We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect as always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bettystown, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

We have friends who live in Bristol and always choose this hotel when staying in Bristol as it's outstanding.

Every little detail is taken care of, and all the staff genuinely care about the customer which isn't always the way these days, a special mention to the Front Office Manager (can't remember the name) who was extremely polite and professional when checking out.

The rooms are beautifully appointed with plenty of space to relax. Granted the bathrooms aren't the largest as some reviewers have noted, but plenty sufficient for one's needs and when staying in a hotel, how much time do you spend in there???

Breakfast buffet had a great selection and one must try the peppermint tea in the lounge gorgeous!

Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Can't complain about any of them all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chopsmiaow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,774
    1,138
    335
    109
    56
See reviews for
327
1,835
124
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burbage, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Well located for restaurants and night life, the hotel is well furnished and comfortable, with fantastic staff who are most couteous and helpful. Contemporary design of the rooms gives it a modern feel. Probably my favourite hotel in Bristol.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterside view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

I have stayed here 5 times in the past 18 months and cannot recommend it highly enough...I have stayed with my partner, with my elderly father and with my 18 month old son who was teething and very grizzly..on each occasion we have been made to feel welcome and been very well looked after. I have hosted dinners, lunches and bar drinks at various times.. The fixed menu caters for all tastes, the a la carte is very good and the prices most reasonable.. The service is excellent. They have a good breakfast buffet, with everything from full English to fresh fruit, so definitely do the bed and breakfast options.. The free weekend parking at the NCP next door is both convenient and a nice extra..if you come by train it's only £5 in a taxi from Bristol temple meads...
The beds are very comfortable with good bed linen..I've stayed in both the luxury and normal rooms.. The normal rooms are absolutely fine..the luxury ones are very nice.. Ask for rooms facing the water and as high up the building as possible.. 5th floor for normal rooms and 6th for luxury.
The location is excellent.. You are right in the heart of the waterside development and walking distance from the main shopping centres, theatres and old city centre...
The staff are the hotel's greatest asset, they are professional, welcoming and really seem to enjoy working there.. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We arrived at 2.30pm and check in was very fast and easy, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was at the side of the hotel with a partial view of the waterfront (room 519) at first I thought the room was quite small but it just made it feel alot cosier once we were settled in, it was spotlessly clean with everything you need ( iron and board, hair dryer, safe kettle etc) large flat screen tv with all sky sports channels even espn which is unusual for a hotel you usually have to pay for premium channels.
The bed was very very comfortable and the bed linen was spotless as I do check because of bad experiences in the past, overall the room was perfect for what we needed it for!

I have to mention that the room service was the best I have had at any hotel, the service was brilliant very fast, the breakfast was lovely I was very very impressed with the selection delivered.

Overall we had a very very enjoyable stay and will go back again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jem111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Really good hotel. Fantastic customer service, and dealt with my requests with ease. Room was spacious and clean. Very comfortable bed! The River Grille serves excellent food and breakfast was lovely. Friendly staff in the restaurant especially.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room, was a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Bbulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We found this hotel really well-located; the room and the hotel itself were lovely and the staff were helpful. The car park situation was easy (free NCP) and the receptionist gave us free breakfasts for each day, even though they were not included in the price. We really enjoyed staying here, though it was a little expensive.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

The place has the air of a tired hotel that has had a half-hearted tart up (It's an old Jury Inn that has had a makeover). Left the place feeling duped by their marketing.

On the up side - we received good service, a comfortable bed, and the room was quiet.

One particular thing to note, the Kingsize Deluxe rooms do not resemble the modern interiors pictured on their website. Although comfortable they still retain their original Jury Inn incarnation. According to the receptionist the Queen size deluxe rooms do reflect the pictures they promote for the hotel.

The Kingsize also comprises two singles pushed together. And the bathroom is tiny.

Room Tip: choose queen over king
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Nathan D

I am delighted that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your review.

I would like to assure you that we welcome your feedback on the hotel website and the king size rooms. At The Bristol Hotel, we take great pride in the individual, friendly and courteous service that we provide to all our guests, ensuring that their comfort and care are at the forefront of what we do.

Once again I would like to apologise on behalf of the hotel and thank you for making us aware of the issues that you experienced. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in The Bristol Hotel, please contact myself directly to ensure a pleasant stay.

I look forward to seeing you back with us in the near future.

Kind regards,
Raphael Herzog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Doyle Collection, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing