We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location!”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location!”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and the location was superb. It was walking distance to city centre and right by Bristol Harbourside. We enjoyed places like Cabot Circus and the weekend festivals right at our backyard. The hotel is not huge but good enough that it didn't flood with guests and traffic.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofiamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,894
    1,202
    355
    112
    63
See reviews for
366
1,937
131
703
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Just returned from a 2 night stay booked through Late.Rooms.com. Fantastic location, free parking in the NCP car park right next door. (This was a big plus as usually £19 per 24 hours to park your car). Room was compact and we asked for a quiet room so were placed at the front of the hotel as the rear looks out onto the Quay side and can be noisy. Breakfast was very expensive - £16.50 each for Cooked - we gave that a miss!

Room Tip: If you value peace ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normhunt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We booked into the bristol hotel, partly because of its location and partly because it hit the right price point for my pocket for the length of stay.

I was happy with the level of decor in the building, although as others have pointed out there are the odd discolouring stains on the carpets, or watermarks on ceilings - nothing drastic. Everything looks fresh and new otherwise.

Breakfast? Didn't care much for it, although it certainly was plentiful. I wanted something hot, and for eggs they had something rather unusual. They had a sort of horrible stiff eastern european version of an english muffin, upon which some rather nicely done eggs were balanced. I went to the huge dish where the eggs were, to find that people had taken the eggs off the muffins - I now know why! I actually couldn't cut through the muffins I took with my knife, either because they'd been under the heat lamps for so long, or they had just been cooked badly. At the price, I would seek elsewhere to eat breakfast elsewhere in Bristol.

I am only going to mention the bad thing that happened because I was very impressed with the prompt way that the hotel dealt with it. We went out into Bristol, only to return to find that the door to our apartment was open. It was possibly down to luck that nothing was stolen. The doors have a thick seal around the outside that prevents the door closing mechanism from shutting the door completely, and the cleaner hadn't pulled the door closed behind her.

I went down to reception to report this, and without a moments hesitation we were not only allowed to change rooms, but we had our room upgraded to the one with the complimentary coffee machine. However, the door seal on the new room was quite similar and we had already learned ourselves to pull the door behind us, so not too big a deal. But I was impressed.

I would advise moving into a room on the front of the hotel, though - the dockside bars and clubs thump music until the small hours, and although the sound insulation on the windows is enhanced by a second set of panes, it still gets through and disturbs.

On the whole, an OK hotel but I think I'll check out the others next time I'm in bristol.

Room Tip: Miss out on the harbour view and take a front room if you value sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex_nett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverGrille, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Dear Guest

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a Tripadvisor review regarding your stay with us.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the hotel decor and the way my team resolved some of the challenges you had during your stay.

However I was very disappointed to hear about the issues that you experienced with the room door and as soon as this was reported I have addressed this with my housekeeping team and maintenance team in order to avoid any repeat of this issue

I would like to assure you that we welcome your feedback and as we are a learning organisation we appreciate all feedback and find it very valuable in moving forward and improving the service that we provide to our guests

Once again I would like to apologise on behalf of the hotel and thank you for making us aware of the issues that you experienced. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in The Bristol Hotel, please contact myself directly to ensure a pleasant stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Had a great experience staying at The Bristol Hotel, it was the last in our trip around the UK and we stayed for 4 nights. I did a lot of research to work out the best place to stay for convenience, star rating and price and I was very pleased with our stay. The room was excellent, the staff very helpful and the location very handy to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed for one night in the Bristol Hotel and enjoyed it. It is centrally located in Bristol with a car park right next door. We booked the room in the internet and considered the price very reasonable for what we got.

The room was what you would expect in a modern business hotel. Nothing to complain about.

We enjoyed a good dinner in the hotel restaurant and also the breakfast buffet was pretty good with a wide selection of food.

Service staff at the reception as well as in the restaurant was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radgivare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I stayed at the Bristol Hotel for 1 night and was pleasantly impressed. It was conveniently located for business with a public car park adjoining - overnight charges are waived. The staff were friendly but professional. My room was large for a British hotel and furnished in a contemporary style - the bathroom was slightly small but very clean and modern. I took afternoon tea in the bar and there was a great selection of teas and coffees, and the Wookey Hole Cheese sandwich was delightful.

My only issue was the lack of in-room wi-fi access but the feedback from the hotel is that this is being addressed this year.

Overall - a very stylish and modern hotel that I would be happy to go back to.

As an aside - try the coffee in Cafe Gusto across the road!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrawberryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We never knew about this place and often come to Bristol so we thought we would give it a whirl. It is basically a 60s or 70s hotel that has had a really nice refurb. We opted for for a superior room 625 on Fri 24th June. It is worth paying the extra for this and make sure you ask for a room with an outward view because the inward view was pretty grim (you can see it from the lift area).

Really great start with a car park just behind. You walk straight into the hotel. Big bonus is the car parking is free unlike the city inn down the road. Reception staff were all fantastic. Very welcoming and helpful. Had a lovely cocktail in the bar before dinner out in town and the receptionist ordered a taxi for us and came and found us when it arrived. Really good stuff.

The room was really nice. Clean, large with a v comfy bed. Espresso machine is also a nice touch. The only downside is the 60s / 70s construction so you can hear a lot from neigbouring rooms. Someone seemed to be having a glastonbury party 2 doors away. It sounded like fun anyway. Heavenly sleep and blackout curtains made all the difference.

The breakfast was pretty good despite what some of the previous reviewers thought. Poached eggs to order and nice coffee. Papers on hand. Decent sausages and bacon and figs and melon. Juice seemed freshly squeezed.

The only niggles I would say - we ordered a paper which never arrived and we were locked out of our room for some time after lunch despite having a 3pm checkout time.

I would definitely come back to this hotel as in terms of what you get for your money elsewhere in Bristol it cant really be beaten.

Well done to all the staff - everyone was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collegefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing