We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far nicer hotels for the same price in Bristol”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Really disappointed by the Holiday Inn brand with this hotel. Rooms are small, noisey & dated. In desperate need of new furnishings. Smoking room on 6th had no ashtray in it so had to go back down to reception. Could not believe the hotel had no restaurant but does boast of a selection of local take away menus??!!

I do not accept that the hotel is cheap and you "pay for what you get". I paid £80 for a room & breakfast and £4 extra for parking. The Future Inn at Cabot Circus is cheaper & much much better quality. Has free NCP parking, a really nice quality restaurant & offers room service. If you are staying away on business and need a hotel for the evening you are best to avoid this run down offering.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenifaHaych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear JenifaHaych,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with a candid feedback. As customer service professionals, we strive to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us.

Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 728 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

It appears that the hotel is often used for stag and hen parties at the weekends, which is fine if you are on such an event (which I was) but not so good if you are staying with your family or expecting a cosy weekend with the wife/girlfriend/partner. One should bear this in mind.

It was clean, functional and what you would expect, although the breakfast was very poor (some low quality sausages and beans in a heated cabinet with little other choice) and not worth bothering with.

It was good that car parking was available, but it was at extra cost.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear brj1970,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you were not satisfied with our breakfast options. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was lucky in that on Check In I was given a room on the fifth floor and away from the traffic around the station; My view was of a car park but at least it was quiet and the curtains blocked out the city lights very well and as a result i slept well - the most important thing in a hotel.

The hotel is minimal as the express monicker suggests; in the room I found a very soft double bed; a small TV and a shower. After that the towels were in good condition and you still get the options of pillows from a regular holiday inn. The TV sat on a small desk; there wasn't a proper work chair but for catching up on emails with the (free for platinum) WiFi was more than passable. The power sockets are above the table so plugging in is easy; though there arent any sockets around the bed to plug your phone in.

The bathroom was fine for a single night; there was lots of hot water for the shower; but the shower cubicle was very slippery so be careful.

There is no restaurant; and the bar is de-minimus. The breakfast is free; but you do get what you pay for.

Around the HI Express is a Hilton Doubletree and a Novotel which are generally £20 a night more to stay in. If you are only going away for a single night in a given week and need to be around the station I would pick those as the experience will be that bit more classy. If you travel all the time then save the money and stay here. The city centre HI is about a mile away and is often a similar price per night; it is light years away from the standard of the express.

There is nothing wrong with the express; and it is a cheapish place to stay; its just too close in price to its 3 & 4* neighbours.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u07ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear u07ch,

Thank you for your very detailed review , each one is much appreciated . The price is relevant to the occupancy in the hotel and it is in line with other hotels in the area .As you correctly mentioned there are a few more hotels around to choose from .We still hope you enjoyed your stay with us and we take this opportunity to welcome you back .

Best regards,
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I frequent many of these Holiday Inn express sites throughout the UK . Due to an event in Bristol , the Hotel was very busy, it appeared very worn , with several areas needing attention , upper level windows were not secure and safety of small children was a concern as they did not have safety device stopping them opening fully at 5th Floor level , I advised the staff, seemed to brush this off. Car Parking was ok secure car park run by third party chargeable. Breakfast was busy even early . Needs attention , lets the Holiday Inn express brand down !!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear away from Main road , but still noisy
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Sandra B,

Thank you for taking you time to leave a feedback as it is the best way to monitor the things in the hotel which need attention .Must admit, that we are a busy hotel due to the location and proximity to the city centre .We welcome all type of guests from business people to stag and hen parties ,so it is expected that breakfasts are also busy from early morning .Sorry that it was not to your satisfaction .
Safety of the guests staying in the hotel is the priority , for this reason all windows on all floors are secured and don`t open fully .There is no risk for small children in this area .But thank you for mentioning this to the hotel staff and your remark was passed to the maintenance team to check the windows on the floor you pointed out .
May we still welcome you to stay with us again .

Best regards ,
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks. It was very good and convenient and I do reccomend it!
The staff was great and I enjoyed their breakfast.

The only thing that I didn't like is that the main road outside the hotel is extemely noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Earthquake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear The _Earthquake,

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave your feedback on your stay with us .3 weeks is enough time to learn how the hotel operates .We are very glad you enjoyed your entire stay , liked our breakfast and found the staff was great .Unfortunately ,the noise issue from the roadside is out of our control , though the hotel provides triple glazing on all front windows .Thank you again for your kind comments and we welcome you back any time in the future .

Best regards,
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Things don't start well because the hotel is in a fairly untidy area, opposite Bristol Temple Meads station and it was obviously converted from a 1960's/ 1970's office block and it shows.

Car parking is "difficult" as you have to park up behind the hotel, go into reception, get a code, try the secure car park, then if that is full which it usually is, go and park in the multi-storey anyway. My suggestion is to use the multi-storey if you only need overnight parking as it is cheaper than the hotel secure car park.

There was a queue of around 10 people to check in when I arrived, and it was obvious most of them were in a single group booking so it would have made sense to process the group as one unit by one receptionist and the other one deal with the rest of the queue. This would have saved everyone time and trouble !!!

Hotel is not the most pleasant HIEX and it is a bit dingy and a bit smelly to be frank. My room smelt of smoke (was a non-smoking room) and the toilet was a bit smelly too.

Rooms are pretty standard as per most UK HIEX, nothing to shout about.

Staff are OK, but the whole thing felt a bit ... well, poor really. Definitely not in the top half of HIEX - certainly wouldn't pay full price for this.

HIEX can be a really good brand both

Room Tip: Street facing rooms (even numbers) are noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beefeater2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Beefeater 2013,

Thank you for taking your time to leave such a detailed comment on your stay with us .Our
apologies for all the inconvenience you experienced during check-in .Your constructive suggestion about the parking and dealing with groups have been shared with all the team for action.Thank you very much for that .

Best regards,
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We needed somewhere convenient for the station, and town. This is ideally located for both. Rooms clean and well appointed, a/c worked fine. Breakfast was rudimentary, but ok.

The hotel wasn't cheap, but not too bad,
The downsides- The main road outside is extremely noisy, blue lights and sirens at all hours, I wouldn't suggest families with small children as its not really push chair friendly and there's lots of stag/hen style groups.
Other than that, good VFM, worth considering if you are looking in this area

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Ian F,

Thank you for the feedback .Your stay proved satisfactory and enjoyable overall .Sorry, you happened to stay on a weekend, when we usually have some stag and hen parties as you correctly mentioned, but during the week we don`t have noise issues . The rooms facing the front have triple glazing but, unfortunately ,we can`t avoid the noise completely due to the location ,which is very convenient to train and airport commuters .May we have this opportunity to welcome you back .

Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#15 of 39 in Bristol
1,491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
0.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Address: South END Temple Gate, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $78 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers good value, modern hotel accommodation in the heart of Bristol. Located directly opposite Temple Meads Train Station, our modern hotel offers rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing