We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bristol Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Neath, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bristol Stay”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Comfortable clean room, disappointed that baths had been taken out to be replaced with showers, without warning on website. Close walking distance to riverside bars & restaurants, fab location. Breakfast included in price which was fab, good choice & tasty!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Donna C ,
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are delighted your enjoyed a clean and comfortable room and breakfast was to your liking as well with a good choice and included into the price .Unfortunately , we don`t have baths as you correctly mentioned but our showers are very nice and comfortable .We are glad your stay proved enjoyable overall .

May we take this opportunity to welcome you back .

Best regards
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Guest Hotel Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    303
    160
    46
    28
See reviews for
74
225
73
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

On the way back from a rugby game in Cardiff, we needed a cheap room and quick access to Bristol airport. This hotel is perfectly situated for that. No thrills, simply efficient. Breakfast was a bit chaotic as there was not quite enough space for everyone on a Sunday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear SwissMac,

First of all , hope you enjoyed rugby and secondly,thank you for your nice comments. We are pleased the location of the hotel gives a good access not only to the airport but to Cardiff and other places of interest in and around Bristol.
Breakfasts could be a bit crowdy on a Sunday due to amount of people coming down nearly at the same time but that shouldn`t make it less enjoyable .

Best regards
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed for 1 night with 2 friends.

Handy hotel for our needs .. close to main rail station and a base to head out on the town at night.

Room was a bit cramped for 3 adults, and breakfast was basic enough .. but NO COMPLAINTS

Room Tip: Try and get a larger room if more than 2 people travelling
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommygilboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear tommygilboy,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a comment .The location can`t be more comfortable for train commuters. Agree the sofa bedroom is not big enough for 3 adults, it is more suitable for a family with a child . Hot breakfast is complimentary for all our guests and it is good enough to start a day .You are welcome to stay with us again .

Regards,

Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here in October 2012 the hotel has great access to the train station and is a 15 minute walk into the centre of Bristol. We stayed for 2 nights and I would recommend the hotel and would certainly stay there again. The staff were good and the bar in the public area is adequately stocked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnlegend73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Darren P ,

Thank you for your very positive comment and hope to see you again in the near future.

Wishing you all the best

Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a family break in Bristol. The hotel is located just in front of Temple Meads train station. It's about a further 15 mins walk into the city centre/ harbourside. It was very handy to just drop our luggage in our room on arrival and head off for the day. Also left the bags in reception on our departure day and it was useful to just pick them up on our way back to the train station.

The room was basic but very clean, tidy and bright. Had booked a sofa bed for our four year old and a travel cot for our baby and this was provided with no fuss and free of charge. Has hand soap and shower gel provided in the bathroom and the usual tea/ coffee tray. Had a modern tv with SKY included. Was situated at the back of the hotel and didn't hear any noise from outside or from any other guests.

Downstairs, the breakfast/ sitting area is clean, bright and pleasant. Staff on the front desk were helpful and pleasant.

Breakfast was basic but fine. You help yourself and the staff just top up the breakfast supplies. On offer were tea/coffee/ hot chocolate machine, apple and orange juice, toast and bread rolls, yogurts, cereals, sausages, scrambled eggs, beans, crossiants, jams and fruit.

It is worth joining the Holiday Inn group as a Priority Member (it's free). You get certain perks like Wi-Fi free for 30 mins and a later checkout. It was quite nice that the ordinary checkout time was 12pm anyway so we didn't have to rush our breakfast and packing.

It was a very pleasant break, my score would have been five stars but for some of our stay the lift was broken (hard to manage stairs with a pram) and the Wi-Fi didn't work. Would stay again and would recommend to anyone looking for a simple and clean place for a night or two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLP76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear SLP76,

What an excellent review ! Was a pleasure to read it and feel rewarded for all our efforts and it is always a morale booster to receive nice remarks .On the behalf of all our staff wishing you all the best in the New Year .

Best regards ,

Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here on New Years Eve.Very pleasant staff at check in.Nice bright and airy reception /bar/lounge area.Rooms clean and tidy.Breakfast okay with usual cereals ,sausage ,eggs etc.Great position for train station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham1965_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear graham1965_12,

Lovely review , thank you very much .We are delighted to hear you nice comments .

Best regards ,

Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Travelling via Bristol airport often, all I had seen of Bristol was the airport and Temple Meads railway station. Still figuring out that it is big city, we considered to spend New Years eve in the city to check it out. However we happened to be driving south from Birmingham and decided to check out Bristol before the "big day".

Driving into the city, the impression was black, dark, few streetlights, shops, cafes, and we started to wonder that Bristol won't be the place where we're going to stay for New Years eve. So I called to Holiday Inn bookings and asked to change the reservation for the ongoing day. All went smoothly and soon we parked to hotel car park and booked into the hotel. Service was nice and friendly.

We got advice to find the restaurant area some 15 minutes walk towards east from the hotel. The whole trip made us just wonder about the darkness, and blackness, the Soviet style architecture that makes even Marriot Hotel look like being from horror movie. But when getting to the river and the shops/restaurants area, everything in the surroundings became like normal.

Los Iguanas was good choice for a restaurant and after taking some photos and looking around we returned to the hotel.The room was the usual Holiday Inn Express style. The only thing really was the internet connection, as we got sold some budget connection for £12, that had 2Gb download limit and what 50Mb upload limit. That is totally insufficient for anyone using a laptop, Skype, web browsing, watching video clips, news, movies, iTunes, the works. The business connection would have been £15, without limits, so while not realising why we got the limited one or why such version even exists, be sure to ask for the Business connection.

In the later evening we checked out the bar, with having a beer and just spending a moment, and late in the morning it was nice to enjoy the breakfast with some more people around.

If you happen to be around in Bristol, Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Center is good choice if you travel by car or by train from Temple Meads. If you are in there for any special event, then one might need to book into the higher class hotels that may provide then more of the everything needed, as the city itself didn't seem to offer much. Bristol is in serious need for whole city upgrade. Even just to have late cafes, streetlights, to wash the buildings off the black stuff that is on every surface, and then it would be already better.

Still with some planning there are much interesting sights to see and one can have great visit to Bristol. With little facelift, the city would surely benefit from the masses of people travelling via the airport and trainline. Bit more marketing wouldn't hurt really. Hotels would need to have pop in and check this or that sight quick visit offers, for example for to pop in day before early morning flight.

Room Tip: Probably the higher up the better with the views. There was no trouble at all with sounds from the T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovers72n86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Lovers72n86 ,

Thank you for the detailed review of your stay in our hotel and you experience in Bristol on the whole .It was an interesting comparison with a Soviet country and we would like to pass it to the council .We are glad to receive complimentary remarks about the service in the hotel .

Best regards
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#13 of 38 in Bristol
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Address: South END Temple Gate, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers good value, modern hotel accommodation in the heart of Bristol. Located directly opposite Temple Meads Train Station, our modern hotel offers rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing