We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our third visit to the Bristol hotel, our first stay was very enjoyable. On our second visit in Aug 2012, for one night on the way down to Cornwall, we were put in a room next to the hotel's gym. We were woken early doors to the running/cycling machine pounding away. Not good and not happy. We reported this to the management and spoke to Killian who was very apologetic and advised to let him know of our next visit so they could make up for the dissapointment of this room. We were planning to visit Bristol to meet family in February and so emailed Killian to see what they could arrange for us. We booked the lowest priced superior rooms, and email confirmed we would be upgraded to King Size Deluxe rooms on the 5th floor with the bathrobes, slippers and Nespresso machines. We also got drinks vouchers for the Shore bar and were impressed with the service and attempt to make up for our previous visit.

Check in was swift and efficient, we parked in the enjoying NCP for the weekend which is free to hotel guests (ticket from reception) The room was lovely and spacious with large bed, and seating area, desk etc, bathroom was very small though but all very clean and modern. We will most definitely stay here again, the facilities are good, great location and very impressed with the service. Sleep quality only gets average because on a personal level we found the bed way too hard - and it was two mattresses put together.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKymani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,869
    1,186
    352
    112
    63
See reviews for
362
1,911
129
698
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (903)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is, like many modern hotels, well located, comfortable, clean, well equipped and with good food in pleasant surroundings. What makes it special, extra special, is that its staff were sincerely caring and clearing wanting us to have a good stay. We thought our first visit might have been a fluke but this second stay was every bit as good as our first. As long as we have to visit Bristol we shall have no hesitation about returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Graham W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, Your positive feedback gives the team here a great boost.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bristol hotel on your next visit to Bristol,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at The Bristol on the 9th feb for one evening. It's very clean and the decor is nice and fresh. Disappointed to go to our room and find that we had to climb over carpet fitters and their tools to get to it! The corridor leading to our room was a building site with tools everywhere, actually a bit dangerous if you ask me! The tools were also left in the corridor over night and not put away.
The room itself was nice, albeit quite small. As we only stayed one night this wasn't a problem. The bed was very cosy, but the shower was not very good.
It's a good location, I would recommend it to people coming to Bristol for the evening and want something a little bit nicer than a premier inn.
Had the breakfast in the morning, nice but not worth £12
Staff were very friendly and helpful
All in all I would say it's ok, nothing special!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikka p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear nikka p,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we are delighted you found the hotel decor clean and fresh.

I would like to offer my apologies if your stay was disrupted by our renovations, we continue to invest in the property and are currently laying new carpet on some of our floors, but I apologise if it looked unsightly.

We will also take your comments on board regarding our breakfast.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed in a room on the 6th floor for 2 nights. On the first night I arrived after dark and turned on the light, the switch by the door only operates a small spot above the door, there are no other ceiling lights in the room so the rest of the room was in darkness and I had to fumble around on the power cables of the bedside lamps to light the room. The room had neither a clock nor a radio and as all the labels were worn off the TV remote I couldn't work out if it was possible to get radio that way either. The walls of the rooms were so thin that I could have joined in the conversations happening in the next room. At 5am on the 1st night I was woken suddenly by a loud noise coming from somewhere on the roof, it sounded like an extractor of some sort and it didn't stop for almost half an hour. This didn't happen on the second night and the room was generally clean (with the exception of the carpet) and the bed was comfortable. The catering at the event I was attending was good but could have benefited from some salad or fruit as it was weighted very heavily towards deep fried stuff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pudkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great hotel, nice riverside location. Stayed in Deluxe room - very spacious and comfortable and modern. Usually like to try new hotels, but would stay in this one if came to Bristol. Parking next door which I think the hotel paid for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S7AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear S7AN,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

You quite rightly pointed out about the free car parking, the hotel is currently offering complimentary car parking to our guests, we hope to make this a permanent feature.
We are also glad to hear you found the deluxe rooms to your taste and also that you fond them spacious.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bristol hotel on your next visit to the city,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Even though the exterior of the hotel might not look great, when you get in the environment is very confortable and it feels like a 5 star. The standard and deluxe rooms are great, nice decor, coffee machines (on deluxe rooms only), great bath and shower and an even better breakfast buffet. Great value for money and I will definetely reccomend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside of the builidng or back of the building are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Ana N,

Thank you for leaving us a review,

We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and decor of the hotel, there is certainly a large variance from the outside of the property to that of the interior decoration!!

If you are back in Bristol, remember, we guarantee best rates available will be found on our direct website,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here to celebrate my daughters 21st. Really handy location, dead centre of Bristol down by harbourside, graet pub next door but one The Shakespeare also worth a visit for food and drink.The only gripe would be over the very small bathroom, hardly space to swing a cat and the ventilation as a result was poor and the place became rapido like that of a sauna! The room overall was good though with massive full lenghth windows and glass line, during the afternoon it was very cold in the room and as a result of two phone calls to reception we eventually got a very small oil heater which was totally inadequate to throw out anything but back ground heat. Having said all that overall the hotel was nice and the front desk staff were more than friendly and had excellent manners in welcoming you and checxking in/out. Thanks for that :)

Room Tip: choose a room which faces the inner core of the building, it ensures quiet night,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pompeypaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Der pompeypaulo,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review,

I am delighted you found the Shakespeare next door, it is a great Bar, but then, there are so many of them close to the harbour and I guess that's why our location is so ideal.

Your comments on our bathrooms are also noted, I have highlighted before that they stem from an unfortunate design from the early 1960's - we will certainly review the size of them should the rooms go through a large refurbishment,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 38 in Bristol
1,200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing