We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic modern hotel in a great location.”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic modern hotel in a great location.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was my first time at the Bristol hotel as I usually chose the Marriot Royal. I like to be near Park Street and the harbourside. The hotel doesnt have a spa and pool but makes up for this with beautifully designed modern interior and great service. The cocktail bar is really chic and the restaurant was reasonably good, the food was good but not amazing but the service was excellent.
The rooms are not huge but are beautifully designed. There is a coffee machine but no tea if you are a tea drinker as I am.
I always judge a hotel on the toiletries and the Bristol hotel passed the test with lovely temple spa products.
I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol_thrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Carol_thrav,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review,

It is pleasing to see you had an enjoyable stay, our cocktail bar and temple spa products being some of the highlights.

I am surprised to read you had no tea making facilities in the room, in all our bedrooms we provide such facilities in addition to the Nespresso machines in our deluxe rooms, however they are concealed in one of the presses, generally under the television.

We hope to see you back at the hotel in the future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
general manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,829
    1,164
    342
    112
    62
See reviews for
349
1,879
127
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at The Bristol Hotel last night. The reception was busy when we arrived [about 6:30pm], but the staff were friendly. Our room was large with a really comfortable bed. The bathroom was small, but as it was only for overnight, it was fine. Shampoos etc were good. The view from our window was just other rooms, so not great, We were eating in Bristol, so out of the hotel for the evening. When we arrived back,we had a drink in the bar....the most uncomfortable sofas ever, but barman good.
When we arrived at the hotel there was a tray in the corridor full of crockery and this was still there when we went up to our room at about midnight. Sound asleep when we were awakened in the middle of the night by other guests arriving back and knocking on doors as they went past. This happened a couple of times and we think one reveller probably fell asleep outside our door for about an hour! We did mention this when we checked out and the receptionist said that it can be a problem on Friday and Saturday night.
I notice that other reviews mention coffee makers......no, we had a kettle and teabags/coffee. Suited us as we drink tea mainly.
We would book here again as it was really a really comfy bed and to us that is the main thing we want.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babs1833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear babs1833,

Thank you for your comprehensive review, it is great that you had a good stay with us and found our beds to your liking.

We generally have security carrying out frequent floor walks during the night to deter noise makers, I am sorry on this occasion it was not enough.

Only our Deluxe room types have the nespresso coffee machines, however all rooms have tea / coffee making facilities.

We hope you will visit again,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Well appointed hotel in the town situated within easy walking distance to attractions. Parking is easy as they have a large car park on the side of the hotel with direct access. The room was very comfortable and clean. I had dinner in Thai Edge restaurant just up the road so did not us the hotel restaurant for dinner just for breakfast, which again was a good buffet. I would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Gordon B,

Thank you for your review.

it is great that you find the hotel is suitable for your business needs. Should you stay regular at the hotel it might be worth looking into joining our GHA loyalty programme which offers some superb perks for members.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lovely comfortable hotel by harbour side and good good. Good sightseeing tours at Bristol. Comfortable de luxe rooms with everything. Easy to park car at NCP next door to,hotel. Friendly staff and restaurant staff. Helpful reception staff.m

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy414_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Poppy414_12,

Thank you for leaving us a review after your "mini break" in Bristol.

We are delighted you liked our deluxe rooms!!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and remember our best available rates are found on our direct website,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

the purpose of our trip was to see my family - I am from Bristol (50 years ago!) and my husband and I go to Bristol every three or four years for a reunion. We have stayed at The Bristol Hotel the last two times and it has been a pleasure both times. Each time I have held a get- together for my family and the arrangements and service from the staff have been excellent. The location couldn't be better and the free parking is an additional bonus!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Isabelle D,

Thank you for the great review,

It is pleasing for the team to see you enjoyed the facilities and location.

I personally only know Bristol with seven years and have seen amazing transformations on the waterfront in that time, It must be amazing to have seen it fifty years ago and now comeback every few years, roll on progress!!

We hope to see you again at the next reunion,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was my second visit to The Bristol Hotel and once again, I can't fault the staff for politeness and helpfulness. However, my room was very different from my last visit, being much smaller and not having a Nespresso machine. My evening meal, ordered via room service was not good value for money. I paid £13.50 for what was described as a creamy chicken curry but was in fact, stringy chicken in a curry stock. I would have just let this go but I had the same experience on my last visit when I ordered a meal via room service: burnt chips and a burger for £12+. I have read good reviews about the restaurant, so maybe it is just room service meals..or maybe I have been unlucky on both occasions. Breakfast in The River Grille was lovely with a lot to choose from....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Val B,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and it is great to hear you find the team polite and helpful.

I appreciate it is of little solace to you at this point, but we have today (25.04) launched a new Room service menu as a result of recent feedback. The new menu is more aligned to our overall offering throughout the hotel thus improving the quality and time it takes to prepare. We envisage this will have an immediate impact on the offering.

If you drop me a note to let me know when you are staying in the hotel again, I would be happy to organise complimentary room service for you and perhaps you could give me your feedback on our new offering.

I hope to welcome you back to the Bristol hotel in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
mark_payne@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were in Bristol for one night at a concert at Colston Hall and The Bristol Hotel was an ideal location less than 10 minutes stroll from the venue. The hotel is in a very lively area, with many resturants and bars in the immediate vicinity. We chose a smallish, entry level room, which was fine for an overnight stay, but we would have wanted more space (and bigger than a standard double bed) for any longer. We found it quite warm so resorted to leaving the window open, and with a busy road outside (people rather than cars) this led to a quite disturbed night. We did not like that trays left in the corridor were not cleared quickly. Although not particularly busy, service in the nice-looking bar was very slow and we eventually gave up waiting. But overall it was a convenient base, and with a room at less than £100 for the night, good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear SAW51,

Thank you for your review and apologies for the fact the hotel did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.

Standards of service and attention to detail are the hallmark of our business and we will be using your perfectly valid points to ensure we improve our product,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing