We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Inn Express Bristol”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express Bristol”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in the Holiday Inn very recently and found it to be a very comfortable and friendly hotel which is in a very convenient location. Right opposite the main train station and a short walk from the city centre and docks area. I have to give a special mention to a member of staff at the reception who went to great lengths to help me out in obtaining my boarding passes for my flight home at very short notice. Thank you Kayleigh Hook your help was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dermurray285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear dermurray285
Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for posting such as positive review for our hotel and we are also delighted to hear that Kayleigh has received a special mention for delivering great customer service. Once again, thank you dermurray285 and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Regards
Sharine Carrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    296
    155
    44
    28
See reviews for
74
220
72
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked 7 twin rooms through Laterooms - when phoning to cancel a room was told that we had 7 doubles.....not best accommodation for 14 men on cricket tour!! Disappointing that the hotel did not contact me!! After much hassle a part solution of 6 twins for 2 nights and then doubles for last night. Seemed like a reasonable compromise until another payment for the room we did not use was taken from my account 3 days after our stay- still being looked into by Laterooms, hotel and HIE..............out of pocket to the tune of £260!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wicketkeeper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Wicketkeeper

Disappointed then dismayed, indeed Mr Wicketkeeper.

Thank you once again for yet another review. As we have attempted to explain on all your cricket teams’ previous reviews so far, if you book doubles with LATEROOMS (a third party agent) expecting twins to be presented by the hotel on arrival, then unfortunately you will be disappointed if the hotel is fully booked.

My colleague was trying to be hospitable by offering you twins at the tail end of your stay, as soon as she learned of your booking error (which you accepted) however it now seems this effort was perceived by your team as unhelpful or unprofessional.

Even LATEROOMS management attempted three times, at our request to speak to you prior to your arrival, yet I remind you once again, you were still happy to maintain the original reservation rather than cancel.

In summary, I am sincerely delighted to hear LATEROOMS management are finally looking into your reservation with them. Certainly for the benefit of other guests, we will be keeping a close eye on future weekend group bookings being directed via this third party agent.

Should you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel or indeed email me at sgsm@hiexpressbristol.co.uk

John Morton - Senior Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stay regularly in this hotel. It has a good location just across the train station and the staff is very helpful. Everything is quiet close to the hotel: city centre, harbour side, old city. Good hotel worth of money.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking to train station, very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear edina a
Thank you for sharing your stay experience in our hotel with fellow travellers and we look forward to receiving you again on your next visit to Bristol.
Regards
Sharine Carrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is down the block fromTemple Meads and so it was very convenient to stay here. It is about a 20 minute walk to the city center but it really is not that bad of a walk. Most of the inclines in the city are in the city center itself. The hotel was clean, quiet, and our room was just fine. it may be that our room was quiet because we were on the fourth floor. Breakfast was mediocre. Also, there is only one lift, so a few times we took the stairs. The people at the front desk were very nice.Even though it is not in the city center, I believe it was a great choice since the next day we were at the train station in less than five minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europeantraveler0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Europeantraveler0504
Thank you for taking your time to post a review for us and sharing your experience with fellow travellers. As mentioned, our hotel has a perfect location due to it's close proximity to Bristol Temple Meads Train Station, making it very convenient for both business and leisure guests. We are very happy to hear that you have had a pleasant stay and our customer service has met your expectation. We hope to have you staying with us again on your next visit to our lovely city.
Regards
Sharine Carrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Me & my family stayed in this hotel to see Bath & Bristol. The room was clean & a good size for 3 people staying, the breakfast was good too. On the whole a good hotel, although I did find it strange (from going to other Holiday Inns) that you could walk into the back & the front of the hotel & not necessarily be seen? 2 other things to be aware of: if you intend to get a taxi anywhere don't ask reception as the taxi firm they use on the 1st trip the driver didn't know where he was going & coming back a different driver had his steering wheel held together by tape! Also part of the hotel is above a pub & on the Saturday night of our stay they had a live act, didn't bother us to much as we were at the other end if the hotel, but this went on from half 9 till midnight, anyone directly above the pub, wouldn't have been too pleased

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NeilOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear NeilOakley
I would like to thank you for taking your time to post a review for us. We are please to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The entrance into the hotel from the back of the hotel was for the convenience of our guests who have travelled into Bristol by car. It is an area we are continuously accessing in order to maintain a high level of security for our guests. We work with a number of taxi firms and will definitely relay your comment to them too. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again during your next visit to Bristol.
Regards
Sharine Carrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

6pounds for parking!! Parking area not built for a range rover... Had no sleep due to very busy road, doors banging at 3am... And cold tap is hot water so no cold water in room. I have a 2yr old who's bed was made up right agents a heater on the wall so had to move it all around! It was a joke... Will not be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raftery34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Raftery34
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review for us. We are investigating into the various issues you have brought to our attention so that relevant actions can be taken in order to improve our facilities, products and ensuring our guests can look forward to a comfortable stay with us. Due to our limited parking spaces, we have an agreement with the adjacent NCP car park for a lower parking fee for our guests at £2.50 from 6pm to 8am which is payable at the Pay and Display machine by their entrance. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Regards
Sharine Carrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed here as part of a cricket tour group and they messed up our 3 day booking so we had double rooms on the Saturday night rather than twin rooms which we'd had on the Thursday and Friday--we had to check out on the Saturday to check back into the rooms which they'd incorrectly booked and the process took 30 minutes-at one stage I was told they only had 2 of the rooms even though they'd been pre-booked and pre-paid for a year! In the end it was sorted but it was very poor.The breakfast was ghastly but the rooms were ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mullionboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Mullionboy
Thank you for taking your time to post a review for us on Tripadvisor. I would like to reassure you that the group reservations made via an online channel was dealt with very efficiently by my Reservations Manager and 3 managers of that channel. The original booking was made for Standard Rooms therefore room types are allocated based on availability. The organisor for your group was contacted and informed of the room type availability based on his request hence the agreement of changing rooms during your stay was reached prior to your arrival.
We hope that this would help clear up any misunderstanding.
Regards
Sharine Carrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#15 of 37 in Bristol
1,416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Address: South End, Temple Gate House, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers good value, modern hotel accommodation in the heart of Bristol. Located directly opposite Temple Meads Train Station, our modern hotel offers rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing