We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bristol
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$78
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel(Bristol)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$110
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$114
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$106
$85
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
$68
$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$96
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,936)
Filter reviews
3,936 results
Traveler rating
2,078
1,287
387
119
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,078
1,287
387
119
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingdeluxe roomcar parkoverlooking the harbouradjacent ncpnespresso machinelovely hotelbars and restaurantsexcellent locationss great britainan upgradecity centresaturday nightlovely roomcomfy bedbuffet stylea lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,447 - 3,452 of 3,936 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2012

For the 2nd year we checked in to the Bristol Hotel for the New Years Party it had been good in 2010 we hoped for the same again. Charming reception, room ready early, great room and facilities, the evening started with a very good 4 course meal followed by an outstanding trio, Swing and Rat Pack Music, the dance floor was full from the first song and stayed that way all night, no flat moments, no disco fill ins when everybody vanishes, the very short gaps were filled by music in the same theme so the dancing carried on. Great nights sleep good bed and bedding got up refreshed and enjoyed a well presented buffett breakfast first class. Through out our stay all staff were very cheerful and pleasent, check out was smooth no hidden extras well mannered and professional. One big plus for a city centre Hotel it was free parking for the whole weekend which at New Year is a big plus point, will certainley return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We spent New Years Eve at the Hotel and attended the Gala Dinner, it was perfect. Music was by the Lounge Swingers followed by a disco all of which got the evening off to a great start. Definately will be back and would recommend to anyone looking to stay in the Bristol area

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COLIN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Lovely hotel and a superb location to have fun at the Bordeaux Key on NYE 2011.
A smooth check in drinks and snacks served within 30 minutes of arrival xxx
Our room was a lovely size - maybe the bathroom was a tiny bit tight but nothing that would cause a problem.
Very clean and well presented!! My husband asked for a view of the River which once again the hotel arranged without a problem.
If I had any point of observation our room was not perfectly sound proof but this did not detract in any way.
Super staff and friendly about there business.
The car park is great as you have access through hotel on to car park which is convenient.
From the outside the hotel looks a bit 1970's the age old saying don't judge a book by its cover !!
Go and enjoy !!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kären J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is an example where one person handling a situation badly can sour a stay at an otherwise good hotel. I will open with the positives, this is a well located hotel with clean and spacious rooms. The staff to the most part are friendly and did a good job. That said our check in was unsatisfactory and skewed our overall opinion of the hotel.

We arrived from London at around 1pm, fully aware our room probably would not be ready, when it wasn't we headed out for some lunch. Returning at 2:30pm, the second person checking us in rang housekeeping and told us the room still wasn't ready, no estimated time of when it would be. (Red rag to a bull time). He proceeded to tell us they were fully booked and had late checkouts until 3pm. For the first time in 5 years travelling Europe, I lost my cool and angrily informed him these were his issues and not mine as the customer. He still offered no solution, it took my partner to tell him to call us when the room was ready. We headed out into the cold again, with no offer of a drink in the bar, or a place we could wait or an alternate room. So after a nice walk, we received a call from a polite woman at 2:45 that the room was finally ready, 45 minutes after check in time. This could have easily been avoided by the first person telling us of a delay or the second person offering a temporary solution.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wine_Hound_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Dear Wine_Hound_1972,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and I am delighted that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us.
However I am extremely disappointed with your comments on the check in and please accept my apologies. I have gone through your points in detail with my Reception Manager and re-training has been highlighted as a priority to avoid a repeat of these challenges.

Once again I would like to apologise on behalf of the hotel and thank you for making us aware of the issues that you experienced
I look forward to seeing you back with us in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Raphael Herzog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

After reading the Trip Advisor reviews for this 'luxury' hotel I was very much looking forward to staying here but my experience was on the whole disappointing.

It didn't start well for me when I arrived in my (small) double room after checking in. A cleaner had left her coat on the bed and not only that, but I noticed the inside window ledges were dirty. I told a member of staff who apologised and removed the coat. Went downstairs to explain about the state of the room to be met by another member of staff who didn't even apologise. Appalling, and something I've never experienced when I've occasionally complained in hotels. He moved me quickly to another room, though, so second time lucky, I thought. Wrong. In the second room (also small, more like a single room) one of the lights wasn't working so I told one of the staff (the first person I spoke to who was was warm and helpful, not the one who didn't apologise) and he advised me to move to another room and that he'd check it first. Well, he did so I happily trotted off up as soon as I checked in for the third time but as with the first room there were dirty window ledges and a cigarette burn in the net curtains! At this point I was too exhaused from complaining and wanted to get out of the place and see Bristol. However I must point that this third room was the biggest of the three so that was appreciated. Leaving my third room to go out and about in the city, I noticed in the corridor on my floor that there was laundry lying around - I could just about understand this if it was around late morning but this was just before 4pm! What on earth is going on?! That night, I couldn't see a control panel either for the heating which was annoying as the heating level that was on by default was too low for me in winter. I wasn't freezing but I was far from toasty. I'm sure the panel was there but my goodness it was very well hidden. On check out the next day I conveyed my frustrations to the receptionist who was apologetic and said she'd pass my comments on to the manager, but I didn't care much by then.

To top all that off, the doors for the rooms were a complete pain. All of them are those heavy types that make a thudding noise when you let them close by themselves, as most people do. I was woken quite early in the morning by this door thing - forget a spot of studying or reading in this hotel, or having a lie-in here unless you're a very heavy sleeper.

Lack of detail with the housekeeping is not acceptable, especially not in a 4* establishment. Not good enough.

Great things about the hotel are the location and the hotel on the whole looked very stylish but I wouldn't recommend staying here. Maybe I was just unlucky.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalcitizen_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Dear globalcitizen_1975

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and I was very disappointed to hear about the issues that you experienced in the hotel during your stay.

Suffice to say I am extremely disappointed with your comments and a sorry that you felt disappointed. Standards of service are the hallmark of our business and clearly in this instance we did not deliver and I can assure you that this was a one off incident.

I would very much like to discuss the matter with you in person and would appreciate it if you would call me on 0117 9230333 or email me Raphael_herzog@doylecollection.com

Once again I would like to apologise on behalf of the hotel and thank you for making us aware of the issues that you experienced. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in The Bristol Hotel.

I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Raphael Herzog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews