We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Start to 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
South West
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Wonderful Start to 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Lovely hotel and a superb location to have fun at the Bordeaux Key on NYE 2011.
A smooth check in drinks and snacks served within 30 minutes of arrival xxx
Our room was a lovely size - maybe the bathroom was a tiny bit tight but nothing that would cause a problem.
Very clean and well presented!! My husband asked for a view of the River which once again the hotel arranged without a problem.
If I had any point of observation our room was not perfectly sound proof but this did not detract in any way.
Super staff and friendly about there business.
The car park is great as you have access through hotel on to car park which is convenient.
From the outside the hotel looks a bit 1970's the age old saying don't judge a book by its cover !!
Go and enjoy !!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,774
    1,138
    335
    109
    56
See reviews for
327
1,835
124
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is an example where one person handling a situation badly can sour a stay at an otherwise good hotel. I will open with the positives, this is a well located hotel with clean and spacious rooms. The staff to the most part are friendly and did a good job. That said our check in was unsatisfactory and skewed our overall opinion of the hotel.

We arrived from London at around 1pm, fully aware our room probably would not be ready, when it wasn't we headed out for some lunch. Returning at 2:30pm, the second person checking us in rang housekeeping and told us the room still wasn't ready, no estimated time of when it would be. (Red rag to a bull time). He proceeded to tell us they were fully booked and had late checkouts until 3pm. For the first time in 5 years travelling Europe, I lost my cool and angrily informed him these were his issues and not mine as the customer. He still offered no solution, it took my partner to tell him to call us when the room was ready. We headed out into the cold again, with no offer of a drink in the bar, or a place we could wait or an alternate room. So after a nice walk, we received a call from a polite woman at 2:45 that the room was finally ready, 45 minutes after check in time. This could have easily been avoided by the first person telling us of a delay or the second person offering a temporary solution.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wine_Hound_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Wine_Hound_1972,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and I am delighted that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us.
However I am extremely disappointed with your comments on the check in and please accept my apologies. I have gone through your points in detail with my Reception Manager and re-training has been highlighted as a priority to avoid a repeat of these challenges.

Once again I would like to apologise on behalf of the hotel and thank you for making us aware of the issues that you experienced
I look forward to seeing you back with us in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Raphael Herzog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

After reading the Trip Advisor reviews for this 'luxury' hotel I was very much looking forward to staying here but my experience was on the whole disappointing.

It didn't start well for me when I arrived in my (small) double room after checking in. A cleaner had left her coat on the bed and not only that, but I noticed the inside window ledges were dirty. I told a member of staff who apologised and removed the coat. Went downstairs to explain about the state of the room to be met by another member of staff who didn't even apologise. Appalling, and something I've never experienced when I've occasionally complained in hotels. He moved me quickly to another room, though, so second time lucky, I thought. Wrong. In the second room (also small, more like a single room) one of the lights wasn't working so I told one of the staff (the first person I spoke to who was was warm and helpful, not the one who didn't apologise) and he advised me to move to another room and that he'd check it first. Well, he did so I happily trotted off up as soon as I checked in for the third time but as with the first room there were dirty window ledges and a cigarette burn in the net curtains! At this point I was too exhaused from complaining and wanted to get out of the place and see Bristol. However I must point that this third room was the biggest of the three so that was appreciated. Leaving my third room to go out and about in the city, I noticed in the corridor on my floor that there was laundry lying around - I could just about understand this if it was around late morning but this was just before 4pm! What on earth is going on?! That night, I couldn't see a control panel either for the heating which was annoying as the heating level that was on by default was too low for me in winter. I wasn't freezing but I was far from toasty. I'm sure the panel was there but my goodness it was very well hidden. On check out the next day I conveyed my frustrations to the receptionist who was apologetic and said she'd pass my comments on to the manager, but I didn't care much by then.

To top all that off, the doors for the rooms were a complete pain. All of them are those heavy types that make a thudding noise when you let them close by themselves, as most people do. I was woken quite early in the morning by this door thing - forget a spot of studying or reading in this hotel, or having a lie-in here unless you're a very heavy sleeper.

Lack of detail with the housekeeping is not acceptable, especially not in a 4* establishment. Not good enough.

Great things about the hotel are the location and the hotel on the whole looked very stylish but I wouldn't recommend staying here. Maybe I was just unlucky.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globalcitizen_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear globalcitizen_1975

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and I was very disappointed to hear about the issues that you experienced in the hotel during your stay.

Suffice to say I am extremely disappointed with your comments and a sorry that you felt disappointed. Standards of service are the hallmark of our business and clearly in this instance we did not deliver and I can assure you that this was a one off incident.

I would very much like to discuss the matter with you in person and would appreciate it if you would call me on 0117 9230333 or email me Raphael_herzog@doylecollection.com

Once again I would like to apologise on behalf of the hotel and thank you for making us aware of the issues that you experienced. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in The Bristol Hotel.

I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Raphael Herzog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

Stayed here for one night. Formally a Jurys hotel but big investment has resulted in a 4 star establishment. Common areas classy and welcoming. I was allocated a room on the 6th floor and was very impressed with everything! Soft furnishings, ambience, cleanliness - all very high standard. The location is ideal alongside the floating harbour and my room had views across Bristol and up the hill to Clifton. Best of all was the price! Hotel du Vin wanted almost twice as much to stay and I know the rooms there are not significantly better.

Only gripe came the next morning. When we checked in we were told breakfast was included in the rate but the following day £16 had been added to the bill. Breakfast was fine but questionable value at £16. Do check exactly whats included when you arrive.

One of Bristol's better hotels with friendly welcoming staff. I will return

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 911prentonpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed one night as a result of a corporate deal. It would not have been my choice as I stayed here when it was a Jurys Inn and wasn't impressed. However, I was really surprised what a big change it has gone through under the Doyle Group. My room was large, well equiped and very pleasant. The bathroom was a little compact, but I was travelling alone so not a major issue. I only ate breakfast there, but that was good quality and a reasonable selection. The loation is nice if you fancy a stroll along the water front and it's selection of bars, but the hotel is far enough away to be peaceful. I enjoyed my stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHG2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bristol Hotel. It’s handily located for the station and the City centre and really close to the river where there are some nice bars and restaurants. Our room was nicely decorated, comfortable and clean, the bathroom was also well appointed and well kept if pretty small. The reception and waiting staff were universally pleasant and helpful. Drinks in the bar seemed reasonably priced for a smart hotel and the breakfast buffet, which is served in a nice dining room on the waterfront, was as good as hot food not cooked to order is going to be. Basically there was plenty that was good and nothing that was bad, I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

We had just one night here last week .I have nothing but praise ; lovely room ,of a very good size which compensated for the small bathroom, which was perfect for us . The bed was very comfortable and the Nespresso a bonus ! We were fortunate to have a room overlooking the floating harbour.All the staff with whom we had contact were helpful , courteous and prepared to put themselves out and we had an excellent breakfast . The hotel was very elegantly decked out for Christmas . I would thoroughly recommend the Bristol Hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lleisiau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing