We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel(Bristol)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$132
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$106
$85
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$90
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$96
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$150
$131
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (795)
Filter reviews
795 results
Traveler rating
197
339
176
49
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
339
176
49
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstemple meads stationtrain stationcity centrebeanstravelling by trainbusy roadcar parksecure parkingminute walkconvenient locationmain roadbreakfast was includedbudget hotelstayed here for one nightdecent hotelwould stay againcomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 795 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very well located, the airport bus (£11 return) drops off and picks up across from the hotel, about 50 metres walk.

City centre and SS Great Britain about 15 minutes walk away.

Hotel room was well furnished., toilet was cleaned each day with clean towels as required.
We had no problems and staff were well mannered and courteous

All in all a nice hotel at a reasonable price

Room Tip: rooms at rear dont have road noise
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear John P from Motherwell ,

What a wonderful message to all our future guests ! Thank you for your short and clear description .Wishing you all the best on behalf of all our team

Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in February. First impressions were very positive with a warm welcome from the receptionist. It was 10am but it was no problem checking in and was made to feel genuinely welcome and appreciated and got room straight away.

The hotel is a little worn around the edges but overall provides very good value and good service. The room was spacious and airy. The TV had a good mix of channels and radio stations. The bed was comfortable and there were tea and coffee making facilities - everything you would expect. Agree with the previous poster that the lack of a bath is noticeable but the shower is a double shower and water was hot and plentiful.

Breakfast was decent and there were plenty of staff there to keep things moving. The selection was OK and varied by day - one day had no yoghurts, the previous day there were plenty. The hot food was just eggs, sausages and beans (no rashers, hash browns, tomatoes etc) but this is stated on the menu. The breakfast is included in the rate so anything is welcome. I found that the bread was a little stale - maybe meant for toasting and on the first day the cheese was shrivelled up and best avoided, heard others mention this too, but the next day it was fine. You can also pick up a free newspaper by the bar.

One negative was that the security system which was meant to mean that you could only access the lift and bedrooms with a valid key card was not working and anybody could get through. Hopefully it is fixed by now.

One last thing Holiday Inn have a best price guarantee. I booked a room and found it cheaper elsewhere and as part of the guarantee got the first night free. Just e mailed them and told them and got one night's stay free without any quibbles.

Hotel is well located just opposite the train station and a 10 min walk max to the city centre. Would stay again if in Bristol.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SH2315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear SH 2315 from Ireland ,
Thank you very much for your detailed and positive feedback on your staying with us . We have nothing to add to it except the apologies for the stale bread .We do provide only toasting bread though. We are proud you felt being genuinly welcomed and appreciated .

Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly.

Carpark. First come first served £6.50 per 24hrs cheaper on a Saturday night to park next door in the pay and display.

Room. Small, and had an unpleasant smell, didn't feel clean. Child bed was VERY uncomfortable with a very thin mattress on hard wooden slats. Our room was on the corner so we got to watch all the police cars and vans charging around outside. The hotel is directly opposite Temple Mead station so there was a large police presence for returning football fans on the Saturday night.

Breakfast. Included in room cost, basic but ok.

There is a nice italian restruant a couple of doors up where we had a good evening meal.

Would not stay here again mainly as it felt grubby, would rather pay a little more and feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Susan B,
So very unfortunate that you stayed on a football night but we have no control of that . As you correctly mentioned we are located right opposite the train station which some consider a big bonus .
Thank you for mentioning our helpful and friendly staff and " a basic but ok breakfast " .We are glad you enjoyed the dinner in the italian restaurant .
You are quite right the guests of the hotel have a choice of parking either in the gated area or a public one .On the whole it looks like not everything was not to your liking and we hope you change your mind and decide to stay with us again , we will be loking forward to see you back.

On behalf of all our friendly team
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Comfortable clean room, disappointed that baths had been taken out to be replaced with showers, without warning on website. Close walking distance to riverside bars & restaurants, fab location. Breakfast included in price which was fab, good choice & tasty!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Donna C ,
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are delighted your enjoyed a clean and comfortable room and breakfast was to your liking as well with a good choice and included into the price .Unfortunately , we don`t have baths as you correctly mentioned but our showers are very nice and comfortable .We are glad your stay proved enjoyable overall .

May we take this opportunity to welcome you back .

Best regards
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Guest Hotel Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

On the way back from a rugby game in Cardiff, we needed a cheap room and quick access to Bristol airport. This hotel is perfectly situated for that. No thrills, simply efficient. Breakfast was a bit chaotic as there was not quite enough space for everyone on a Sunday.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear SwissMac,

First of all , hope you enjoyed rugby and secondly,thank you for your nice comments. We are pleased the location of the hotel gives a good access not only to the airport but to Cardiff and other places of interest in and around Bristol.
Breakfasts could be a bit crowdy on a Sunday due to amount of people coming down nearly at the same time but that shouldn`t make it less enjoyable .

Best regards
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews