We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a joy to visit”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always a joy to visit”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Whenever we visit our son in Bristol, it's a joy to stay at The Bristol Hotel. From the telephone call to check availability, through check-in and during our stay, to finally (sadly) checkingout, we have never been met with anything but a very high standard of professionalism by friendly, helpful staff. Special thanks must always go to the front desk staff, who are polite and informative to all their guests, yes, even the awkward ones!

Breakfast is buffet style in the restaurant, overlooking the water..There is always a good selection of fruit juices, fresh fruit, cereal, cheeses, rolls, croissants, toast and pastries, not forgetting the cooked English breakfast section with a choice of eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, grilled tomatoes, mushrooms etc. etc. Tea, freshly brewed coffee, cappuccino, hot chocolate etc. are also offered.

The hotel has a great location, overlooking the water and is ideally situated for sightseeing, shopping, the theatre, or visiting art galleries etc. Temple Meads station is nearby and there are bus stops right outside the hotel. A bonus too, is the adjacent car park (no hunting around for parking and a long walk back to the hotel with bags!)

The rooms are clean and well maintained, with flat-screen TV, one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in, tea and coffee making facilities, a really good, hand-held hairdryer (not one of those annoying ones that are fixed and difficult to use), iron and ironing board. Our room also had a Nespresso machine (delicious coffee!) and the use of robes and slippers. Oh yes, and a very good, strong shower, over the bath.
After a good many visits (and looking forward already to the next one), the manager should be proud of his hotel and especially his staff, who always make us feel so very welcome.

Thank you, once again, for a relaxing and enjoyable stay last night, can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water, if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dijox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Dijox,

Thank you for taking the time to leave an excellent and comprehensive review of the hotel.

As you pointed out, I am very proud of the hotel and endeavour to make it even better each day as does the rest of the team.

We are glad to be your hotel of choice whilst in Bristol and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,844
    1,172
    348
    112
    63
See reviews for
355
1,889
128
689
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked this hotel about a month in advance and the excellent customer service received upon booking was replicated throughout our stay. The staff here are friendly, efficient and obliging. We received a free upgrade which was greatly appreciated so the room was a good size with a neat coffee machine, robes and a nice harbour view. Everything was clean and the decor was in good order. Overall, the room was as described and very comfortable including sumptuous pillows and a very comfortable bed. We ordered breakfast to our room which was of a good standard (the sausages were excellent and my egg poached to perfection). I can't understand why people would complain about outside noise if they've booked a hotel in such close proximity to the city's night life hub. On the 6th floor this wasn't an issue at all and we were not distracted by any noise. The free car parking is a real bonus and makes this hotel good value for money. If you're looking for a good quality hotel in central Bristol then I highly recommend The Bristol. There are cheaper options but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: great views and quieter rooms on the sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewinewurzel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Sandbags78,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review,

We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to our Deluxe rooms, the Nespresso machines tend to go down well so we are glad you enjoyed it also.

I have also passed on your review to our room service department who appreciate the positive feedback on our Breakfast,

Our main aim is to offer luxury, quality and value for money and it is great that you felt we delivered on this.

we hoe to welcome you back to The Bristol hotel in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I do not recommend this hotel - neither of us managed to sleep last night. The bed was completely worn out and dipped in the middle, and so when you lie down you end up rolling into the middle of the bed. They tried to disguise the worn out bed with a mattress topper but it was still really uncomfortable. I woke up with a bad back.

Even worse was their customer service, we told the front desk who said they couldn't do anything about it. We asked for the manager and he also insisted as we had paid an advance purchase rate (£95) he could not process a refund. This turned out to be a lie and eventually we were offered a 50% refund and if we go back again we can have a discount. We won't be returning to take up the offer. The primary reason to stay in a hotel is to have a bed to sleep in, I am shocked that we weren't offered a full refund when we had no functional bed in the room. For almost £100 a night this is not what you expect.

Also if two of you are going pack an extra towel as we only had one in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amanda_50101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Amanda_50101,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review,

Clearly the hotel did not live up to your expectations and please accept my apologies for this.

Generally we find the toppers are more comfortable than having a split bed, and it has been very successful for us to date but appreciate everyone's sleeping needs are different.

I believe Mike our Rooms division manager has been in touch with regards the issue and trust it was resolved to your satisfaction.

If I can be of any further assistance please don't hesitate to get in touch directly,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Clean and well located but distinctly average - poor sound proofing so lots of neighbouring noises. Bed was comfortable. Coffee machine in the room ddint have a water container. Room service cappucinos were luke warm. Breakfast was a buffet and average. Service was poor - my wife ordered a decaf tea on arrival and it didn't arrive until we were finished. We probably wouldn't go back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesGGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

On arrival we were welcomed to our stay by friendly staff. When checking in, we were asked if we wanted a "quiet" room. This we found rather odd as I thought everyone would like a quiet room, so I answered yes. We were given a room which was clean and well furnished, but then I wondered if I would have accepted a "noisy" room perhaps we would have had a room with a view over the harbour, rather than a view over another roof ?
Unfortunately, the quiet room became noisy when the housekeeping staff arrived each morning. One morning, even the fire alarm was sounded.
We are not early risers, and when spending time away we hope the "do not disturb" door label will be noticed.
Apart from that, the hotel offered everything we expected. A great location, nearby free parking and comfortable surroundings

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buster B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We chose this hotel especially for its location as the trip was to celebrate my birthday and frequent old haunts from the time we both lived in Bristol. Upon arrival a refundable charge was deducted from our credit card in anticipation of purchases made from the mini bar which I have never encountered before. Our "deluxe" room was nicely decorated and true to the picture on the website but both the bedroom and bathroom were small and furthermore there was no mini bar in evidence. Worst of all the room overlooked Princes Street and offices opposite when I had been hopeful of a quayside view. However, the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in. The cleanliness of our room and hotel in general cannot be faulted. The bar area was very civilised with a nice selection of cocktails although we did not spend time there during our stay. Breakfast was standard fare. To end on a positive note, the staff were extremely professional and helful. Maybe I expected too much as this hotel is rated 5th in Bristol and I have very high standards. Please do not let my review deter you from staying here but do your homework in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a quayside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear totjelly,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Bristol hotel.

Overall you appeared to have had a good stay, with the exception of a few items.

We don't have mini bars in any of our bedrooms so I am not sure why one of the team would make that analogy, I will however ensure they all see the review for future reference.

We take a credit card "pre authorisation" at check in which puts a hold on funds in your account, (usually £30 per night) this allows you to charge additional items to your room whilst also providing security to the hotel. The hotel does not hold the money, the bank does. The hotel cannot access the funds until you enter your pin number on check out.
This is very much standard practice in all hotels.

Hopefully we will see you back at the hotel in the future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed in this hotel early February.
Easy and pleasant check in, and the reception area/surrounding area very nice looking, although I couldn't see the reception at first because it was behind a big pillar!
Room was good and well equipped although a bit small, as was the bathroom, I don't think all rooms are though, I was happy enough as we had a nice view facing the water.
I did find the room cold though. The blower in the room was hot for about a minute, then starting blowing cold, then hot, and it was loud. Didn't hear any noise from outside though even if it was busy! Bed was a small double, but I'm used to king sized.
Good location for what we wanted although slight walk to the main shops. I would stay again, worth the price paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger sized room and if you are a cold person like me take a warm jumper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare-pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Loyalroyal1871,

Thank you for your feedback,

We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and waterfront views and that overall you found the hotel to be of good value,

Remember, if returning, best rates are guaranteed on our direct website,

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bristol hotel,

sincerely

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#5 of 38 in Bristol
1,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Doyle Collection, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing