We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Stay”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We enjoyed our short visit very much. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.
Our room was perfect and had a lovely view of the docks.
The breakfast was superb (plenty of food for vegetarians)
The staff at breakfast were ridiculously nice.
Highly recomended

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themarlboroughfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,888
    1,201
    355
    112
    63
See reviews for
366
1,931
131
702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (908)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We only stayed one night on a birthday trip to Bristol. We booked in advance and got a great deal for bed only (£62 for a superior double) with a harbourside view. The hotel is in an excellent central location, right at the heart of things, yet in easy walking distance of Temple Meads railway station. We were given a quiet and very comfortably appointed room on the top floor, with terrific views. But what impressed us most was the warm and friendly welcome we received at Reception every time we approached the staff there, from arrival through to departure. They made us feel like the most valued of guests and they could not have been more courteous or efficient, as for example when we asked if we could leave our backpacks with them, after we had vacated our room, so that we could spend the day in the city without the weight of them. We also appreciated that the room was ours till midday, so we did not have to rush in the morning and were able to stroll out for a leisurely breakfast and have the room to come back to later on. We would certainly choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: We liked the top floor facing the harbour: the room was quiet and the view panoramic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cagb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Only stayed one Friday night but it was great. Parking in the NCP next door was a bonus which swung my choice of hotel in the end, but I'm very glad it did. We were able to leave the car parked there all day Saturday for free and enjoy Bristol. As all the reviews say, lovely staff, lovely hotel, great buffet breakfast. Our room was quite small, but we didn't spend a lot of time in there. The windows opened so you could have fresh air.
Next time we will request a room without an inter-connecting door to the next room as in the morning our neighbours had visitors speaking quite loudly, but this was the only time we could hear them.
Very easy walk to Colston Hall or Hippodrome.
St Nicholas Market has got to be visited.

Room Tip: avoid interconnecting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights recently and found the hotel to be very nice. The reception staff were lovely and when we asked for a room with a view were upgraded to a deluxe room overlooking the water. The room was a decent size and had everything you'd expect in a hotel room; kettle, ironing board and safe. The location was good for the things we wanted to do. The only annoyance was that on Monday morning the housekeeping staff were very noisy from about 8am onwards knocking on doors and saying 'housekeeping' and doors were constantly being slammed, well, so it seemed as the noise reverberated down the hallway. It became so bad we just laughed! Obviously they wanted everyone up and out! Overall the hotel was good and we'd recommend it, however, may just try out somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the water were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zippyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLOS
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The location of this hotel is really good. Not only does it face the harbor side, it’s close to Cabot Circus/city center shopping, and St Nicholas Market. St. Nicholas Market has lots of trendy little shops, street food and plenty of atmosphere. (It only takes about 20 min or so to walk to Cabot Circus, and it’s a nice walk seeing lots of the old town) There are also lots of places to eat and drink outside the hotel, plenty of outside tables. Just across a little foot bridge from the hotel is a harbor side walk that circles around so you can end up back near the hotel. Parking was free for the weekend in the Car Park next to the hotel. (they give you a new parking ticket at the hotel when you check out)

We went with the Winter Warmer Package instead of a standard room. The price was the same, but it gives you a bottle of Sparkling wine with marshmallows and chocolate fountain type chocolate to dip. We also requested a room with a view of the Harbor side, and were not let down. We were on the top floor with amazing views of parts of the city and of course the river/canal. We really liked the room, all good reviews are spot on for this hotel. Especially the Espresso Machine. We don’t normally eat breakfast in a hotel when the most cities offer such nice Cafes and Restaurants Our package included breakfast so we did try it. It was the standard hotel buffet you can get in must UK Hotels. Not that there was anything wrong with it mind you, it was nice and the staff refreshed several items while we were eating. . The two waitresses we had, were really good too.
Walking around Bristol make us realize we will have to come back and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for views of the harbor with a upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spydog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to see you back soon

Regards,
Raphael Herzog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wonderful partner took me to Bristol for the weekend as a Birthday treat and he chose to stay in The Bristol Hotel. I am very hard to please and I have to say that the presentation of the entire Hotel was faultless and the service was sublime!

As a music lover I lapped up the opportunity of having breakfast whilst a gentleman played the beautiful white piano by the resturant! There was also live music in the evenings which was a pleasure to listen to while I sipped on a virgin cocktail :)

Our room was very comfortable, I loved the toiletries, the nespresso machine, and the large LCD TV in our room. The gym was well equipped and very clean. Clean hand towels and a water cooler were available for use. The main highlight of my stay had to be the wonderful staff and the exceptional appearance of the entire site. I would very much so recommend this Hotel to anyone when staying in Bristol.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Great hotel, great position, right on the waterfront, and very central. Good food,nice restaurant. Bang next door to an NCP car park, free to guests; direct access to your room/floor of car park.

Room Tip: Try and BOOk a WATERFRONT ROOM, 4th/5th floor, good views and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesvwbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing