We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality and friendly”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 20, 2012

City hotels often lack ambience but not so in the Bristol Hotel where staff are all very professional and friendly. Parking is easy and the hotel is ideally situated across the canal from bars and restaurants and is a short walk from shops.
On our first stay we suffered noise from over-exuberant guests returning to their rooms in the early hours of the morning. When I mentioned this on the Doyle Survey, I was immediately contacted by the manager. On our second visit he ensured that we had a quiet room and met us on our arrival.
The ambience in the lounge is very pleasant with live music gently playing in the background at diner and during Sunday breakfast. The dining room looks out over the canal.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: On weekends the centre of Bristol is very lively and so if this is not your scene, it is advisable t...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilgrim_father_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,682)
There are newer reviews for The Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,837 - 2,843 of 3,682 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

It is hard to add much new to the many warm reviews of this hotel but we, too,really enjoyed our stay. The staff were uniformly helpful and effective. And, as others have said, the fact that you can park easily is a city centre treat. As we left the reception staff made quite sure that we had our exit ticket to get out without extra payment, as the literature promises. You can even access the car park from most of the hotel floors and park you car at the same level as many of the rooms if you want.

The location in the centre of Bristol is excellent. If you pay the extra to have room overlooking the floating harbour area and choose the 6th floor you will have a great view over the lively night time scene. Behind that is Bristol cathedral, fronted by the imposing Marriott hotel building with the Wills tower on the university behind it. Morning views in the direction of the Avon gorge are also a treat, especially if it is sunny, as the sun shines from behind you in the morning.

We used one of the smaller conference rooms in the main hotel area and it was well laid out with a quiet projector which is excellent if you find fan noise distracting or are hard of hearing. The lunch provided was strikingly good for a finger lunch at a conference.

From the outside the building is charmless, being a 1960s or 70s concrete effort glued onto a car park builiding that looks like .... a car park building. But, don't let that put you off. The interior is pleasant and modern, the rooms excellent with large very comfortable beds and good quality bathrooms. It is kept beautifully clean too and everything we tried worked.

There was a good selection at breakfast with smoothies as well as fruit juice. Would I change anything? Well, yes, I the fried eggs probably deserved a better source of eggs. They were doubtless fresh but not the best flavoured eggs I have met.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a view over the floating harbour on floor 6. This is an extension on...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Never have we stayed in a hotel where ALL of the staff were so attentive. Whatever the management put in the tea should be bottled as other hoteliers could do with it!
Our room with a panoramic view of the cathedral and Cabot's Tower was perfect. Our dinner and breakfasts were extremely good.
The location in the heart of the city is great for exploring and the car park that adjoins it took the worry of finding a suitable place to park away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertiebuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear bertiebuttons

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us.
I'm glad to read that you had an wonderful stay and we hope to see you back soon.
Best regards

Raphael Herzog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Upon arrival I looked on with hesitation, as we both found the appearance of the hotel from the outside a bit horrible, old and more like a 3*hotel.However once we got inside my fears disappeared and the layout, staff and general exciting atmosphere were truly lovely. staff on the reception were friendly, despite needing to ask a few times as to why a hold was placed in my account until check out!
I had booked the room with the sweet package, and were asked when we'd like it to be sent up. when my boyfriend and I got back from our meal out (hotel is well located around some lovely restaurants), the marshmallows, chocolate and sparkling wine were all prepared with great presentation.
The rooms was very spacious, bed was comfy and massive, bathroom was clean and nice shower/bath. we were well supplied with bath robes and shoes, as well as good iron + board, tea's and brilliant coffee machine, and safe. I also found the room to be very well supplied with information about fire and safety, contact numbers and all information I could have needed.
Breakfast was THE BEST! Food was delicious, and there were so many juice's, tea's and great views! what i loved the most, was the beautiful live music being played on the white grand piano.
My only dislikes were: room was terribly hot during the night, and as curtains were thick opening windows did nothing. Bath towels were provided- but only ONE?
I know this is based in a city, but our view wasn't the best...over looking a brick wall!
the system of coming down for breakfast was slow, as you had to wait for a table to be free and relayed (so not great if going to a business meeting).
only 2 lifts, and due to the many floors- took 15 minutes sometimes to get back to room.
and our door keys stopped working at one point.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A lovely experience. All the staff were very attentive and went the extra mile. Great location with cheap parking next door. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of foods. All in all a superb stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel8304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had a wonderful experience at The Bristol Hotel.
One of our pet hates when booking a city break is the parking - no problem here, the hotel and car park are conjoined and they have great concessions eg the weekend between Friday evening and Monday morning is free.
Our room on the 6th floor was really well appointed with great views over the docks, queen bed, all mod cons including Nespresso machine, robes and slippers.
Breakfast was OK - I've had better but also had a lot worse.
We ate on the Saturday at the Shakespeare pub just outside and had really good food and great service. We also ate just over the quay at Bordeaux Quay and loved the food and atmosphere.
Bristol ( SS Great Britain, M Shed, 12 century Cathedral all in walking distance) is a fab weekend destination and The Bristol Hotel is well situated in the centre of everything. Regular river ferries - similar to the water taxis in Venice - run from almost outside the hotel. We had no noise from the dock area but it's possible that in October people sit inside more.
Clifton suspension bridge - couple of miles away - is a must see.
If you are going to Bristol for a few days only then I recommend The Bristol Hotel.

Room Tip: Facing the dock - high up
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uptown_girl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad to read that you had ane enjoyable stay with us while celebrating your birthday.

I hope to see you back soon in the future and when making your next reservation don't forget that the best rate are available on our website.

Best Regards,

Raphael Herzog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I visited this hotel with my wife to watch the Lion King at the Hippodrome.
First time in Bristol - felt special when we arrived as the reception staff were welcoming and very helpful. Hotel was well located for theatre. Room was excellent, well equipped, well furnished and good views, Bottle of champagne and fruit on arrival were worth the cost.
Parking was in NCP right next to hotel and included in price.

Room Tip: Ask for 6th floor facing the river. Even if you are going for a short visit - we stayed one night b...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alextsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $112 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing