We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hotel room was quite noisy because of the location over-looking the main road, but we were only there for 1 night so it was not a major issue. Staff were friendly and helpful and when we asked could they recommend somewhere for us to eat they directed us to an Italian restaurant literally a minutes walk away which was superb. (Can't remember the name though!) Pillows were too soft, but this is a matter of personal opinion so might not bother everyone. Hotel was very clean and the car park at the back of the hotel was handy and easily accessible.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Kelly M,
Your stay proved satisfactory and enjoyable and thank you for mentioning our helpful and welcoming staff .Agree that due to the location there is a noise issue in the rooms facing the front therefore there is triple glazing installed .May I have this opportunity to welcome you back any time in the future .

On behalf of all our team
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 771 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

My first point with the Hotel is the lack of adequate Disabled Parking. There are several spaces at the back door but only one is used for Disabled Parking. I think at least three spaces could be reserved as the main Car {ark is only a few yards away.
Secondly my bed was covered in soot as soon as I switched on the room heater. I was moved to another room but this should not happen.
At the end of my first full day I returned rather late to my room to be greeted with the strong smell of sewage in my corridor and even stronger in my bathroom.
On a positive note I found the staff both before my arrival and during my stay to be very professional and they all tried hard to make my stay an enjoyable one.
The Hotel is well positioned and has a good car park at the back which is a bonus in a busy high street.
The problems are solvable so all in all I would return to this Hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bangormaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear bangormaine,

Thank you very much for your comment . We have got just a few temporary spaces for arrivals and one disabled space as there is only one disabled access room in the hotel .Our sincere apologies for the dust issue which shouldn`t have happened but unfortunately at the time you stayed with us there were some repairs of air/cons which caused this .
We are thankful for your constructive and positive feedback -problems do occur in every place and can be overcome. You are most welcome to stay with us next time and we make sure to make your stay most pleasurable.

Best regards
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great location for Temple Meads and for stop over on way to Bristol airport. Free covered parking very grateful as it was snow and icy the night we stayed. room and breakfast good value. Disappointing that it was to far to walk for good choice of eateries on a cold evening.

Room Tip: the front of the hotel was a little noisy from the road etc maybe the back would have been better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Derek R,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding nearby restaurant.I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had this hotel booked instead of the Holiday Inn city centre in error. The hotel itself is clean and there is an area that does a buffet breakfast. It's a very noisy hotel being right on main road by Temple meads station. Rooms very basic and quilts do not reach sides of bed so consequently was very cold in room as air con and heating was not very effective either !!! Pay extra and stay in the city centre !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatiebrightonSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Katiebrighton Sus,

Our apologies for the quilts but they are standard for our type of hotels .On request we provide an extra one from the reception , same as an extra heater .Sorry , you didn`t request either during your stay .If you still decide to stay with us next time , we make sure you won`t be cold in the room but noise issue is due to the location . We consider it as a big bonus for people who travel by train .
Thank you for leaving your comment as we take into consideration everything that helps us to avoid such issues in the future .

Kind regards,
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just visited this hotel, right in front of the main railway station, free english breakfast, very clean room, and most important very nice and very helpful staff, I really would recommend it.
Airport bus just a minute or two walk, city centre a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domnanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Domnanas from sunny Malta ,

Thank you very much for such a nice comment .We have nothing to add but invite you to stay with us on your next trip to Bristol .It`s an excellent opportunity to visit Bristol and it`s surroundings taking a direct flight from Malta to Bristol and the best commute from the airport to the hotel .

Wishing you all the best
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about the hotel is the location to the Temple Meads train station but town is a good 10 min walk. The building looks like its straight out of the Eastern Block so not recommended for a romantic break! Interior is ok, very basic. this place cost 30% less than the holiday inn (not express) where I was for a meeting the next day and it was luxury! so id try and negotioniate price on better one.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiteplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Nicepeople,

You are quite right about the location but unfortunately we can`t change the appearance of the building in which the hotel is situated. Our premium task is to provide an excellent service and make the best of the facilities we have .We thank you for staying with us and hope you will choose to stay with us again for another business trip .

Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was going to cheltenham races for a few days and did a search of bristol hotels and the express holiday inn was reasonably priced so i gave it a go . Bonus 200yds from temple meads station which i used each day. Bigger bonus made very welcome on arrival and that set the tone from all the staff . The location of this hotel puts plenty of pubs and restaurants within a few minutes walk and the good thing about this place is it suits all tastes and pockets i have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and bristol for a night out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Collwell,

Was so very nice of your to leave such a nice comment . We are all very glad to hear positive comments about our work and sincerely thank you for that .Every comment as yours gives us a good incentive for even better service and makes our day .

On behalf of all our team ,
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Address: South End, Temple Gate House, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $70 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers free Wi-Fi, an inclusive breakfast and a stylish lounge with all-day dining and a coffee bar. The hotel’s handy location opposite Temple Meads station is perfect for onwards travel to Bath and London. Bristol International Airport is 30 minutes’ drive from the hotel and we’re close to the M4, M5 and M32 motorway, allowing you to explore Bristol and the South West with ease! Our modern rooms boast comfy beds with a choice of pillows to help you customise your sleep. Free Wi-Fi and flatscreen TVs with Freeview keep you entertained in the evenings or relax with a cuppa and an invigorating power shower in the evenings. The stylish open-plan lounge is great for catching up over a coffee, getting some last-minute work completed on the free Wi-Fi or enjoying a bite to eat from the hotel’s all-day dining menu. For superb value weekend breaks in Bristol, our Holiday Inn Express hotel is a great base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing