjoyable stay however I would like to assure you that we welcome your feedback and as we are a learning organisation we appreciate all feedback and find it very valuable in moving forward and improving the service that we provide to our guests.

I'm a bit surprise about your comments on the car park as most of our guests are delighted about the access and the fact that the car park is complimentary as not many hotels offer that.

In regards to the decor and the building itself, I can only apologize if we did not meet your expectations.

Once again thank you for making us aware of the issues that you experienced. I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Raphael Herzog
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey,England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night at 'The Bristol' during a brief visit with friends who wanted to explore the Harbourside redevelopment that has occurred and completely transformed the centre of the city.
What a great location to stay at to enjoy the numerous activities that are within walking distance of this hotel. To go with this we received outstanding personal service at check-in from the reception team who could not have been more helpful. My room was good size with modern decoration, comfortable bed,although it did not give a good view over the water. I even managed to get he expresso coffee machine to work!
I travelled by train / taxi and benefitted from the taxi rank immediately outside the hotel entrance. My friends who travelled by car were pleased to have the car park next door, with direct access into the hotel. Most pleasingly the car park was secure and free for guests.
The only criticism I have was over breakfast. Whilst it offered a good selection of self service buffet hot and cold food,the fruit selection whilst looking fresh and appealing, totally lacked taste.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Spencer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Spencer007,

Thank you for your review,

We are pleased you had an enjoyable weekend with your friends

It is great that you enjoyed our rooms, central location, free car parking whilst with us.

I have also taken on board your comment on breakfast fruits and I will review that.

Best regards,

Raphael Herzog
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times on business and been impressed with level of service and qualituy of the rooms. Location is great too....close to harbourside with numerous bars and restaurants within easy walk and 10-15 minutes walk to Temple Meades.

Room Tip: Waterside rooms are smaller than those facing the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Warren H

Thank you for your review, I was delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I was please to read that you enjoyed our rooms and the level of service we provided.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards

Raphael Herzog
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Booked The Bristol Hotel as a 'Last Minute' break for a few days for the wife and me and found it using Trip Advisor.
Never used the Doyle Group before and if this is the standard then we will certainly use them again.
The room was very comfortable and clean the lounge bar area very comfortable and the restaurant area is very nice over looking the harbourside and the staff are very friendly.
We did not book the breakfast but on the first morning we were offered a 'Discount voucher' for the buffet breakfast instead of £12 it was £8 each so we took the offer and as you would expect plenty to choose from we didn't sample the evening menu as we choose to eat out.
The hotel is central to the city so ideally placed to explore the city the harbourside area has plenty of bars and restaurants to satisfy all taste but by going outside of the harbour area there are plenty of other places to visit.
Done some of the 'touristy things' open top tour bus found out that 'Only fools and Horses' was filmed in part of the city 'Mandela House'.
The Cabot shopping centre worth a visit as it houses quite a few restaurants as well as the normal high street and local shops.
Because of the central location parking can be an issue at some hotels but the Bristol has an NCP right next door to it and there is a link corridor to the car park from the first floor in the hotel.
When checking in we asked about the hotel parking as we were aware that they have an arrangement with NCP for hotel residence.
When you check in let them know you have a car and when you want to go out they give you a exit ticket (at no cost) we stayed 2 days the car never moved until we left and left the car park without costing us a penny a definitely a bonus!!
all in all a very nice hotel, good location and we will use this hotel chain again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the Harbourside so had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us.

I'm delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with your family and feedback such as yours is a great boost to everyone as we make ever greater strides to look after our guests.

It is great that you enjoyed our central location, car park, bar and Breakfast whilst with us.

We guarantee best available rates on our own website should you plan to come back in the future .

Best regards,

Raphael Herzog
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#5 of 38 in Bristol
1,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Doyle Collection, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing