We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel - great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good hotel - great breakfast!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good welcome on arrival, efficient staff, nice bar area and excellent breakfast (both in the restaurant and on room service). The rooms are a good size and standard but were a bit corporate feeling rather than decorated in my preferred boutque / modern style. Overall a very good stay and couldn't fault anything apart from the room decor.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear SarahKC,

Thank you for your review,

We have a few different room types and decor, so if back at The Bristol Hotel, be sure to mention to one of our front office team which room you were previously in and we can allocate you a different scheme, availability permitting.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,807
    1,150
    338
    111
    59
See reviews for
338
1,860
126
675
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights 13/14th April really was enjoyable room very comfortable with comfy bed,tea/ coffee facilities espresso machine and flat screen tv.
Reception staff very helpful and pleasant, relaxing lounge and bar area, great restaurant with lovely view of the waterside food was delicious and well presented. We parked our car in the adjacent car park from Sat midday infill Monday midday free of charge.we took a boat trip around the docks and an open topped bus tour around the city. we had lunch on a boat called under the stars moored just yards from the hotel they served tapas very very nice and we had an evening meal at Thai edge again just yards from the hotel all in all a very enjoyable break very recommendable.

Room Tip: High level for quiteness
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilly1StokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Gilly1stokeontrent,

Thank you for the great review,

The Bristol harbour boat trip is a wonderful experience, so much so we are launching a Bed and breakfast package to incorporate one over the coming weeks.

Your choice of restaurants was also very good, there is huge variety and quality for enjoying food and drink on the harbour.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

In short ...

Speedy and very evasive check in. I appreciated this as I had made a late check in and obviously I was keen to get to my room.

The bed is arguably the most comfortable bed I have ever stayed in. A fantastic shower with great water pressure despite the time of morning I went for one.

Didnt stay for the breakfast so cant comment.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The car park next to the hotel is very tight on entry be careful in large cars
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Jim T,

Thank you for the review,

We are glad you had a great stay!

We hope you'll come back and visit again in the future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a great overnight stay at The Bristol. The team on reception were excellent, courteous, well-informed and speedy. The room was lovely, very smart, very comfortable, super bathroom. The location of the hotel is superb for the floating harbour, the Old Town, and very good theatre and restaurants. If check-in was speedy and no hassle so was check-out. The hotel has links through to a multi-storey next door so absolutely no problem. A call to say we were leaving our room and everything was done. Smashing barman serving great cocktails in cool environment. Will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear RosB,

Thank you for the excellent review,

We are delighted our font office and bar teams impressed you,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
general manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went to see a concert at the Colston Hall and wanted to stay some place close to it as we didn’t want to walk across town late at night. Bristol city centre after kicking out time is not a party place ! We were greeted with profound professionalism at the reception and offered a complimentary upgrade. The receptionists asked us if we would like the river or the courtyard view – we chose the river view and made the right choice as we couldnt get away from the amazing view that was the beautiful city of Bristol. Those opting for the courtyard view had to contend with looking into some thing that looked like a a Russian gulag (jeez!). The room was divine and the complimentary nesspreso coffee was sensational – from our height (and the doped up caffeine state from the nespressos) there was no way that we could hear the inane mewls from the drunken crowds down by the waterfront as they went through endless repetitions of ‘wonderwall’ – captivated by their own anebriation into thinking that they were actually having a good time. Breakfast the next morning was surprising pleasant – the pitcher and the piano. We were relaxed and had a good time and could not see, hear or smell any vestige from the drunken crowds that infested the water front only 5 or 6 hours before hand. In short the hotel is a glorious sanctuary in the middle of the drunken storm – stay here and enjoy !

Room Tip: always chose the river views and NEVER the courtyard views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Carl427,

Thank you for the review,

Bristol city centre can certainly be "lively" at the weekends!!

We generally offer the option of the interior rooms as although they don’t come with the views, they are undoubtedly that bit quieter. Some of our interior rooms are also larger than the waterfront rooms so there is a little trade off depending on what you are after.

Hopefully we will welcome you back to Bristol in the future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
general manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We enjoyed a great stay here from Friday to Sunday with a 3 course dinner included and free parking.
Check-in was very quick and as we had asked for a quiet room we were given a top floor room which was very modern, large flat screen TV, proper coffee making machine, the bathroom was smallish but who stays in there long and the views over the city roofs was splendid.
The food and service in the restaurant was excellent both for dinner and breakfast, however, if you have difficulty walking you might find the steps, both up and down a problem as there is no lift to help.
This was a lovely hotel and I would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Margaretp49,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

I am glad the restaurant and hotel lived up to your expectations,

Remember if booking again our best available rates are found on our direct website,

Sincerely,

mark Payne
general manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

check in very quick, rooms modern and very clean bed reallly comfortable bathroom small but well equipt also heating on all night so room very warm. food excellent however drinks on the expensive side.
1 comment 2 tiny lifts for a large hotel and on the plus free car parking

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Nicola M,

Thank you for the review,

We have two lifts, one can only fit 4 whilst the second one can comfortable hold 8, we hope to get the smaller lift up too the same size as the larger one over the summer this year.

We hope to see you again at The Bristol Hotel

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
1,149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Doyle Collection, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing