We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally comfortable but with a few problems”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed in a room on the 6th floor for 2 nights. On the first night I arrived after dark and turned on the light, the switch by the door only operates a small spot above the door, there are no other ceiling lights in the room so the rest of the room was in darkness and I had to fumble around on the power cables of the bedside lamps to light the room. The room had neither a clock nor a radio and as all the labels were worn off the TV remote I couldn't work out if it was possible to get radio that way either. The walls of the rooms were so thin that I could have joined in the conversations happening in the next room. At 5am on the 1st night I was woken suddenly by a loud noise coming from somewhere on the roof, it sounded like an extractor of some sort and it didn't stop for almost half an hour. This didn't happen on the second night and the room was generally clean (with the exception of the carpet) and the bed was comfortable. The catering at the event I was attending was good but could have benefited from some salad or fruit as it was weighted very heavily towards deep fried stuff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pudkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,846 - 2,852 of 3,777 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great hotel, nice riverside location. Stayed in Deluxe room - very spacious and comfortable and modern. Usually like to try new hotels, but would stay in this one if came to Bristol. Parking next door which I think the hotel paid for.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S7AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear S7AN,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

You quite rightly pointed out about the free car parking, the hotel is currently offering complimentary car parking to our guests, we hope to make this a permanent feature.
We are also glad to hear you found the deluxe rooms to your taste and also that you fond them spacious.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bristol hotel on your next visit to the city,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Even though the exterior of the hotel might not look great, when you get in the environment is very confortable and it feels like a 5 star. The standard and deluxe rooms are great, nice decor, coffee machines (on deluxe rooms only), great bath and shower and an even better breakfast buffet. Great value for money and I will definetely reccomend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside of the builidng or back of the building are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Ana N,

Thank you for leaving us a review,

We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and decor of the hotel, there is certainly a large variance from the outside of the property to that of the interior decoration!!

If you are back in Bristol, remember, we guarantee best rates available will be found on our direct website,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here to celebrate my daughters 21st. Really handy location, dead centre of Bristol down by harbourside, graet pub next door but one The Shakespeare also worth a visit for food and drink.The only gripe would be over the very small bathroom, hardly space to swing a cat and the ventilation as a result was poor and the place became rapido like that of a sauna! The room overall was good though with massive full lenghth windows and glass line, during the afternoon it was very cold in the room and as a result of two phone calls to reception we eventually got a very small oil heater which was totally inadequate to throw out anything but back ground heat. Having said all that overall the hotel was nice and the front desk staff were more than friendly and had excellent manners in welcoming you and checxking in/out. Thanks for that :)

Room Tip: choose a room which faces the inner core of the building, it ensures quiet night,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pompeypaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Der pompeypaulo,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review,

I am delighted you found the Shakespeare next door, it is a great Bar, but then, there are so many of them close to the harbour and I guess that's why our location is so ideal.

Your comments on our bathrooms are also noted, I have highlighted before that they stem from an unfortunate design from the early 1960's - we will certainly review the size of them should the rooms go through a large refurbishment,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The management at The Bristol were very helpful. They responded to my room requests quickly and sorted them with no fuss at all, including changing the bedding for my friend (who is allergic to feathers) before we arrived. The decor in the hotel is lovely and the beds big and comfy. The bar area is also really nicely finished. It was good to have our own ironing board and iron in the room, and the espresso machine was a great touch.

One small criticism is the lack of storage - one tiny wardrobe space for two people with no drawers is not enough for anything longer than a couple of nights. The bathroom was also quite small - not an issue for me, but for anyone of the larger persuasion they might find it a little tricky maneuvering around the door. The carpet could also do with a good vacuum around the edges! Overall cleanliness was good, however.

We had a really lovely stay here and will definitely stay again if/when in Bristol. It is good value for what you get and is really well placed, plus the free NCP car park (paid for by the hotel) is a real bonus - parking at hotels (free or otherwise) is not standard in Bristol!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplepiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

As mentioned, the outside of the hotel looks quite dull, but once inside all was good. Not too big to get lost ( which happens) We thought our room was a little small and only a shower, but I guess you have to pay more for this. The service was all very good and breakfast was excellant which was included, if you want a frothy coffee you have to ask - but all done very efficiently. Drinks a little pricey but then most hotels are ! You get free parking too.

Room Tip: We were facing the River, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lima R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have passed by this hotel many times when in Bristol but not stayed there before, maybe because it looks like a 1970's concrete bunker with NCP car park bolted onto the side!
The Bristol Hotel is conveniently located by the old docks about 600m from Broadmead, so you can walk to most parts of the city centre and railway station within 10-15 minutes.
I chose the hotel for convenience to an evening meeting, with early departure the day after, and was quite impressed with the whole experience. Public areas are well appointed, breakfast is taken in a dining room overlooking the dock. The adjoining car park is also very useful.
Staff are all friendly and quietly efficient. Bar food was expensive for what it was.
My room was comfortable and, although the decor/furnishings are becoming a bit dated, was clean and well maintained.
Overall good value and would use again when in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $98 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing